Admission to the Academia Europaea: Prof. Dr. Julia Metag is honored for outstanding scientific achievements 

(30.07.2021) Prof. Dr. Julia Metag has been accepted as a new member of the Section Film, Media and Visual Studies in the "Academia Europaea".

With this membership, the Academia Europaea honors individuals who have demonstrated "sustained academic excellence". The Academy thus honors Julia Metag's outstanding academic achievements in the fields of science communication and political communication. In her numerous research projects, Julia Metag deals with the interaction of public communication and the social fields of action politics and science and publishes internationally at a high level. Her research focuses on how citizens inform themselves about science and what effects information behavior has on attitudes towards science and research. 

Prof. Dr. Metag is also co-head of the Swiss Science Barometer and a member of the expert group "Communicating Sciences and Arts in Times of Digital Media" of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences. In addition, she solicited a project at the Swiss National Science Foundation in the field of political communication on the topic of "Analysis of the emergence and consequences of topic disenchantment: A longitudinal multi-method study". In the Section Film, Media and Visual Studies of the Academia Europaea, Prof. Dr. Metag is also one of the youngest members, who were admitted due to their outstanding scientific achievements. 

The Academia Europaea (AE)

Founded in 1988, the Academia Europaea is an independent European society whose members are recruited from the natural sciences, humanities and social sciences. Currently, the Academia Europaea has about 4,500 members. The Academy aims to promote European research, to advise governments and international organizations on scientific matters, and to advance interdisciplinary and international research. 

Link to the announcement of the WWU

Aufnahme in die Academia Europaea: Prof. Dr. Julia Metag wird für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen geehrt

(30.07.2021) Prof. Dr. Julia Metag ist als neues Mitglied in die Section Film, Media and Visual Studies in die „Academia Europaea“ aufgenommen worden.

 Die Academia Europaea zeichnet mit der Mitgliedschaft Personen aus, die „nachhaltige akademische Exzellenz“ bewiesen haben. Die Akademie würdigt damit Julia Metags herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen in den Bereichen Wissenschaftskommunikation und Politische Kommunikation. Julia Metag setzt sich in ihren zahlreichen Forschungsprojekten mit der Wechselwirkung von öffentlicher Kommunikation und den gesellschaftlichen Handlungsfeldern Politik und Wissen-schaft auseinander und publiziert international hochrangig. Im Fokus ihrer Forschung steht, wie sich Bürger*innen über Wissenschaft informieren und welche Auswirkungen das Infor-mationsverhalten zu Einstellungen zu Wissenschaft und Forschung hat. 

Prof. Dr. Metag ist zudem Co-Leiterin des Wissenschaftsbarometers Schweiz sowie Mitglied der Expert*innengruppe „Communicating Sciences and Arts in Times of Digital Media“ der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz. Darüber hinaus warb sie ein Projekt beim Schweizer Nationalfonds im Bereich der Politischen Kommunikation zum Thema "Analyse des Entstehens und der Folgen von Themenverdrossenheit: Eine longitudinale Multi-Methoden-Studie" ein. In der Section Film, Media and Visual Studies der Academia Europaea ist Prof. Dr. Metag zudem eines der jüngsten Mitglieder, die aufgrund der herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen aufgenommen wurden. 

Die Academia Europaea (AE)

Die 1988 gegründete Academia Europaea ist eine unabhängige und europäische Gesellschaft, deren Mitglieder aus den Natur-, Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften rekrutiert werden. Gegenwärtig zählt die Academia Europaea rund 4.500 Mitglieder. Die Akademie verfolgt das Ziel europäische Forschung zur fördern, Regierungen und internationale Organisationen in wissenschaftlichen Belangen zu beraten, sowie interdisziplinäre und internationale Forschung voranzutreiben. 

Link zur Meldung der WWU