How Imperia works

Documents:

An Imperia document manages the content captured by an editor for publication on a web page. From them, Imperia generates the finished web pages based on templates and other layout specifications.

Rubrics:

Documents are managed in rubrics. The headings thus form the structure tree of a web offer. Access rights, navigation and administrative parameters (e.g. for document layout, multilingual appearances, etc.) are controlled via these rubrics. For each web presence, the structure must first be defined via rubrics before web pages can be created.

Areas of an Imperia system:

  1. Document area on the development system
    Each document is assigned to a rubric when it is first created. While it is being edited, it is in a workflow. One of the most common steps in this workflow is the Edit step. The Imperia Desktop shows all documents that are currently in the workflow.
  2. Web page area on the development system
    Only in the approval step of a document in the document workflow are the associated web pages simultaneously generated on the development system. The development system can be reached via the address https://imperia.uni-muenster.de and is only visible within the university. Here, the appearance and linking of new web pages can be checked before they are transferred to the target system and thus made available to the public.
  3. Web page area on the target system
    When publishing, the generated web pages are finally transferred to the so-called target system - mostly the central web server of the WWU.

GOOD TO KNOW

Here is an example of how the URLs differ between the development and target systems:
URL on the target system:
http://www.uni-muenster.de/IT/services/index.html
URL on the development system:
https://imperia.uni-muenster.de/IT/services/index.html

GOOD TO KNOW
© Uni MS IT

Funktionsweise Imperia

Dokumente:

In einem Imperia-Dokument werden die Inhalte verwaltet, die von einem Redakteur für die Veröffentlichung auf einer Webseite erfasst wurden. Aus ihnen generiert Imperia auf Basis von Templates und anderen Layoutvorgaben die fertigen Webseiten.

Rubriken:

Dokumente werden in Rubriken abgelegt verwaltet. Die Rubriken bilden somit den Strukturbaum eines Webangebotes. Über diese Rubriken werden die Zugriffsrechte, die Navigation sowie administrative Parameter (z.B. für das Layout des Dokuments, mehrsprachige Auftritte etc.) gesteuert. Für jeden Webauftritt ist zunächst die Struktur über Rubriken festzulegen, bevor Webseiten erzeugt werden können.

Bereiche eines Imperia-Systems:

  1. Dokumentbereich auf dem Entwicklungssystem
    Jedes Dokument wird bei seiner ersten Erstellung einer Rubrik zugeordnet. Während der Bearbeitung befindet es sich in einem Arbeitsablauf (Workflow). Einer der gebräuchlichsten Schritte in diesem Arbeitsablauf ist der Edit-Schritt. Der Imperia-Schreibtisch zeigt alle Dokumente, die sich aktuell im Workflow befinden.
  2. Webseitenbereich auf dem Entwicklungssystem
    Erst im Genehmigungsschritt eines Dokumentes im Dokument-Workflow werden gleichzeitig die dazugehörigen Webseiten auf dem Entwicklungssystem erzeugt. Das Entwicklungssystem ist über die Adresse https://imperia.uni-muenster.de erreichbar und nur Uni-intern sichtbar. Hier können das Aussehen und die Verlinkung neuer Webseiten überprüft werden, bevor sie auf das Zielsystem übertragen und damit der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.
  3. Webseitenbereich auf dem Zielsystem
    Beim Veröffentlichen werden die erzeugten Webseiten schließlich auf das sogenannte Zielsystem – zumeist der zentrale Webserver der WWU – übertragen.

GUT ZU WISSEN

Hier sehen Sie ein Beispiel dafür, wie sich die URLs zwischen Entwicklungs- und Zielsystem unterscheiden:
URL auf dem Zielsystem:
http://www.uni-muenster.de/IT/services/index.html
URL auf dem Entwicklungssystem:
https://imperia.uni-muenster.de/IT/services/index.html

GUT ZU WISSEN
© WWU IT