With some 2,400 students, 18 departments and 22 chairs, the Faculty of Catholic Theology at the University of Münster (WWU) is the largest of its kind in Europe. Its roots trace back until 1588 when a Jesuit school was built. Already in 1624, a programme of philosophical and theological studies existed to educate future teachers and priests. Our study programmes and research activities are organised into four theological sections – biblical, historical, systematic and practical –, a department of philosophy and a department of religious studies

Anglophone readers can find some information here.

  • Research Profile

    The Research profile of the Faculty can be summarised like this: Theological research in Münster is distinguished by the highest standards, inspiring research conditions, a broad disciplinary spectrum, academic responsibility, and critical responsibility with the Church.
    You can find out more here [external link, en].

  • Doctoral programme

    Our faculty gets its international profile also by students from foreign countries doing research within the framework of our doctoral programme. You can find an online guide with essential information here [external link, en]!

  • International Student Mobility: Incomings

    Our faculty welcomes bachelor's and master's students, doctoral candidates and postdoctoral researchers. Learn more about our study programmes and social services of the university here [external link, en]!