© Gerd Altmann - Pixabay
© ULB Münster

Fields of Work

The Service Center for Digital Humanities (SCDH) advises and accompanies researchers at WWU in the application of Digital Humanities (DH) methods. One focus is the identification and requirement-oriented development of generic DH services for the research community.

The SCDH supports researchers at the University of Münster ...

  • through consulting and project support:

Contact us as early as possible for a project proposal. We will advise you on the digital components suitable for your project, from the application to project implementation and publication. There are different modes of cooperation with the SCDH (Services).

  • with teaching and training courses

The SCDH regularly organizes educational courses for employees of the University of Münster and students of the DH certificate. You can find the current offerings under Certificate Digital Humanities.
But we also organize project- or workgroup-specific hands-on trainings, i.e. workshops with your project's real data sets and processes tailored to your project. The focus here is on dealing with practical problems and building competence in the team.

  • in the development and implementation of digital methods and tools

The SCDH accompanies the digital aspects of your project throughout the entire research workflow: from the development of a project-specific DH concept in proposal preparation, to implementation and publication. Accordingly, we support you not only in programming, but also in methodological issues that need to be clarified in the scholarly handling of complex data and specific methods and tools. Although there are standards for digital research, there are usually no general solutions. We therefore work with you to find ways in which your research question can be addressed with the help of digital methods.

  • in networking in and with the community

The SCDH does not work in an academic vacuum. DH methods thrive on constant exchange. We open the door to networks for you, whether through the Arbeitskreis Digital Humanities (AK DH) at the University of Münster, the Project Showcase, the DH Blog, the annual Day of DH at the University of Münster, or through joint active participation in German-language and international DH conferences.

© Gerd Altmann - Pixabay
© ULB Münster

Arbeitsfelder

Das Service Center for Digital Humanities (SCDH) berät und begleitet Forschende der WWU bei der Anwendung von Methoden der Digital Humanities (DH). Dabei entwickelt das SCDH  bedarfsorientiert generische DH-Dienste für die Forschungscommunity.

Das SCDH unterstützt Forschende der WWU Münster ...

  • durch Beratung und Projektbegleitung:

Kontaktieren Sie uns bei einem Projektvorhaben so früh wie möglich. Wir beraten Sie hinsichtlich der für Ihr Projekt passenden digitalen Komponenten von der Antragstellung, über die Projektdurchführung bis hin zur Publikation. Es gibt dabei unterschiedliche Modi der Kooperation mit dem SCDH (Services).

  • mit Schulungen und Trainings

Das SCDH organisiert regelmäßig Schulungen für Mitarbeitende der WWU und Studierende des DH-Zertifikats. Unter Zertifikat Digital Humanities finden Sie die jeweils aktuellen Angebote.

Ebenso organisieren wir auch projekt- oder arbeitsgruppenspezifische Hands-on-Trainings, d.h. Workshops mit den echten Datensätzen Ihres Projekts und auf Ihr Vorhaben zugeschnittenen Prozessen. Die Auseinandersetzung mit praktischen Problemen und der Kompetenzaufbau im Team stehen hierbei im Mittelpunkt.

  • bei der Entwicklung und Implementierung digitaler Methoden und Tools

Das SCDH begleitet die digitalen Aspekte Ihres Projektes über den gesamten Forschungsworkflow hinweg: von der Entwicklung eines projektspezifischen DH-Konzepts in der Antragsvorbereitung, über die Durchführung bis hin zur Publikation. Wir unterstützen Sie entsprechend nicht nur beim Programmieren, sondern ebenso bei zu klärenden methodischen Fragen im wissenschaftlichen Umgang mit komplexen Daten und spezifischen Methoden und Werkzeugen. Es gibt dabei zwar Standards des digitalen Forschens, in der Regel aber keine Generallösungen. Wir suchen daher gemeinsam mit Ihnen nach Wegen, wie Ihre Fragestellung digital unterstützt bearbeitet werden kann.

  • bei der Vernetzung in und mit der Community

Das SCDH arbeitet nicht im wissenschaftlichen Vakuum. DH-Methoden leben vom ständigen Austausch im Sinne der "Open Innovation". Wir öffnen Ihnen die Tür zu Netzwerken, sei es über den Arbeitskreis Digital Humanities (AK DH) an der WWU, das Projektschaufenster, den DH-Blog, den jährlichen Tag der DH an der WWU oder durch die gemeinsame aktive Teilnahme an deutschsprachigen und internationalen DH-Konferenzen.