Graduate School

The Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” maintains a Graduate School for the promotion of junior researchers and of the unity of research and teaching. The school has been offering doctoral students from the humanities and the social sciences an interdisciplinary Doctoral Studies Programme since 2007. The programme supports focused and structured doctoral studies on a topic from the conflicting interests of religion and politics. It offers junior researches the independent participation in interdisciplinary research.

During the Cluster of Excellence’s first funding phase from 2007 to 2012, 47 doctoral students completed the Doctoral Studies Programme in the Graduate School. They found subsequent employment with other universities and research institutions and in publishing houses, schools, government departments, church institutions and libraries.

Since the winter semester 2013-2014, the Graduate School has commenced the Doctoral Studies Programme for the second funding stage of the research association. It offers junior researchers again the opportunity of focused and structured doctoral studies in an interdisciplinary context of research. 

Four mentors from different disciplines have taken on the scientific management of the Graduate School and of mentoring the doctoral candidates. Professors of the Cluster of Excellence supervise the doctoral theses.

The central coordination office is responsible for the organisation of the Graduate School. The interdisciplinary Doctoral Studies Programme is geared to the Cluster of Excellence’s four fields of research: normativity, mediality, integration and violence. It is designed to train researchers in the traditions and requirements of their own academic discipline, at the same time also broadening their perspectives beyond the boundaries of subjects and departments.

Graduiertenschule

Zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und der Einheit von Forschung und Lehre unterhält der Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ eine Graduiertenschule. Sie bietet Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern seit 2007 ein interdisziplinäres Promotionsprogramm an. Die Einrichtung fördert eine konzentrierte und strukturierte Promotion über ein Thema aus dem Spannungsfeld von Religion und Politik. Sie ermöglicht dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs eine eigenständige Beteiligung an der interdisziplinären Forschung.

In der ersten Förderphase des Exzellenzclusters von 2007 bis 2012 absolvierten 47 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden das interdisziplinäre Promotionsprogramm der Graduiertenschule. Sie fanden Anschlussbeschäftigungen an anderen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen sowie in Verlagen, Schulen, Ministerien, kirchlichen Einrichtungen und Bibliotheken.

Zum Wintersemester 2013/2014 hat die Graduiertenschule das Promotionsprogramm für die zweite Förderphase des Forschungsverbundes aufgenommen und bietet erneut wissenschaftlichem Nachwuchs die Möglichkeit zur konzentrierten und strukturierten Promotion in einem interdisziplinären Forschungsumfeld.

Die wissenschaftliche Leitung der Graduiertenschule und das Mentoring der Promovendinnen und Promovenden haben vier Mentorinnen und Mentoren unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen übernommen. Professorinnen und Professoren des Exzellenzclusters betreuen die Dissertationen.

Die Organisation der Graduiertenschule liegt beim zentralen Koordinationsbüro. Das interdisziplinäre Promotionsprogramm orientiert sich an den vier Forschungsfeldern des Exzellenzclusters, Normativität, Medialität, Integration und Gewalt. Es soll die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden in den Traditionen und Erfordernissen ihrer eigenen Forschungsdisziplin schulen, zugleich aber ihren Blick über die Fächer- und Fachbereichsgrenzen hinaus weiten.


Kontakt

Julia Simoleit, M. A.GraduiertenschuleJohannisstraße 1Zimmer 8
D-48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-23346
Fax: +49 251 83-23333

Impressum | © 2014 Exzellenzcluster Religion & Politik
Exzellenzcluster Religion & Politik
Johannisstraße 1
· D-48143 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-23376 · Fax: +49 251 83-23246
E-Mail: