Aperiodic deterministic & random photonic structures

Order, for instance in terms of perfect periodicity, is not the predominant case in nature and the impact of disorder is present everywhere. Consequently, we need physical models that properly describe disordered systems. On the one hand, the golden ratio, the most irrational number, is a favored structural manifestation in nature (phyllotaxy of plants, solar system orbits) and culture (music, painting, architecture). On the other hand, the collapse of conductivity in a solid going along with disorder is closely connected to the phenomenon of localization. Moreover, as wave physics are universal, the results gathered in optics are transferable to all systems where according wave propagation is found.

With the help of so-called non-diffracting writing beams (reference) that feature an unchanged transverse intensity distribution at micro-scale along a macroscopic propagation distance, we optically induce particular refractive index modulations in photo-refractive crystals (reference). These systems mimic very well two-dimensional wave media. Since writing, probing, and erasing of such random structures are done in situ and without additional preparation of the medium, extensive sets of similar light potentials are realizable. It is the extent of these sets that allow for accurate statistical statements.

To investigate quasi- and aperiodic systems, often accompanied by irrational numbers such as the golden ratio, we realized so-called Vogel spirals as a structural implementation of phyllotaxy. In another scenario, we fabricated deterministic aperiodic structures (DAS) in the shape of two-dimensionally arranged binary Fibonacci words. Light propagation therein crucially depends on the input conditions and thus shows a pronounced heterogeneity. In direct comparison with according periodic systems we proved that light transport is hampered due to aperiodicity. As DAS feature a wide spectrum of order, various structures can be compared mutually, yielding a natural transition from highly ordered to strongly disordered systems.

2d random structure
2d random structure

Additionally, with the realization of fully random photonic systems we establish a universal platform to investigate Anderson localization and coherent backscattering. Both are related wave phenomena that emerge from particular interference conditions in a multi-scattering system. The experimental scheme we implemented allows deep insights into these fascinating systems. We identify several parameters, ranging from disorder strength to photonic grain size, that have a crucial impact on the conductivity of light.

Depending on the scattering strength of the medium, a constructive interference signature occurs due to strong scattering in real space around the wave-input position. That is why a common term for Anderson localization is strong localization, as well. In a regime of weak scattering, the constructive contribution is observed in Fourier space at a spatial frequency that corresponds to the reversed input wave vector. This phenomenon is referred to as weak localization and, as light seems to be scattered back, to coherent backscattering (CBS).

Aperiodische deterministische & zufällige photonische Strukturen

Systeme höchster Ordnung und Symmetrie, bspw. hochperiodische Gitter, sind nicht der Normalfall in der Natur - Unordnung ist omnipräsent. Dementsprechend werden physialische Modelle gebraucht, die Systeme in Unordnung möglichst genau beschreiben. Zum einen begegnet man der Goldene Zahl, der irrationalsten Zahl überhaupt, in verschiedensten Bereichen, bspw. in der Natur (Phyllotaxis von Pflanzen, Planetenumlaufbahnen) oder in der Kunst (Musik, Architektur, Malerei). Andererseits ist der Einbruch der Leitfähigkeit in Festkörpern auf Wellenlokalisierung zurückzuführen. Generell erlaubt die Allgemeingültigkeit von Wellenphänomenen die in der Optik anhand von Lichtwellenausbreitung gewonnenen Erkenntnisse auf andere Systeme zu übertragen.

Nichtbeugende Strahlen bieten auf makroskopischen Propagationslängen eine konstant bleibende, mikroskopische Modulation der Intensität. Wir nutzen diese Lichtformen, um den Brechungsindex photorefraktiver Kristalle künstlich in Unordnung zu versetzen. Die daraus hervorgehenden Anordnungen entsprechen zweidimensionalen Wellenmedien. Da Schreib-, Propagations- und Löschprozesse direkt in situ passieren und zusätzliches Präparieren der Probe nicht nötig ist, sind umfangreiche Ensembles ähnlicher Lichtpotentiale sehr leicht herzustellen. Aussagekräftige statistische Erhebungen werden so erst möglich.

Sogenannte Vogel-Spiralen sind typische Vertreter aperiodischer Strukturen, die Phyllotaxis von Pflanzen nachbilden. Die Realisierung derartiger und anderer quasiperiodischer als auch aperiodischer Strukturen erlaubt eine detaillierte Untersuchung von Transportvorgängen in Anordnungen fernab von Periodizität. Dieser Motivation folgend erzeugen wir auch sogenannte deterministische aperiodische Strukturen (DAS). Derartige Gitter bestehen bspw. aus einer zweidimensionalen Kombination zweier binärer Fibonacci-Sequenzen und sind bekannt für ihre sehr heterogenen, lokal stark variierenden Wellentransporteigenschaften. Trotz der - bezogen auf periodische Gitter - nur leicht herabgesetzten Ordnung findet man bereits in Fibonacci-Gittern eine reduzierte Transportfähigkeit. Es existieren jedoch zahlreiche DAS-Realisierungen, deren Grad an Ordnung ein breites Spektrum abdeckt. Ein Übergang von geordneten zu ungeordneten Strukturen ist damit natürlich gegeben.

2d Zufallsstruktur
2d Zufallsstruktur

Desweiteren beschäftigen wir uns mit der Erzeugung vollständig zufälliger photonischer Systeme. Diese bieten eine geeignete Plattform zur Untersuchung von Anderson-Lokalisierung und kohärenter Rückstreuung. Beides sind verwandte Wellenphänomene, die auf besondere Interferenzbedingungen in mehrfachstreuenden Medien zurückzuführen sind. Mit unserer experimentellen Umsetzung erzielen wir tiefe Einblicke in die Physik dieser faszinierenden Systeme. Beispielsweise konnten wir die Stärke der Unordnung und die photonische Korngröße als Parameter identifizieren, die entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Lichtleitfähigkeit haben.

In stark streuenden Medien kommt es nahe der Lichteinkopplung zu konstruktiver Interferenz. In Zusammenhang mit Anderson-Lokalisierung spricht man daher auch von starker Lokalisierung. Im Gegensatz dazu findet man im schwach streuenden Regime spektral einen dominanten konstruktiven Interferenzbeitrag, dessen räumliche Frequenz dem invertierten Wellenvektor der Eingangswelle entspricht. Die Bezeichnung kohärente Rückstreuung synonym zur schwachen Lokalisierung ist daher naheliegend.