MODERN LABORATORY FACILITIES AND SCIENTIFIC KNOW-HOW

MEET has outstanding state-of-the-art equipment, technology and laboratories. This includes instruments for analysing electrolytes and active and non-active materials, devices for optical and spectroscopic procedures, and facilities for particle and thermal analysis. In addition, there are laboratories with synthesis furnaces providing temperatures of up to 3,000 degrees Celsius for synthesising polymers, electrolytes and particles. With its battery cyclers, MEET also has about 1,500 channels with which cells of up to 20 amperes can be tested, and 20 other channels for cells of up to 400 amperes, as well as temperature-controlled ranges from minus 40 to plus 90 degrees Celsius. The team of scientists can thus analyse and evaluate all the battery components, from the raw materials to the finished cell.

Cell manufacture at the highest technical standard

In addition, with its dry room and clean room, the technical centre, around 1,000 square metres in size, gives the MEET scientists ideal conditions for working on the entire value chain of cell production – from the raw material to the finished cell.

Two different assembly lines in the clean room enable the production of electrodes for cylindrical cells of the type “18650” and flat cells with a capacity of up to ten ampere-hours. For research purposes, electrodes for around 200 cells can be produced per week. During production, the technicians work on better mixing procedures for the materials, alternative coating techniques and new cutting methods.

The dry room at MEET, with its almost completely water-free atmosphere, provides an ideal environment for the production of safe, high-performance, long-life cells. One hundred square metres in size, it has an equally distributed dew point of minus 65 degrees Celsius. This corresponds to a relative humidity of 0.02 per cent. In this regard, the room is  top in Germany and allows battery research at the highest level. To ensure this low humidity, moisture is extracted from the air using a silica-gel desiccant wheel in an  complex procedure, then reintroduced to the room with a dew point of minus 95 degrees Celsius. During the manufacturing process, the technicians work to optimise procedures for stacking cell components, sealing the cells and more precise injection of electrolytes.

© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft

MODERNE LABORE UND WISSENSCHAFTLICHES KNOW-HOW

MEET zeichnet sich aus durch eine hochmoderne Ausstattung an Geräten, Technik und Labors. Dazu gehören Instrumente zur Analyse von Elektrolyten sowie Aktiv- und Nichtaktivmaterialien, Geräte für optische und spektroskopische Verfahren sowie Einrichtungen zur Partikel- und thermischen Analytik. Darüber hinaus gibt es Labore zur Polymer-, Elektrolyt- und Partikelsynthese mit Syntheseöfen, die Temperaturen von bis zu 3.000 Grad Celsius liefern. Mit seinen Zyklisierern verfügt das MEET zudem über rund 1.500 Kanäle, mit denen Zellen bis zu 20 Ampere getestet werden können sowie 20 weitere Kanäle für Zellen bis zu 400 Ampere und Temperaturbereiche von minus 40 bis plus 90 Grad Celsius. Angefangen vom Rohmaterial bis zur fertigen Zelle kann das Wissenschaftler-Team somit alle Komponenten der Batterie untersuchen und auswerten.

Zellfertigung nach höchsten technischen Standards

Mit zwei unterschiedlichen Fertigungslinien lassen sich darüber hinaus im Reinraum sowohl Elektroden für zylindrische Zellen vom Typ „18650“ sowie für Flachzellen mit einer Kapazität von bis zu zehn Amperestunden herstellen. Zu Forschungszwecken können pro Woche Elektroden für rund 200 Zellen im MEET vom Band gehen. Bei der Herstellung arbeiten die Techniker an besseren Mischverfahren für die Materialien, alternativen Techniken der Beschichtung sowie neuen Schneidemethoden.

Für die Fertigung von sicheren, leistungsfähigen und langlebigen Zellen bietet der Trockenraum am MEET mit einer maximal wasserfreien Atmosphäre eine ideale Umgebung. Bei einer Größe von 100 Quadratmetern weist er einen gleichverteilten Taupunkt von minus 65 Grad Celsius auf. Dies entspricht einer relativen Feuchte von 0,02 Prozent. In dieser Qualität ist der Raum deutschlandweit führend und ermöglicht Batterieforschung auf höchstem Niveau. Um dies zu gewährleisten, wird die Luft in einem aufwendigen Verfahren über ein Silicagel-Trockenrad entfeuchtet und mit einem Taupunkt von minus 95 Grad Celsius wieder in den Raum eingebracht. Im Fertigungsprozess arbeiten die Techniker an der Verfahrensoptimierung zur Stapelung der Zell-Komponenten, der Abdichtung der Zellkörper sowie der präziseren Elektrolytbefüllung.

Arbeiten an der Batteriefertigungslinie
© WWU / MEET / J.Kraft