Skeleton with woman
© WWU Münster / Peter Leßmann

Loan information

System switch on 1 August

On 1 August 2022, all Münster University libraries will switch to a new system.
The information on this page will be updated with the switchover.

Borrowing

Mon – Fri 8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Sat / Sun 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

  • Currently the library is open Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 10:00 pm, Saturday and Sunday from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. Please order monographs via the catalogue. Books from the textbook collection can again be selected by yourself.
  • In exceptional cases, you can ask another person to collect the books you have ordered. For this purpose, the person you have commissioned must present a written power of attorney and be able to identify himself or herself by means of an identity card or passport.
  • Print journals and dissertations are not freely accessible, but can be ordered. Please contact the information staff.
  • Books from the reference holdings (textbooks and holdings at the information desk) cannot be borrowed but can only be used in the library. In exceptional cases, overnight or weekend loans can be arranged. Please contact the information staff.
  • Journals and books from the ULB and other libraries must be picked up at the respective library.

All books and journals are electronically secured! Therefore, before leaving the library, make sure that you do not carry a book that has not been previously checked out in your name.

Requests

Parts of the holdings are shelved in closed stacks, not open to the public. In order to use these items, you must log in to KatalogPlus and request them. Generally, they will be available four hours after requesting and can be picked up in the self-collection area (ground floor) or at the manuscript reading room desk (level +01). The procurement of items from off-site stacks may take up to two working days.
If the request cannot be placed via KatalogPlus, please fill in a loan form (available at all service desks). Delivery time: usually after 1 – 2 working days.

If a book that you want is on loan, you can also make a request using KatalogPlus. As soon as it is returned, it will be provided for you.

We will always notify you by email as soon as your request is available. In the self-collection area the books will be available for loan one week from the delivery date. At the manuscript reading room desk, you can access the requested works for 4 weeks.

Loan period

The best way to find out the loan conditions for your user group for your desired media is to consult the information in KatalogPlus once you are logged in.

The loan period in the lending network is generally four weeks, but can often be renewed.

We will send you a reminder 5 days prior to the end of the loan period.

If the loan period is exceeded, fees will be charged for each book. If you exceed this period by more than 40 days or for more than 10 books at the same time (50 books for academic staff), your library account will be blocked for borrowing.

Please note that overdue charges are applied regardless of the dispatch and receipt of reminders!

Renewing items

The loan period of a book can be extended at any time, provided that no request has been made by another user and the maximum loan period (basically 6 months in the lending network, 12 months for academic staff) has not been reached. Even items whose loan period has already been exceeded can usually be renewed retrospectively; however, the fees incurred for exceeding the loan period will not be affected.

You may extend the loan period yourself online via KatalogPlus. You can renew certain books or all renewable books there.

Loan periods are automatically extended for academic staff of the University of Münster.

Notifications

Notifications are always sent by email. Information regarding your library account (e. g. available media, upcoming due dates, late returns, or unpaid fees) and general usage information (e. g. deviating opening hours, service restrictions and special services) will be sent to the email address(es) registered at the ULB. Therefore, please make sure that your email address(es) – viewable via your library account in KatalogPlus – is/are up to date. If you need to request a change, please contact leihstelle.ulb@uni-muenster.de.

Library account enquiries

You can log into your library account via KatalogPlus. It provides information on what you have borrowed or requested and whether fees are due. Your returns will be logged and saved in your borrowing history for a period of 6 months.

Returning items

  • in the Medical Branch Library: Books and other media can be returned at the issue desk on all opening days until 9:45 p.m.
  • in the lending network: Books from the Central Library, the Medical Branch Library, the Social Sciences Branch Library, the library of the Institute of Educational Science and Communication Science and the Centre for Dutch Studies / Branch Library can also be returned at the return desks of those other libraries.
  • by post: In exceptional cases, you may return the books to the Medical Branch Library by post (please send them to Albert-Schweitzer-Campus 1, Gebäude A11, 48149 Münster). The postmark date is deemed the date of return. Please note that you bear all risks associated with postal dispatch; we therefore recommend that you use an insured parcel service. Please also include a note with your name, user number and the shelfmarks of the returned books in the package.

Attention: In case of loss or damage of borrowed books, you are obliged to pay damages. Please fill out a loss and damage form [de] at the loan desk to report any loss or damage and confirm that you will pay for those. Thus, you can avoid a dunning procedure and possible blocking of your loan authorization.

Fees

The use of the ULB is generally free of charge. Fees are charged only for exceeding the loan period, loss or damage to a book/item/library card and for special services. If your fees exceed 50 euros, your library account will be blocked for borrowing.

Skelett mit Frau
© WWU Münster / Peter Leßmann

Informationen zur Ausleihe

Ausleihe

Montag–Freitag 8:00–21:45 Uhr

Samstag / Sonntag von 10:00 bis 21:45 Uhr

  • Die Bibliothek hat von Montag bis Freitag 8:0024:00 Uhr, Samstag und Sonntag von 10:00 bis 24:00 Uhr geöffnet. Monografien bestellen Sie bitte über den KatalogPlus, Bücher aus der Lehrbuchsammlung können wieder selber herausgesucht werden. 
  • In Ausnahmefällen können Sie eine andere Person mit der Abholung ihrer bestellten Bücher  beauftragen. Hierzu muss die von Ihnen beauftragte Person eine schriftliche Vollmacht vorlegen und sich durch Personalausweis oder Reisepass ausweisen können.

  • Printzeitschriften und Dissertationen sind nicht frei zugänglich, können aber bestellt werden. Wenden Sie sich bitte an die Information.
  • Bücher aus dem Präsenzbestand (Lehrbücher und Bestand am Infoplatz) können Sie nicht ausleihen, sondern nur in der Bibliothek nutzen. In Ausnahmefällen ist nach Absprache eine Übernacht- beziehungsweise eine Wochenendausleihe möglich. Wenden Sie sich dazu bitte an die Information.
  • Zeitschriften und Bücher aus der ULB und anderen Bibliotheken müssen Sie in der jeweiligen Bibliothek holen.

Alle Bücher und Zeitschriften sind elektronisch gesichert! Vergewissern Sie sich deshalb, bevor Sie die Bibliothek verlassen, dass Sie kein Buch mehr bei sich tragen, das nicht zuvor auf Ihren Namen verbucht wurde.

Bestellung

Bestimmte Magazinbereiche sind für Sie nicht frei zugänglich. Um Bücher und andere Medien aus diesen Bereichen nutzen zu können, müssen Sie sich bei KatalogPlusanmelden und sie bestellen. In der Regel sind die bestellten Bücher nach 4 Stunden in der Buch-Abholung (EG) bzw. im Handschriften-Lesesaal (Ebene +01) abholbar. Bei der Beschaffung aus einem Außenmagazin kann es auch 1–2 Werktage bis zur Bereitstellung dauern.
Sollte die Bestellung in KatalogPlus nicht funktionieren, füllen Sie bitte einen Leihschein aus (an allen Service-Theken erhältlich). Lieferzeit: in der Regel nach 1–2 Werktagen.

Wenn ein Buch bereits verliehen ist, können Sie über KatalogPlus auch darauf eine Bestellung veranlassen. Sobald es zurückgegeben wird, wird es für Sie bereitgestellt.

Sie erhalten von uns immer eine Benachrichtigung per E-Mail, wenn Ihre Bestellung verfügbar ist. In der Buch-Abholung liegen die Bücher eine Woche ab dem Lieferdatum für Sie zur Ausleihe bereit. Am Abholort Handschriften-Lesesaal verbleiben die bestellten Werke 4 Wochen für Sie zur Einsicht.

Leihfrist

Die Ausleihkonditionen für Ihre Benutzergruppe für Ihre gewünschten Medien entnehmen Sie am besten immer den Angaben in KatalogPlus, nachdem Sie sich dort angemeldet haben.

Die Leihfrist im Ausleihverbund beträgt generell vier Wochen, kann jedoch oft verlängert werden.

Wir senden Ihnen 5 Tage vor Ablauf der Leihfrist ein Erinnerungsschreiben.

Beim Überschreiten der Leihfrist entstehen für jedes Buch Gebühren. Bei einer Überschreitung um mehr als 40 Tage oder bei mehr als 10 Medien gleichzeitig (K-/X-Ausweise 50 Medien) wird Ihr Bibliothekskonto für die Ausleihe gesperrt.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Fristüberschreitungsgebühren unabhängig vom Versand und Zugang von Erinnerungsschreiben entstehen!

Verlängerung

Die Leihfrist eines Buches kann jederzeit verlängert werden, sofern keine Bestellung durch eine*n andere*n Benutzer*in vorliegt und die maximale Leihfrist (im Ausleihverbund grundsätzlich 6 Monate, für K-/X-Ausweise 12 Monate) nicht erreicht ist. Auch Medien mit bereits überschrittener Leihfrist können in der Regel nachträglich verlängert werden; die für die Leihfristüberschreitung angefallenen Gebühren bleiben jedoch bestehen.

Die Verlängerung der Leihfrist können Sie selbst veranlassen, und zwar online in KatalogPlus. Wählen Sie in Ihrem Bibliothekskonto die Funktion "verlängern" für ein bestimmtes Buch oder "alle verlängern" für alle verlängerbaren Bücher.

Bei K- und X-Ausweisen werden Leihfristen automatisch verlängert.

Benachrichtigungen

Benachrichtigungen erfolgen grundsätzlich per E-Mail. Individuelle Informationen (z. B. über bereitliegende Medien, bevorstehende Leihfristenden, versäumte Rückgaben oder offene Gebühren) sowie allgemein wichtige Nutzungsinformationen der ULB (z. B. über abweichende Öffnungszeiten, Serviceeinschränkungen oder besondere Dienstleistungen) senden wir an die in der ULB hinterlegte(n) E-Mail-Adresse(n). Bitte achten Sie deshalb darauf, dass diese E-Mail-Adresse(n) – einsehbar über Ihr Bibliothekskonto in KatalogPlus – aktuell ist/sind. Bei Änderungsbedarf wenden Sie sich bitte an leihstelle.ulb@uni-muenster.de.

Bibliothekskontoabfrage

Über KatalogPlus können Sie oben rechts Ihr Bibliothekskonto einsehen. Ihr Bibliothekskontostand gibt Auskunft darüber, was Sie ausgeliehen oder bestellt haben und ob Gebühren fällig sind. Unter "Vorherige Ausleihen" werden auch Medien aufgelistet, die Sie ausgeliehen hatten, und zwar für jeweils 6 Monate nach deren Rückgabe.

Rückgabe

  • in der Zweigbibliothek Medizin: Die Rückgabe von Büchern und sonstigen Medien ist an allen Öffnungstagen bis 21:45 Uhr an der Leihstelle möglich.
  • im Ausleihverbund: Bücher von den Ausleihbibliotheken Zentralbibliothek, Zweigbibliothek Medizin, Zweigbibliothek Sozialwissenschaften, Bibliothek für Erziehungswissenschaft und Kommunikationswissenschaft und Bibliothek im Haus der Niederlande können auch an den Rückgabeschaltern der jeweils anderen Bibliotheken abgegeben werden.
  • per Post: In Ausnahmefällen können Sie die Bücher auch per Post an die Zweigbibliothek Medizin zurückschicken (bitte an die Anschrift Albert-Schweitzer-Campus 1, Gebäude A11, 48149 Münster). Der Poststempel gilt als Datum der Rückgabe. Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie das Risiko für den Postweg tragen. Wir empfehlen daher den Versand als Paket mit entsprechender Versicherung. Bitte legen Sie zusätzlich einen Zettel mit Ihrem Namen, Ihrer Benutzernummer und den Signaturen der zurückgeschickten Bücher in das Paket.

Achtung: Bei Verlust oder Beschädigung entliehener Bücher sind Sie zu Schadensersatz verpflichtet. Sie erhalten in der Leihstelle ein Formular zur Verlust-/Schadensmeldung, mit dem Sie erklären können, dass Sie Ersatz leisten. Damit ersparen Sie sich das Mahnverfahren und eine mögliche Sperrung der Ausleihberechtigung.

Gebühren

Die Benutzung der Hochschulbibliothek ist grundsätzlich gebührenfrei. Gebühren entstehen lediglich bei Überschreitung der Leihfrist, bei Verlust oder Beschädigung eines Buches/Mediums oder des Bibliotheksausweises und für besondere Dienstleistungen. Bei Gebühren von mehr als 50 EUR wird Ihr Bibliothekskonto für die Ausleihe gesperrt.