Academic Advisory Board

The Academic Advisory Board, which comprises eight internationally renowned scholars representing the most important disciplines in the Cluster of Excellence, meets at least once a year. It supports the research conducted in the research network, and makes recommendations for further work.

Members of the Academic Advisory Board (2019-2025):

Members of the previous Academic Advisory Board (2012-2017):


Members of the first Academic Advisory Board (2007-2012):

  • Prof. Dr. José Casanova,
    Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Georgetown University
  • Prof. em. Dr. Gerhard Dilcher,
    Department of Law, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main
  • Prof. Dr. Abdellah Hammoudi,
    Department of Anthropology, Princeton University, USA
  • Prof. em. Dr. Jörg Jeremias,
    Department of Protestant Theology, Philipps University of Marburg
  • Dr.theol. habil. Dr. h.c. mult. Cardinal Walter Kasper,
    President of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican
  • Prof. Dr. oec. DDr. h.c. Franz-Xaver Kaufmann,
    Department of Sociology,  University of Bielefeld
  • Prof. em. Dr. Wolfgang Reinhard,
    Max Weber Center for Advanced Cultural and Social Studies, University of Erfurt