Visual Anthropology

http://weiterbildung.uni-muenster.de/visual-anthropology

General

The focus on Visual Anthropology in teaching and researching at the Institute of Ethnology Münster started in the summer semester 2007 and is countinously growing. The term Visual Anthropology originates from the English language and describes a direction of Cultural and Social Anthropology which, among other contents, records and interpretes social and cultural practices with the help of audio-visual media. Since the "iconic/pictorial turn" of humanity studies in the 1990s the upgrading of pictures as a medium for anthropological research in contrast to texts became Visual Anthropology's first priority (Bachmann-Medick 2007). In general Visual Anthropology is structured in media theory, audio-visual recordings as a method for research and teaching, researches in the area of visual representations and reception, and ethnographic films as a medium of presentation of research results.

Activities

Each semester the institute offers  seminars or lectures about theory und practice of Visual Anthropology which enable the students to create their own film projects under professional supervision. Thereto we produce together with the cluster of excellence 'Religion and Politics' two films (see Projects). These were publicly presented in cooperation with Cinema Münster. Moreover we organise field trips to film festivals (e.g. to Göttingen or London) and other activities.

Collection of ethnographic films at the institute

The institute has a wide and continuously growing collection of ethnographic and documentary films that can be borrowed at the institute's library. A catalogue of all films can be seen in the secretariat of the institute. Please have a look at our online collection.

Ma Visual Anthropology

Visuelle Anthropologie

http://weiterbildung.uni-muenster.de/visual-anthropology

Allgemein

Der Schwerpunkt Visuelle Anthropologie existiert seit dem Sommersemester 2007 in Lehre und Forschung am Institut für Ethnologie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität und wird fortlaufend ausgebaut. Der Begriff selber stammt aus dem Englischen und bezeichnet eine Richtung der Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie, die u.a. soziale und kulturelle Praktiken von Menschen unter Einsatz audiovisueller Medien aufzeichnet und interpretiert. Die Visuelle Anthropologie macht es sich seit dem kulturwissenschaftlichen "iconic/pictorial turn" der 1990er Jahre verstärkt zur Aufgabe, die Verwendung von Bildern gegenüber der Sprache aufzuwerten (Bachmann-Medick 2007). Allgemein gliedert sich die Visuelle Anthropologie in folgende Bereiche: Medientheorie, audiovisuelle Aufzeichnungen als Methode in Forschung und Lehre, Forschungen im Bereich der visuellen Repräsentation und Rezeption, ethnographische Filme als Medium der Darstellung von Forschungsergebnissen.

Aktivitäten

Es werden regelmäßig Lehrveranstaltungen in Theorie und Praxis der Visuellen Anthropologie angeboten, bei denen eigene studentische Filmprojekte unter professioneller Betreuung entstehen. Dazu produzieren wir im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusters 'Religion und Politik' auch in der Forschung zwei Filme (siehe Projekte). Diese werden der Öffentlichkeit in Kooperation mit dem Cinema Münster präsentiert. Außerdem finden Exkursionen zu Filmfestivals statt (etwa nach Göttingen oder nach London) und andere Aktivitäten statt.

Filmsammlung am IfE

Das Institut verfügt über eine ständig wachsende Sammlung ethnographischer und dokumentarischer Filme, die über die Institutsbibliothek entliehen werden können. Ein Katalog der Filmtitel befindet sich im Sekretariat des Instituts. Eine Online-Auswahl finden Sie hier.

Visual Anthropology