Publications

Corpus Musicae Ottomanicae (CMO) edition will be published open-access on the internet platform perspectivia.net by Max Weber Foundation.  Editions of the manuscripts will also be available as print-on-demand publications.

Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East

Conference proceedings

The recently published volume includes the proceedings of the international conference on “Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East”, held at the University of Münster on 27.-28, February 2014 (conference programme). The conference was organized by the Ethnomusicology and European Music History Section of the Department of Musicology at the University of Münster, in cooperation with the Orient-Institut Istanbul (Max Weber Stiftung).

The publicaltion was dedicated to Dr. Eckhard Neubauer, for his pioneering works in this field of research.

Several members of the CMO team contributed to the publication as editors and authors.

You can see the volume and the list of contents on publisher’s website.

A Note on Terms and Transliteration

Online Publication, 13th September 2016

Abstract: »Corpus Musicae Ottomanicae is a multilingual project, encompassing sources in a variety of languages and scripts. Users of the edition and the website will therefore encounter a number of different transliteration systems and variant spellings of the same words, depending on the linguistic context and the original scripts used. Detailed guidelines for transliteration and terminology will be available soon on the CMO website. In the meantime, a few basic guidelines are provided below.«

The PDF-file can be downloaded here: A Note on Terms and Transliteration

Standard List of Musical Terms

Online Publication, 2nd March 2016

Different transliterations systems and variant spellings of Ottoman music terms is a problem encountered by every project that deals with the subject. Therefore, a standard list of musical terms has been developed during the preparation of CMO source catalogues.

We are grateful to Prof. Dr. Mehmet Kalpaklı (Bilkent University - Department of Turkish  Literature) and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Cenk Güray  (Yıldırım Beyazıt University - State Conservatory for Turkish Music) for the preparation of this list.

The PDF-file can be downloaded here: Standard List of Musical Terms

Publikationen


Die Edition des Corpus Musicae Ottomanicae (CMO) erfolgt als Open-Access-Source und wird von der Redaktion der Max Weber Stiftung, perspectivia.net, online veröffentlicht; daneben werden die Editionen der Einzelhandschriften als Book-on-Demand-Ausgaben erhältlich sein.

Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East

Tagungsband

Der vorliegende Tagungsband beinhaltet die Beiträge des internationalen Tagung "Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East", die vom 27.-28, Februar 2014 an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster stattfand (Link zum Flyer der Tagung). Diese wurde organisiert vom Arbeitesbereich Ethnomusikologie und Europäische Musikgeschichte des Musikwissenschaftlichen Instituts der WWU, in Kooperation mit dem Orient-Institut Istanbul (Max Weber Stiftung).

Der Tagungsband ist Dr. Echhard Neubauer gewidmet, aufgrund seiner bahnbrechenden Werke in diesem Forschungsbereich.

Mehrere CMO-Mitglieder haben als Herausgeber/innen sowie als Autor/innen beigetragen.

Link zur Verlagsseite: Ergon Verlag 

Das Inhaltsverzeichnis kann hier eingesehen werden.

Erläuterung zu den Fachbegriffen und der Transliteration

Online-Publikation 13. September 2016

Corpus Musicae Ottomanicae ist ein mehrsprachiges Projekt, das Quellen in einer vielzahl von Sprachen und Schriften umfasst. Die Leser der Edition und der Homepage werden daher, je nach sprachlichen Kontext und der Schrift der originellen Quelle, unterschiedlichen Transliterationssysteme und abweichenden Schreibweisen derselben Wörter begegnen. Ausführliche Richtlinien der Transliteration sind in Vorbereitung und werden auf der Homepage zur Verfügung gestellt. Einstweilen sind einige Grundlagen in dieser „Erläuterung“ (auf Englisch) zusammengefasst.

Die PDF kann hier heruntergeladen werden: A Note on Terms and Transliteration

Liste der standardisierten Musiktermini

Online-Publikation, 2. März 2016

Abweichungen in der Transliteration von osmanischen Musikbegriffen ist ein Problem jedes Vorhabens, das sich mit dem Thema beschäftigt. Im Rahmen der Vorarbeiten für das Teilprojekt „CMO - Quellenkataloge“ wurde deshalb eine standardisierte Liste der verwendeten Termini entwickelt.

Dafür herzlichst bedanken möchte sich das CMO-Team bei Prof. Dr. Mehmet Kalpaklı (Bilkent Universität - Institut für Türkische Literatur) und Assoc. Prof. Dr. Cenk Güray (Yıldırım Beyazıt Universität - Staatliches Konservatorium für Türkische Musik).

Die PDF kann hier heruntergeladen werden: Standard List of Musical Terms