Visiting Professorship for Religion and Politics named after – Hans Blumenberg

The Professorship is named after Hans Blumenberg
© Bildarchiv der Universitätsbibliothek Gießen und des Universitätsarchivs Gießen, Signatur HR A 603 a

The “Hans Blumenberg Visiting Professorship for Religion and Politics” is named after the Münster philosopher Hans Blumenberg (1920-1996). Following positions in Hamburg, Gießen and Bochum, Hans Blumenberg was professor at the University of Münster from 1970 until his retirement in 1985.

Through his publications, he significantly contributed to redefining the place of the modern age in the historico-scientific and philosophical discussion. He challenged the secularisation thesis predominant at that time, according to which theological patters of interpretation had been persisting since the Middle Ages across the changeover to the modern age and into the modern state.

In his main work, “The Legitimacy of the Modern Age” Blumenberg advocates to interpret the onset of the modern age as an act of human self-assertion against the theological claims for absoluteness of late Medieval thinking. Thus, in critical contrasting with philosophers Carl Schmitt (1888-1985) and Karl Löwith (1897-1973), he was crucial in shaping the secularisation debate that argued from the point of view of the history of ideas. This is considered a major contribution to the theory of historical periodisation and the theory of the modern age.

© Digital image courtesy of the Getty‘s Open Content Program

In his studies dealing with the history of concepts, of ideas, of philosophy and with anthropology, the philosopher also addressed the interpretation of myths and metaphors. For instance, he engaged in anecdotic and essayistic considerations about the theme of the lion. Author Sibylle Lewitscharoff picks up on this theme in her novel, “Blumenberg”.

The scholar was a member of the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur zu Mainz (academy of sciences and literature), of the German Research Foundation’s senate (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) and of the Senatskommission für Begriffsgeschichte (senate commission for the history of concepts), and he co-founded the research group “Poetik und Hermeneutik” (poetics and hermeneutics). As a young man, he had to stop studying Catholic theology in 1940 as, with a view to his mother’s family, he was considered a “half-Jew” in National Socialism. He later studied philosophy, German and classical philology.

Hans Blumenberg – Namensgeber der Gastprofessur für Religion und Politik

Hans Blumenberg Namensgeber
Hans Blumenberg – Namensgeber der Gastprofessur
© Bildarchiv der Universitätsbibliothek Gießen und des Universitätsarchivs Gießen, Signatur HR A 603 a

Die „Hans-Blumenberg-Gastprofessur für Religion und Politik“ ist nach dem einflussreichen Münsteraner Philosophen Hans Blumenberg (1920-1996) benannt. Hans Blumenberg war, nach Stationen in Hamburg, Gießen und Bochum, von 1970 bis zu seiner Emeritierung 1985 Professor an der Universität Münster.

Mit seinen Veröffentlichungen trug er wesentlich zur Neubestimmung des Ortes der Neuzeit in der geschichtswissenschaftlichen und philosophischen Diskussion bei. Er stellte die damals vorherrschende Säkularisierungsthese in Frage, nach der theologische Deutungsmuster aus dem Mittelalter über den Umbruch zur Neuzeit hinweg im modernen Staat fortwirken.

Im Hauptwerk „Die Legitimität der Neuzeit“ plädiert Blumenberg dafür, die Entstehung der Neuzeit als Akt der humanen Selbstbehauptung gegen die theologischen Absolutheitsansprüche spätmittelalterlichen Denkens zu interpretieren. So prägte er, in kritischer Absetzung von den Philosophen Carl Schmitt (1888-1985) und Karl Löwith (1897-1973), entscheidend die geistesgeschichtlich argumentierende Säkularisierungsdebatte. Dies gilt als wichtiger Beitrag zur Theorie der historischen Periodisierung und zur Theorie der Moderne.

News Hans Blumenberg Gastprofessur Loewe 3 2
Der Philosoph Hans Blumenberg hat auch anekdotische Betrachtungen über das Motiv des Löwen angestellt. Die Schriftstellerin Sibylle Lewitscharoff greift dieses Motiv in ihrem Roman „Blumenberg“ auf. (Seated lion, Théodore Géricault, 1812–1814)
© Digital image courtesy of the Getty‘s Open Content Program

Der Philosoph befasste sich in seinen begriffs-, geistes- und philosophiegeschichtlichen sowie anthropologischen Studien auch mit der Interpretation von Mythen und Metaphern. So stellte er anekdotische und essayistische Betrachtungen über das Motiv des Löwen an. Schriftstellerin Sibylle Lewitscharoff greift dieses Motiv in ihrem Roman „Blumenberg“ auf.

Der Wissenschaftler war Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur zu Mainz, des Senats der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Mitglied der Senatskommission für Begriffsgeschichte und Mitgründer der Forschungsgruppe „Poetik und Hermeneutik“. Als junger Mann hatte er das Studium der Katholischen Theologie 1940 abbrechen müssen, da er im Nationalsozialismus mit Blick auf die Familie seiner Mutter als „Halbjude“ galt. Er studierte dann Philosophie, Germanistik und Klassische Philologie.