History of the IfK

© Birgit H/Pixelio.de

From Press Archive to Communication Studies: History of the IfK

Important foundations for the establishment of the Department of Communication in Münster were laid during WWI. In 1915 the historian Aloys Meister began creating a press archive and founded the interdisciplinary Committee for the Newspaper Industry, whose members regularly held lectures covering questions concerning the press. Only a few years later, in 1919, the Committee for Newspaper Affairs was founded and the journalist Friedrich Castelle served as its director. The Committee’s first private lecturer was Karl D’Ester. Unfortunately, the University had to end the program due to insufficient funding.

Funded by the Newspaper Publishing Association

The historian and director of the press office (Koblenz) Günther Wohlers founded the independent Department of Newspaper Affairs in 1927 with funds from the North Rhine-Westphalian Newspaper Publishing Association. Two years later, editor Heinrich Bause began managing the Department, which was renamed Department of News Publishing in 1935. The journalist Ernst H. Lehmann managed the Department from 1936–1938 and was succeeded by Hubert Max. Courses and research activities were halted during WWII. When they resumed in 1946, historian and journalist Walter Hagemann came to Münster to work as professor and director of the Department of News Publishing.

Expansion of the Subject under Hagemann

In 1949 the Department of News Publishing under Hagemann was renamed the Department of Journalism to take into account the new courses and syllabi. The Department of Journalism now covered all journalistic aspects and processes. Through Hagemann’s successful management, productivity, and enthusiasm, the Department of Journalism in Münster gained prestige and a good reputation.
After Hagemann’s suspension in 1959, his assistant Günter Kieslich became the Department’s director. Dutch sociologist Hendricus J. Prakke was appointed director in 1960. In introducing functional research methods and expanding the Department’s interests to include all communication studies, Prakke proved to be very prolific.

Reactions to Change: Renaming the Department

Prakke was succeeded by his student Winfried B. Lerg, who became acting director in 1969 and ordinarius and director in 1971. His term as director lasted 25 years and is the longest term served at this Department in Münster. Siegfried Weischenberg became director in 1994. The political scientist Dietrich Thränhardt served as director for a short period and was succeeded by (each successor serving a complete term): Siegfried J. Schmidt (1997); Miriam Meckel (1999); Siegfried J. Schmidt (2001); Bernd Blöbaum (2002); Christoph Neuberger (2007) Frank Marcinkowski (2009); Ulrike Röttger (2011)., Jutta Röser (2014), Thorsten Quandt (2012), Volker Gehrau has been managing the Department since 2018.

In 1998 the Department was renamed The Department of Communication to reflect developments in the field of communication. Additionally, the Department was divided into two divisions: media studies and journalism.

Geschichte des IfK

© Birgit H/Pixelio.de

Traditionsreich

Das Institut für Kommunikationswissenschaft der Universität Münster (IfK) ist das älteste kommunikations- und publizistikwissenschaftliche Institut in Nordrhein-Westfalen und das zweitälteste Institut dieser Art in der Bundesrepublik.

Vom Pressearchiv zur Kommunikationswissenschaft – die Geschichte des IfK

Wichtige Grundsteine zur Etablierung der Kommunikationswissenschaft in Münster sind bereits im Ersten Weltkrieg gelegt worden. Schon 1915 begann der Historiker Aloys Meister mit dem Aufbau eines Pressearchivs. Er initiierte damals außerdem einen interdisziplinären ‚Ausschuß für das Zeitungswesen’, dessen Mitglieder regelmäßig Vorlesungen zu Pressefragen hielten. Wenige Jahre später, 1919, wurde das ‚Lektorat für Zeitungskunde’ gegründet. Seine Leitung hatte der Journalist Friedrich Castelle inne. Als erster deutscher Privatdozent für Pressegeschichte arbeitete Karl D’Ester am Lektorat für Zeitungskunde. Da die Universität das Fach damals jedoch nicht ausreichend finanzieren konnte, verwaiste das Lektorat.

Finanzierung durch Zeitungsverleger

1927 gründete der Presseamtsleiter und Historiker Günther Wohlers mit Mitteln des Niederrheinisch-Westfälischen Zeitungsverleger-Vereins das selbstständige ‚Institut für Zeitungswesen’. Zwei Jahre später übernahm der Redakteur Heinrich Bause die Leitung des Instituts, das 1935 in ‚Institut für Zeitungswissenschaft’ umbenannt wurde. Zeitungswissenschaftler Ernst H. Lehmann löste Bause 1936 als Leiter ab, sein Nachfolger nur zwei Jahre später wurde Hubert Max. Nach kriegsbedingter Unterbrechung des Lehr- und Forschungsbetriebs kam 1946 der Historiker und Journalist Walter Hagemann als Professor und Direktor des Instituts für Zeitungswissenschaft nach Münster.

Ausweitung des Fachs unter Hagemann

Seit 1949 trägt die Einrichtung den Titel ‚Institut für Publizistik’. Mit der erneuten Umbenennung wurde der thematischen Erweiterung des Faches auf alle publizistischen Medien und Prozesse Rechnung getragen. Die Münsteraner Publizistikwissenschaft gewann durch Hagemanns Engagement und seine beachtliche Produktivität Profil und Reputation.

Nach der Suspendierung Hagemanns 1959 führte zunächst sein Assistent Günter Kieslich als kommissarischer Leiter das Institut. 1960 wurde der niederländische Soziologe Hendricus J. Prakke berufen. Durch die Einführung einer funktionalistischen Forschungsperspektive und die Entgrenzung des Faches zur allgemeinen Kommunikationswissenschaft erwies sich Prakke wissenschaftlich als sehr fruchtbar.

Reaktion auf Veränderungen: Institut wurde erneut umbenannt

Ihm folgte zunächst kommissarisch (1969) und seit 1971 als Ordinarius und Direktor sein Schüler Winfried B. Lerg nach. Seine Amtszeit sollte von allen Institutsleitern die bislang längste werden. Sie dauerte insgesamt 25 Jahre. 1994 wurde Siegfried Weischenberg zum Geschäftsführenden Direktor gewählt. Nach einem kommissarischen Gastspiel des Politologen Dietrich Thränhardt folgten ihm turnusmäßig Siegfried J. Schmidt (1997), Miriam Meckel (1999), wiederum Siegfried J. Schmidt (2001) und Bernd Blöbaum (seit 2002). Seit 2007 leitet Christoph Neuberger das Institut.

Mit einem neuen Namen des Instituts wurde 1998 wiederum auf die Entwicklung des Faches reagiert – seitdem lautet er ‚Institut für Kommunikationswissenschaft’. Außerdem erfolgte eine organisatorische Gliederung in die Abteilungen Medienwissenschaft und Journalistik.