Sigillum abb. Clun.


Sigillum abb. Clun.


Database of the Charters of the abbey of Cluny (802-1300)
«Bernard - Bruel: Recueil des chartes de l’abbaye de Cluny»
Institut für FrühmittelalterforschungWWU Münster
Bibliotheca cluniacensis Bullarium Cluniacense Bibliotheca cluniacensis novissima

URL of this page:
fruehmittelalter.uni-muenster.de/cce

CCE:   cartae   cluniacenses   electronicae

CCE allows a
Historical Search
  and provides an
Index of Word-forms
  for the edited charters of the monastery of Cluny.

 

CCE is based upon the edition of the charters of the monastery of Cluny:
Recueil des chartes de l'abbaye de Cluny, formé par Auguste Bernard complété, révisé et publié par Alexandre Bruel (Collection de documents inédits sur l'histoire de France – Première série. Histoire politique) 6 vol., Paris 1876-1903, réimp. Frankfurt/Main 1974
abbr.: BB

 

History of the project

After the release of the 6th volume in 1903 the edition of 5500 charters of the monastery of Cluny was to be made accessible by an additional register volume. The preparatory work of   Alexandre Bruel   († 1920) was a cornerstone to a substantial card index with thousand of entries of names of persons and places, which developed in the decades after WW II. Paul Marichal, Jean Richard, Maurice Chaume and at last Madeleine Oursel-Quarre († 2000) contributed to its completion. This collection was to become the basis for an index of names of persons and places allowing their identification, the publication of which should have been supported by the  Comité des travaux historiques. Today the material is situated in the  Bibliothèque municipale in Dijon where it is already used by many medievalists.

Jean Richard, La publication des chartes de Cluny, in: À Cluny, Dijon 1950, S. 155-160

Madeleine Oursel-Quarré, A propos du chartrier de Cluny, in: Annales de Bourgogne 50, 1978, S. 103-107

In connection with the research on the necrologies of Cluny at the   Institute for Early Medieval Studies in Münster and at the SFB 7 "Medieval Studies" (Visual representation, interpretation of meaning, objects, terms and language, prosopography) the names of persons in the charters of Cluny were gathered electronically for the first time in order to compare them to the entries in the necrologies.

Since 1985 in line with a project of law history, Josette Metmann († 1986) and Michel Petitjean of the  Centre Georges Chevrier, Université de Bourgogne, Dijon have collected names of places from these charters for the database system SOCRATE.

Out of the single datasets of those preceding projects, the   Institute for Early Medieval Studies and the  Centre Georges Chevrier mutually have developed an ORACLE-database since 1990. It did not only contain names of places and persons which had already been identified, but also the texts of the charters itself.

The database which is offered here is one part of this preparatory work. Its technical development was realized at the   Institute for Early Medieval Studies The editing of data was provided by Maria Hillebrandt, Franz Neiske and Michel Petitjean (Dijon), the programming was implemented by Tobias Freund and Franz Neiske on the basis of a MySql-database.

The seal of the abbot Yvo of Cluny on top of this page provides links to two charters of a   confraternity between Cluny and the monastery of Abdinghof (Paderborn) in 1270. The original charters are stored at Landesarchiv Nordrhein-Westfalen Abteilung Westfalen Landesarchiv Nordrhein-Westfalen Abteilung Westfalen (formerly: Staatsarchiv Münster). We thank for the permission of publishing them on the internet.

With CCE we provide free access to the texts of the charters for everyone who is interested in the history of the monastery of Cluny. It presents a first step towards a more extensive database with names of persons and places. Even complex requests can be answered due to several possibilities of searching within the database allowing quick access to the content of the charters of Cluny. We hope that this helps to intensify the international research on Cluny.

Email to the project "Cluny" in the Institute for Early Medieval Studies

© Tobias Freund Maria Hillebrandt Franz Neiske Michel Petitjean

Sigillum abb. Clun.


Sigillum abb. Clun.


Datenbank der Urkunden der Abtei Cluny (802-1300)
«Bernard - Bruel: Recueil des chartes de l’abbaye de Cluny»
Institut für FrühmittelalterforschungWWU Münster
Bibliotheca cluniacensis Bullarium Cluniacense Bibliotheca cluniacensis novissima

Adresse dieser Seite:
fruehmittelalter.uni-muenster.de/cce

CCE:   cartae   cluniacenses   electronicae

CCE ermöglicht die
historische Suche (nach Inhalten)
  und die
philologische Suche (nach Wortformen)
  in den edierten Urkunden der Abtei Cluny.

 

CCE basiert auf der Edition der Urkunden der Abtei Cluny:
Recueil des chartes de l'abbaye de Cluny, formé par Auguste Bernard complété, révisé et publié par Alexandre Bruel (Collection de documents inédits sur l'histoire de France – Première série. Histoire politique) 6 vol., Paris 1876-1903, réimp. Frankfurt/Main 1974
abbr.: BB

 

Geschichte des Projekts

Die Edition der 5500 Urkunden des Klosters Cluny sollte nach Erscheinen des 6. Bandes im Jahr 1903 mit einem zusätzlichen Registerband erschlossen werden. Nach bereits weitreichenden Vorarbeiten von   Alexandre Bruel   († 1920) entstand in den Jahrzehnten nach dem 2. Weltkrieg ein umfangreicher Zettelkasten mit Tausenden von Einträgen zu Orts- und Personennamen, zu dessen Vervollständigung u. a. Paul Marichal, Maurice Chaume, Jean Richard und zuletzt - in jahrelanger Arbeit - Madeleine Oursel-Quarre († 2000) beigetragen haben. Diese Sammlung sollte die Grundlage eines Index der Orts- und Personennamen mit Identifizierungen werden, dessen Publikation das  Comité des travaux historiques unterstützen wollte. Die Materialien befinden sich heute in der  Bibliothèque municipale in Dijon und wurden dort bereits von vielen Forscherinnen und Forschern benutzt.

Jean Richard, La publication des chartes de Cluny, in: À Cluny, Dijon 1950, S. 155-160

Madeleine Oursel-Quarré, A propos du chartrier de Cluny, in: Annales de Bourgogne 50, 1978, S. 103-107

Im Rahmen der Erforschung der cluniacensischen Necrologien im   Institut für Frühmittelalterforschung der Universität Münster und im SFB 7 "Mittelalterforschung (Bild, Bedeutung, Sachen, Wörter und Personen)" wurden seit 1977 die Personennamen aus den Urkunden Clunys erstmals elektronisch erfasst, um die Namen mit den Einträgen in den Necrologien vergleichen zu können.

Seit 1985 wurden im Rahmen eines rechtshistorischen Projektes des  Centre Georges Chevrier, Université de Bourgogne, Dijon durch Josette Metmann († 1986) und Michel Petitjean die Ortsnamen und die Sachbegriffe aus den Urkunden für das Datenbanksystem SOCRATE erfasst.

Aus den einzelnen Datenbeständen dieser Vorläuferprojekte entstand als gemeinsame Arbeit des   Instituts für Frühmittelalterforschung und des  Centre Georges Chevrier in den Jahren seit 1990 eine ORACLE-Datenbank, die nicht nur die zum Teil bereits identifizierten Orts- und Personennamen, sondern auch die Urkundentexte selbst enthielt.

Die hier angebotene Datenbank präsentiert einen Teil dieser Vorarbeiten. Sie wurde technisch im  Institut für Frühmittelalterforschung der Universität Münster entwickelt. An der Aufbereitung der Daten wirkten Maria Hillebrandt, Franz Neiske und Michel Petitjean (Dijon) mit. Die Programmierung wurde von Tobias Freund und Franz Neiske auf Grundlage einer MySql-Datenbank realisiert.

Das Siegel des Abtes Yvo von Cluny im Kopf dieser Seite verweist auf zwei Urkunden einer   Gebetsverbrüderung zwischen Cluny und dem Kloster Abdinghof (Paderborn)   im Jahr 1270. Die Originale dieser Urkunden werden im Landesarchiv Nordrhein-Westfalen Abteilung Westfalen (ehemals: Staatsarchiv Münster) aufbewahrt. Wir danken für die Erlaubnis zur Internetpublikation.

Als ersten Schritt auf dem Wege zu einer umfassenderen Datenbank mit Personen- und Ortsnamen bieten wir mit CCE allen an der Geschichte der Abtei Cluny Interessierten einen freien Zugang zu den Texten der Urkunden. Die Suchmodule erlauben auch mit komplexen Fragen einen schnellen Zugriff auf Inhalte der cluniacensischen Urkunden. Wir hoffen, damit zu einer Intensivierung der internationalen Clunyforschung beitragen zu können.

E-Mail an das Projekt "Cluny" im Institut für Frühmittelalterforschung

© Tobias Freund Maria Hillebrandt Franz Neiske Michel Petitjean