Dr. Kay Jüngling

Institute of Physiology I
Robert-Koch-Str. 27a
D-48149 Münster

Phone: +49 (0)251 / 83 – 55533
Fax: +49 (0)251 / 83 – 55551
Email: kay.juengling@gmx.de

Research Areas

1. Mechanisms of neuropeptide S
2. GABAergic networks in the amygdala

Selected Publications

Pape H.-C., Jüngling K., Seidenbecher T., Lesting J. &  Reinscheid R.K. (2010).  Neuropeptide S: A transmitter system in the brain regulating fear and anxiety. Neuropharmacol. 58: 29-34 (2010)

Okamura N., Garau C., Duangdao D.M., Clark S.D., Jüngling K., Pape H.-C. & Reinscheid R.K. Neuropeptide S Enhances Memory During the Consolidation Phase and Interacts with Noradrenergic Systems in the Brain.Neuropsychopharmacology. 2010 Dec 8. [Epub ahead of print]

Jüngling K, Seidenbecher T, Sosulina L, Lesting J, Sangha S, Clark S, Okamura N, Duangdao D, Xu Y-L, Reinscheid R and Pape H-C (2008). Neuropeptide S-mediated control of fear expression and extinction: role of intercalated GABAergic neurons in the amygdala. Neuron 2008, 59: 293-310.

Jüngling K, Eulenburg V, Moore R, Kemler R, Lessmann V and Gottmann K (2006). N-Cadherin transsynaptically regulates short-term plasticity at glutamatergic synapses in ES cellderived neurons. J. Neurosci. 2006, 26(26): 6968-6978.

Walz C, Jüngling K, Lessmann V and Gottmann K (2006). Presynaptic plasticity in an immature neocortical network requires NMDA receptor activation and BDNF release. Neurophysiol. 2006 Dec;96(6):3512-6.

Academic CV

1997-2002 Study of Biology at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum; Majors: Cell- and Neurobiology
Diploma thesis title „Synaptogenese in neuronal differenzierten embryonalen Stammzellen der Maus“; in the Institute for Cell-physiology at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum
04/2006 Doctoral thesis at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum
2002-2005 Stipend in the DFG Graduierten Kolleg 736: „Development and Plasticity of the Nervous System”
Thesis title “Molekulare Mechanismen von Synaptogeneseprozessen“ (Molecular mechanisms of synaptogenesis)
Since 2006 Research Associate; Institute of Physiology I, WWU/UKM, Münster

Honours and Special Recognitions

2008 Research Award of the WWU, Münster