IP@WWU - International PhD Study at the WWU

In its efforts to advance internationalisation of PhD study at WWU, IP@WWU project relies on several means to help achieve this goal. As the first step, collecting data on stays abroad and international contacts will set the broad base for the project and establish the WWU-internal network of researchers interested in supporting it.

Another key means are stipends which allow WWU's PhD students the opportunity to go abroad for a short period of research. Foreign PhD applicants who are already in contact with potential PhD supervisors at WWU benefit from so-called Get-To-Know Stipends.

An instrument intended to promote sustainable internationalisation of PhD study is the initiation of agreements with foreign partners to facilitate cooperation and exchange between PhD students.


If you should need further information on the project, Ms Iva Ognjanovic (Project Coordinator) and Ms Linda Dieks (Stipend Coordinator) are at your disposal!


Please note that there is a similar project run by smartNETWORK, also promoted by the DAAD with funds from the BMBF. The WWU Graduate Centre and the smartNETWORK cooperate closely on these projects. Members of graduate schools belonging to smartNETWORK should contact the Coordinator Mr Hendrik Hilgert.

IP@WWU - International Promovieren an der WWU

Das Projekt IP@WWU zielt darauf, die Promotionsphase an der WWU zu internationalisieren. Mehrere Maßnahmen sind im Rahmen des Projektes geplant: Zunächst geht es darum, Daten zu Auslandsaufenthalten und internationalen Kontakten zu ermitteln. Um dies zu erreichen und das Projekt auf eine breite Basis zu stellen, wird ein WWU-internes Netzwerk von interessierten WissenschaftlerInnen aufgebaut, die das Vorhaben unterstützen.

Eine weitere zentrale Maßnahme ist die Vergabe von Stipendien, die es Promovierenden der WWU ermöglichen sollen, kurze Forschungsaufenthalte im Ausland zu realisieren. Durch einen weiteren Stipendientyp können ausländische Promotionsinteressierte gefördert werden, die bereits mit potentiellen Betreuenden an der WWU in Kontakt stehen („Kennenlernstipendium“).

Eine Maßnahme, die die Promotionsphase nachhaltig internationalisieren soll, ist die Anbahnung von Agreements mit ausländischen Partnern, die die Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch zwischen Promovierenden ermöglichen soll.


Falls Sie weitere Informationen über das Projekt wünschen, stehen Ihnen Frau Iva Ognjanovic (Projektkoordinatorin) und Frau Linda Dieks (Stipendienkoordinatorin) gern zur Verfügung!


Das smartNETWORK verfügt über ein ähnliches Projekt, das ebenfalls vom DAAD aus Mitteln des BMBF gefördert wird. Das WWU Graduate Centre und das smartNETWORK kooperieren eng bei diesen Projekten. Angehörige der Graduiertenschulen des smartNETWORKs wenden sich bitte an den Koordinatoren Herr Hendrik Hilgert.