Environmental Remote Sensing Lab

© Hanna Meyer based on Sentinel-2 data
Hyperspectral reference measurenments in Tibet.
© Hanna Meyer

The acquisition of spatially continuous data and spatial-temporal dynamics from remote sensing information is a research focus of environmental sciences. To achieve this goal, modelling methods are required that allow the derivation of spatio-temporal information from limited field data. The complexity of environmental systems requires the use of modelling strategies, which allow to consider complex relationships between a multitude of variables.

In this context, the research focus of the working group is the acquisition of spatio-temporal dynamics of environmental variables and processes from remote sensing data and using current machine learning methods. Thus, the working group is at the interface between geoinformatics and landscape ecology and aims to contribute to an increase in knowledge in ecosystem research through satellite data processing, modelling and simulations. In this context, we deal with a broad spectrum of environmental topics, in particular related to ecology, climatology and soil science, and across a broad spectrum of temporal, spatial and spectral scales.

(https://xkcd.com/1838/ CC BY-NC 2.5) One focus of the work is the developement of robust machine learning strategies for spatial and spatio-temporal data sets.
© CC BY-NC 2.5

The further development of machine learning methods in remote sensing also plays a decisive role. Although these methods have been used for a long time, the characteristics of geographical data are hardly taken into account in the machine learning strategies. In particular, spatial autocorrelation requires the development of new strategies to generate reliable environmental data sets from remote sensing information. Therefore, in addition to the application of remote sensing data for the acquisition of ecologically relevant parameters, we also work on methodological developments of functionalities, in particular for the application of machine learning methods for spatial data, both on the conceptual level and as software implementations, especially in R.

Environmental Remote Sensing Lab

© Hanna Meyer based on Sentinel-2 data
Hyperspektrale Referenzmessungen am Boden, hier im Hochland von Tibet.
© Hanna Meyer

Die Erfassung räumlich kontinuierlicher Daten und raum-zeitlicher Dynamiken aus Fernerkundungsinformationen ist ein Forschungsschwerpunkt der Umweltwissenschaften. Zu diesem Ziel sind Modellierungsmethoden erforderlich, die es ermöglichen, aus limitierten Felddaten raum-zeitliche Informationen abzuleiten. Die Komplexität von Umweltsystemen erfordert dabei die Verwendung von Modellierungsstrategien, die es erlauben, komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen einer Vielzahl von Variablen zu berücksichtigen.

In diesem Zusammenhang ist der Forschungsschwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe ist die Erfassung raum-zeitlicher Dynamiken von Umweltvariablen und Prozessen aus Fernerkundungsdaten und mittels aktueller maschineller Lernverfahren. Damit befindet sich die Arbeitsgruppe an der Schnittstelle zwischen der Geoinformatik und Landschaftsökologie und hat das Ziel durch Satellitendatenverarbeitung, Modellierung und Simulationen zu einem Erkenntnisgewinn in der Ökosystemforschung beizutragen. In diesem Zusammenhang beschäftigen wir uns mit einem breiten Themenspektrum landschaftsökologischer Fragestellungen, insbesondere der Ökologie, Klimatologie und Bodenkunde, und über ein breites Spektrum von zeitlichen, räumlichen und spektralen Skalen.

(https://xkcd.com/1838/ CC BY-NC 2.5) Ein Arbeitsschwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung robuster maschineller Lernstrategien für räumliche und raum-zeitliche Daten
© CC BY-NC 2.5

Eine entscheidende Rolle spielt dabei auch die Weiterentwicklung von maschinellen Lernverfahren in der Fernerkundung. Obwohl diese Verfahren schon seit langem eingesetzt werden finden die Eigenschaften geographischer Daten in den Verfahren kaum Berücksichtigung. Insbesondere die räumliche Autokorrelation erfordert jedoch die Entwicklung neuer Strategien um zuverlässige Umweltdatensätze aus Fernerkundungsinformationen zu generieren. Deshalb arbeiten wir neben der Anwendung von Fernerkundungsdaten zur Erfassung landschaftsökologisch relevanter Parameter auch an methodischen Weiterentwicklung von Funktionalitäten insbesondere zur Anwendung maschineller Lernverfahren für räumliche Daten sowohl auf der konzeptionellen Ebene als auch als Softwareimplementierungen vor allem in R.