The Research Training Group “Trust and Communication in a Digitized World” brought together researchers at the University of Münster from the fields of communication studies, psychology, sports science, economics and business informatics. A great number of people in different roles contributed to the success of the Research Training Group:

  • Applicants contributed expertise in researching the levels of analysis and areas of investigation, cooperated in projects and supervised the PhD students in interdisciplinary teams of two.
  • PhD Students benefited from the interdisciplinary exchange on trust among themselves and through regular joint event formats.
  • PhD students with start-up funding: in order to motivate outstanding graduates of the Research Training Group to continue their careers in science, a total of four young researchers received start-up funding for another year.
  • International Mentors advised the PhD students with regard to research and to their academic careers on topics such as publication strategies, networking and application strategies.
  • DFG-Mercator Fellows from Germany and abroad offered the PhD students an intensive and long-term exchange. The Fellows were partly on site, but were also in contact with the project participants beyond the duration of their stay.
  • Scientific Coordinators organised the study programme and took responsibility for the management.



  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Becker
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Blöbaum
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Bromme
  • Prof. Dr. Guido Hertel
  • Prof. Dr. Regina Jucks
  • Prof. Dr. Joscha Kärtner
  • Dr. Maja Malik
  • Dr. Susanne Pieschl
  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Röttger
  • Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schewe
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Strauß
  • Dr. Jens Vogelgesang
  • Jun. Prof. Dr. Annie Waldherr

To the top

PhD Students

  • Dr. Laura Badura
  • Viktoria Baumeister
  • Julia Berding, geb. Niebergall
  • Dr. Franziska M. Bhakta, geb. Thon
  • Dr. Christina Breuer
  • Dr. Maike Bruckes
  • Dr. Lena Busch
  • Dr. Bettina Distel
  • PD Dr. habil Dennis Dreiskämper
  • Anna Dudenhausen
  • Dr. Katherine M. Engelke, geb. Grosser
  • Yasmin Erenler
  • Dr. Sarah Fischer, geb. Westphal
  • Dr. Mona Folger
  • Dr. Isabelle Freiling
  • Dr. Lukas Gierth
  • Johannes Gunst
  • Dr. Friederike Hendriks
  • Dr. Miriam Höddinghaus
  • Dr. Maximilian Holtgrave
  • Dr. Richard Hossiep
  • Inse Janssen
  • Dr. Robin Janzik
  • Jens Kanthak
  • Holger Koelmann
  • Dr. Lars König
  • Leonie Kuen
  • Dr. Anil Kunnel
  • Dr. Gesa Linnemann
  • Dr. Natascha Löffler
  • Dr. Jens Mazei
  • Dr. Ricarda Moll
  • Dr. Ayten Öksüz
  • Dr. Katharina Pöppel
  • Dr. Sydney Querfurth
  • Dr. Charlotte Raue
  • Dr. Philipp D. Romeike
  • Dr. Marco Rustemeyer
  • Dr. Malte Schmidt
  • Anja Schmitt
  • Dominik Sondern
  • Eva Strehlke
  • Dr. Bernadette Uth
  • Nina Vaupotic
  • Dr. Nicolai Walter
  • Dr. Daniel Westmattelmann
  • Dr. Christian Wiencierz
  • Dr. Florian Wintterlin
  • Dr. Christina Wohlers
  • Dr. Simone Zachariat
  • Dr. Maria Zimmermann

To the top

PhD students with start-up funding

  • Dr. Bettina Distel
  • Dr. Daniel Westmattelmann
  • Dr. Ricarda Moll
  • Dr. Sarah Fischer, geb. Westphal

To the top

International Mentors

  • Prof. Dr. Deborah Compeau
  • Prof. Dr. Joep Crompvoets
  • Prof. Dr. Paul Harris
  • Dr. Martina Hartner-Tiefenthaler
  • Prof. Dr. Adam Joinson
  • Dr. Sophia Jowett
  • Prof. Dr. Miriam Metzger
  • Prof. Dr. Dilek Zamantili Nayir
  • Dr. Ann-Marie Nienaber
  • Prof. Dr. Nikos Ntoumanis
  • Prof. Andrea Petroczi
  • Prof. Dr. William Rand
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Rosemann
  • Prof. Dr. Mark Saunders
  • Prof. Dr. David Schoorman
  • Prof. Dr. Alice Stuhlmacher
  • Prof. Dr. Shay Tzafrir

To the top

DFG-Mercator Fellows

  • Prof. Gary Bente
  • Prof. Andrea Petroczi
  • Prof. Roger Mayer
  • Prof. Dietram A. Scheufele

To the top

Scientific Coordination

  • Dr. Andre Dechert
  • Dr. Anne Mollen
  • Dr. Stephan Völlmicke
  • Dr. Christian Wiencierz

To the top