01.2023 -  to date W2 Professor for Physical Chemistry; Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

    01.2017 - 12.2022 W1 tenure track W2 Professor for Physical Chemistry; Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

    01.2012 - 12.2016 Head of an independent research group at the Institute of Particle Technology (LFG) of the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
    Research focuses on fluid interfaces and hierarchical materials, in situ char-acterizations with nonlinear optics

    01.2011 - 12.2011 Postdoc with a Feodor Lynen Return Fellowship at FAU

    11.2009 - 12.2010 Postdoc and Feodor Lynen fellow; Research associate in the groups of Prof. Drs. Dana D. Dlott and Andrzej Wieckowski with Prof. Dr. Martin Grue-bele as mentor and host; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
    Electro-catalysis at model electrodes and electrolytes

    05.2009 - 10.2009 Postdoc. Group of Prof. Dr. Winfried Daum at TU Clausthal

    05.2009 Dissertation with summa cum laude; In situ Studies of Solid-Electrolyte Interfaces and their Molecular Structure: Platinum and α-Al2O3(0001)

    11.2004 - 05.2009 Research assistant. PhD advisor: Prof. Dr. Winfried Daum at TU Clausthal
    Studies with electrochemical STM and development and application of a spectrometer for in situ spectroscopy with nonlinear optics

    10.1999 - 10.2004 Undergraduate studies at TU Clausthal, Diploma in physics with honors


    • 2014 Starting Grant of the European Research Council (ERC)
    • 2014 BASF fellowship financially supporting a Junior Professional Management-Program
    • 2012 Max Buchner research fellowship
    • 2012 DAAD Travel Grant
    • 2009 Feodor Lynen fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
    • 2009 Dissertation award of the Verein von Freunden der TU Clausthal



    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Peukert, (Particle technology), FAU
    • Prof. Dr. Norbert Willenbacher, (Rheology of complex fluids), KIT
    • Prof. Dr. Timothy Clark, (Theoretische Chemie and Computer-Chemistry-Center), FAU
    • Prof. Dr. Dirk Zahn, (Theoretische Chemie and Computer-Chemistry-Center), FAU
    • Prof. Dr. Marc Tornow, (Department of Molecular Electronics), TU München, Germany
    • Dr. Reinhard Miller; (Thermodynamics, Kinetics and Rheology of Interfacial Layers), MPI Golm
    • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Kulozik, (Food process engineering) TU München
    • Prof. Dr. Dana D. Dlott (Surface Chemistry and spectroscopy with ultrafast lasers) UIUC (USA)
    • Prof. em. Dr. Andrzej Wieckowski; (Electrochemistry and catalysis) University of Illinois (USA)



    • U Duisburg-Essen, Seminar Technische Chemie, Prof. Stephan Barcikowski, 10.2016
    • OvGU Magdeburg, Seminar "Nichtlinearität in komplexen Systemen", 09. Mai 2016
    • Hauptseminar "NanoelectronicsTU München, 16. April 2015
    • TU Berlin; Intl. Graduate Research Training Group 1524, 08. January 2015
    • 5th EAM Symposium; Kloster Banz 2013
    • 244th ACS national meeting, Philadelphia 2012
    • 221th ECS meeting, Seattle 2012
    • ECONOS 2012, Aberdeen University, 8.-11. July 2012
    • 3rd EAM Symposium, Oberhof 2011
    • NTH School Contacts in Nanosystems; Autumn Workshop, October 2011
    • "Vibrational sum-frequency generation at interfaces: From catalysis to molecular electronics"
    • 13th SAOT Workshop on Nonlinear Optics and Interfaces; 26. April 2011