History of the Department of Psychology in Münster

Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c. Wolfgang Metzger (1899-1979)

The history of the Department of Psychology at the University of Münster already begins as early as 1783. In this year, the philosopher Ferdinand Überwasser (1752-1812) refered to himself as "Professor of empirical psychology and logic". His position was created by Franz Freiherr von Fürstenberg shortly after the official opening of the university in 1780. The reformer, Franz von Fürstenberg, considered psychology to be science that should be taught in every school and university. It was then in 1919 that the first experimental psychology department of the Dept. of  Philosophy of the WWU was founded by Prof. Dr. Richard Hellmuth Goldschmidt (a student of Wilhelm Wundt). Since 1942 Münster has its own separate psychological institute. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Metzger was the first appointed director of the "Institute for Psychology and Pedagogy".

Wolfgang Metzger was a student and assistant of the Gestalt psychologist, Max Wertheimer, who was considered - along with Wolfgang Köhler and Kurt Koffka - to be one of the original founders of experimental Gesalt pyschology. For this reason, psychology in the city of Münster has received a strictly empirical and experimental orientation since that time in the tradition of the Berlin School of Gestalt Theory. In 1942  Metzger was also the only professor of the department. Today, in comparison, the Wilhelm's University of Münster in Westfalen has one of the largest training centers in the field of psychology in Germany. ... The entire history of our discipline can be read under the following link:

 Find out more: History of Psychology at U Münster

Contemporary Art

The psychology department has received two works by important artists in recent years: Andreas Karl Schulze and Peter Telljohann. The works of both artists are site-specific wall installations that were created especially for the Fliednerstraße 21 building. The 63-meter-long wall frieze from Andreas Karl Schulze entitled "P SYSYPP S YP P" is made of 1400 colored cotton squares. It is located in the library of Psychology (opening times from Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. ). The work „IM EIGENEN FELD“ (In Field of Its Own) by Peter Telljohann consists of eight wooden panels that are painted with shellac and color pigments (304 x 560 cm). It is located on the mezzanine of the foyer and can be visited during the general opening hours of the building (Monday to Friday 7:30 a.m. to 9:45 p.m.). Both works are now part of the art collection of the University. Their purchase was made possible through the support of the University Society and a private sponsor.

„P SYSYPP S YP P“ by A. K. Schulze, 2012
© Foto WWU Münster
Artwork by Peter Telljohann (2015)
„IM EIGENEN FELD“ (In a Field of Its Own) by Peter Telljohann, 2015
© Foto WWU Münster

Geschichte der Fachrichtung Psychologie

Wolfgang Metzger
Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c. Wolfgang Metzger (1899-1979)

Die Geschichte der Psychologie an der Universität Münster beginnt bereits im Jahre 1783. In diesem Jahr bezeichnet sich der Philosoph Ferdinand Überwasser (1752-1812) als "Professor für empirische Psychologie und Logik". Seine Position wurde von Franz Freiherr von Fürstenberg kurz nach der offiziellen Eröffnung der Universität (1780) geschaffen. Der Reformer Franz von Fürstenberg sah die Psychologie als eine Wissenschaft an, die an jeder Schule und jeder Universität unterrichtet werden sollte.  Im Jahre 1919 wurde dann die erste experimental-psychologische Abteilung des Philosophischen Seminars der WWU durch Prof. Dr. Richard Hellmuth Goldschmidt (Schüler von Wilhelm Wundt) gegründet. Seit 1942 gibt es ein eigenständiges Psychologisches Institut. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Metzger wurde zum ersten Direktor des „Instituts für Psychologie und Pädagogik" berufen.

Wolfgang Metzger war Schüler und Assistent des Gestaltpsychologen Max Wertheimer, der zusammen mit Wolfgang Köhler und Kurt Koffka, als Begründer der Gesaltpyschologie gilt. Daher erhält die Psychologie in Münster seit dieser Zeit eine streng empirisch und experimentelle Ausrichtung in der Tradition der Berliner Schule der Gestalttheorie. Zudem war Metzger 1942 der einzige Professor der Fachrichtung. Heute hat die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster eine der größten Ausbildungsstätten für den Bereich Psychologie in Deutschland. ...Die komplette Geschichte unserer Fachrichtung können Sie unter dem folgenden Link nachlesen:

Zur Seite "Geschichte der Fachrichtung Psychologie"

Zeitgenössische Kunst

Das Fach Psychologie hat in den letzten Jahren zwei Arbeiten bedeutender zeitgenössischer Künstler erhalten: Andreas Karl Schulze und Peter Telljohann. Die Arbeiten der beiden Künstler sind ortsbezogene Wandarbeiten und wurden speziell für das Gebäude Fliednerstraße 21 geschaffen. Der insgesamt 63 Meter lange Wandfries von Andreas Karl Schulze aus  ca. 1400 farbigen Baumwollquadraten mit dem Titel „P SYSYPP S YP P“ befindet sich in der Bibliothek für Psychologie (Öffnungszeiten von Montag bis Freitag jeweils 9-18 Uhr). Die Arbeit „IM EIGENEN FELD“ von Peter Telljohann besteht aus insgesamt acht Holzpanelen, die mit Schellack und Farbpigmenten bemalt sind (304x560 cm). Sie befindet sich auf der Empore des Foyers und kann zu den allgemeinen Öffnungszeiten des Gebäudes besichtigt werden (Montag bis Freitag 7.30-21.45 Uhr). Beide Arbeiten gehören heute zum Kunstbesitz der Universität. Ihre Anschaffung wurde möglich durch die Unterstützung der Universitätsgesellschaft und eines privaten Sponsors.

Kunstwerk vonSchulze 2012
„P SYSYPP S YP P“ von A. K. Schulze (2012)
© Foto WWU Münster
Kunstwerk von Telljohann 2015
„IM EIGENEN FELD“ von Peter Telljohann (2015)
© Foto WWU Münster