Scalar light fields

Scalar tailored light fields spatially structured in amplitude and phase are well established in modern optics. They offer a wide range of applications in e.g. optical communication technology, quantum optics, material machining or optical micromanipulation. For these, the community is constantly searching for neoteric light fields enhancing and extending the current range of applications. Moreover, customized light plays an essential role regarding the investigation of Singular Optics, as it can reveal differerent singularities.

In order to tailor light, we use holographic techniques: We are able to deliver both amplitude and phase information by phase-only spatial light modulators (SLM) [Woerdemann2013, Alpmann2015, Otte2015, Alpmann2016] facilitating highly dynamic, spatially resolved modulation. Moreover, controlling all degrees of freedom of light simultaneously, i.e. amplitude, phase, and polarization, is enabled by different multiplexing techniques [Otte2015, Alpmann2016].

Beside the investigation of higher order standard Gaussian beams, namely Hermite-, Laguerre-, and Ince-Gaussian beams, and their applications [Woerdemann2013], we analyse e.g. elegant Gaussian modes [Alpmann2015], non-diffracting [Rose2012] and self-similar beams, showing specific propagation behavior (see Figure below). We realized novel kinds of these beams and show their practicability in e.g. optical micromanipulation of Zeolite L nanocontainers [Alpmann2015]. Consequently, we focus on the development of neoteric light fields for specific applications and their diversity searching into the fundamentals of optics.

Examples of different classes of scalar light fields with spatially varying amplitude (foreground) and phase (background) distribution, which show characteristic propagation behavior as being non-diffracting, self-similar or -imaging

References:

  • [Woerdemann2013] Woerdemann M, Alpmann C, Esseling M and Denz C 2013 “Advanced optical trapping by complex beam shaping” Laser & Photonics Reviews 7(6) 839-854
  • [Alpmann2015] Alpmann C, Schöler C and Denz C 2015 “Elegant Gaussian beams for enhanced optical manipulation” Applied Physics Letters 106(24) 241102
  • [Otte2015] Otte E, Schlickriede C, Alpmann C and Denz C 2015 “Complex light fields enter a new dimension: holographic modulation of polarization in addition to amplitude and phase” Proceedings of SPIE vol. 9379, 937908
  • [Alpmann2016] Alpmann C, Schlickriede C, Otte E and Denz C 2016 “Dynamic modulation of Poincaré beams” submitted
  • [Rose2012] Rose P, Boguslawski M, and Denz C 2012 “Nonlinear lattice structures based on families of complex nondiffracting beams” New J. Phys. 14 033018

Skalare Lichtfelder

Skalare, maßgeschneiderte Lichtfelder, strukturiert in Amplitude und Phase, haben sich wohletabliert in der modernen Optik. Sie eröffnen ein breites Spektrum an Anwendungen, beispielsweise in der optische Kommunikationstechnologie, Quantenoptik, Materialbearbeitung und auch optischen Mikromanipulation. Hierfür wird stets nach neuartigen Lichtfeldern geforscht, um das bereits vorhandene Anwendungsspektrum noch zu erweitern und zu verbessern. Des Weiteren spielt maßgeschneidertes Licht im Forschungsgebiet der singulären Optik eine entscheidende Rolle, da es unterschiedlichste Singularitäten enthalten kann.

Zur Erzeugung maßgeschneiderten Lichts verwenden wir holographische Methoden [Woerdemann2013, Alpmann2015, Otte2015, Alpmann2016]: Mit Hilfe von räumlichen Phasenmodulatoren ist es uns möglich, sehr dynamisch und räumlich aufgelöst sowohl Amplituden- als auch Phaseninformationen zu übertragen. Außerdem können wir durch unterschiedliche Multiplexing-Methoden alle Freiheitsgrade des Lichtes, d.h. Amplitude, Phase und auch Polarisation, simultan kontrollieren.

Neben der Untersuchung von höhermodigen Standard-Gaußstrahlen, wie Hermite- Laguerre- und Ince-Gauß-Strahlen, und deren Anwendung [Woerdemann2013], analysieren wir z.B. elegante Gauß-Moden [Alpmann2015], nicht-beugende [Rose2012] sowie selbst-abbildende Lichtfelder, welche spezifische Propagationseigenschaften ausweisen (s. unten). Wir haben neue Arten dieser Felder realisiert und ihre Anwendbarkeit bspw. im Fall der optischen Mikromanipulation von Zeolite-L-Nanokontainern [Alpmann2015] bewiesen. Die fundamentalen Grundlagen der Optik/Photonik erforschend, fokussieren wir uns folglich auf die Diversität und Entwicklung neuartiger Lichtstrukturen, auch in Bezug auf spezielle Anwendungen.

Beispiele unterschiedlicher Klassen von skalaren Lichtfeldern mit räumlich variierender Amplituden- (vorne) und Phasenverteilung (hinten), welche spezielles Propagationsverhalten aufweisen (nicht-beugend, selbst-ähnlich oder selbst-abbildend)

References:

  • [Woerdemann2013] Woerdemann M, Alpmann C, Esseling M and Denz C 2013 “Advanced optical trapping by complex beam shaping” Laser & Photonics Reviews 7(6) 839-854
  • [Alpmann2015] Alpmann C, Schöler C and Denz C 2015 “Elegant Gaussian beams for enhanced optical manipulation” Applied Physics Letters 106(24) 241102
  • [Otte2015] Otte E, Schlickriede C, Alpmann C and Denz C 2015 “Complex light fields enter a new dimension: holographic modulation of polarization in addition to amplitude and phase” Proceedings of SPIE vol. 9379, 937908
  • [Alpmann2016] Alpmann C, Schlickriede C, Otte E and Denz C 2016 “Dynamic modulation of Poincaré beams” submitted
  • [Rose2012] Rose P, Boguslawski M, and Denz C 2012 “Nonlinear lattice structures based on families of complex nondiffracting beams” New J. Phys. 14 033018