FAQ - Frequently asked questions concerning the Alumni-Club WWU Münster

Two students talking
© Peter Grewer

Here are the answers to frequently asked questions concerning the Alumni-Club WWU Münster.
Any questions left? Please contact us.

  • REGISTRATION AND SERVICES OFFERED

    Who can become a member of the Alumni-Club?
    Everyone can be a member who is or was a student (also a temporary student) or is or was employed (except in a freelance contract) at the WWU Münster, the Musikhochschule Münster and the former Pädagogische Hochschule Münster (both of which have been integrated into the WWU).
    Alumni of other colleges in Münster, such as, for example, the Fachhochschule Münster, unfortunately cannot become members.

    How can I register to become a member of the Alumni-Club?
    Here you can register online, simply and easily, to become a member of the Alumni-Club.

    What does a membership of the Alumni-Club cost?

    Membership of the Alumni-Club and the services we offer are free of charge.

    What services does the Alumni-Club offer its members?
    You can find a general overview of the services we offer here.

  • E-MAIL-ADDRESS/ZIV USER ID

    Can I extend the validity of my e-mail address "...@uni-muenster.de" via the Alumni-Club?
    You can extend the validity of your e-mail address“...@uni-muenster.de“ as a forwarding address. This means you can continue receiving the e-mails being sent to the address by having them forwarded. Here you can find all the information you need to extend the validity of your e-mail address.

    Can I extend the validity of more than one ZIV userID via the Alumni-Club?
    No, you can extend the validity of only one ZIV userID via the Alumni-Club, but it is possible to transfer the aliases of your other ZIV userID to the extended one.

    When the validity of my e-mail address "...@uni-muenster.de" has been extended, are the aliases I used also valid?
    Yes, your aliases remain valid.

    I have forgotten the password I need to access my e-mails. What can I do?
    If you have forgotten your password, the Centre for Information Processing (ZIV) will be very happy to help you here.

    How can I renew my email account/my ZIV username?

    • Renewal during the registration process: In order to use your e-mail account/your ZIV user identity as a forwarding address, you must register as a member of the Alumni-Club WWU Münster.
      When you register, you will be asked for your ZIV userID (“ZIV-Kennung”) and for the e-mail address that you wish to renew. As soon as your Alumni-Club membership has been confirmed, your ZIV userID and your e-mail address will be automatically renewed (as a forwarding address). Only one ZIV userID per person can be renewed. The aliases will remain valid.

    • Subsequent e-mail renewal: If you are already a member of the Alumni-Club WWU Münster and have not yet renewed your e-mail address, or if you did not receive a user identity during your term of study or employment, please fill out this form and send it to the Alumni-Club WWU Münster by scan, fax or post.

    Can I send e-mails from my extended e-mail address "…@uni-muenster.de"?
    No, unfortunately this is not possible. The address can only be used as a forwarding address.

    How can I get my emails forwarded?
    On the ZIV homepage there is a step-by-step manual (in German) explaining how you can set up a forwarding process for emails. The forwarding process can be changed at any time in the MeinZIV user portal. Please note that any forwarding of emails to an address outside the University of Münster can only be set up after you are no longer enrolled or employed at the University.

    When I try to set up a forwarding process I get an error message that no forwarding is possible anymore.
    Forwarding emails to an address outside the University of Münster can only be set up after you are no longer enrolled or employed at the University. If your contract or your period of study has already ended and it is still not possible to set up a forwarding process, please use the MyZIV user portal to check and see whether you are still a member of any user groups other than “y0alumni” (username and group memberships > list of all group memberships). If this is so, please contact the relevant user group leaders (e.g. at your Institute) so that they can delete your username from the user group. Afterwards, you should be able to set up the forwarding process.

    After a forwarding process has been set up, will all the emails which have already been saved in the in-box be automatically forwarded?
    No, the only emails which will be forwarded are those which arrive after the forwarding process has been set up. You will yourself have to forward any emails already saved, or download them onto your computer using an email programme.

    With my extended e-mail address "…@uni-muenster.de"/ZIV User ID, can I use the VPN Client, the campuscloud sciebo and University Data Bases?
    No, unfortunately it is not possible for you to use the VPN-Clients, sciebo and University Data Bases. However you do have access to the careers portal KAP.WWU of the Careers Service (in German only), as well as RefWorks, the main university library’s reference management tool (in German only).

    Is it possible with my extended e-mail address "…@uni-muenster.de"/ZIV User ID to use the careers portal KAP.WWU of the Careers Service, as well as RefWorks, the main university library’s reference management tool?
    Yes, that is possible.

  • PARTICIPATING IN UNIVERSTIY SPORTS

    How much does it cost a member of the Alumni-Club WWU Münster to take part in University Sports (Hochschulsport)?
    Members of the Alumni-Club WWU Münster can register at reduced rates (as compared to the guest rate) and as early as internal participants for courses offered by the Hochschulsport. You will need your Alumni-Card, which you can request when registering as a member of the Alumni-Club, or you can send off for it at alumni@uni-muenster.de. When you register online for a Hochschulsport course, you must identify yourself as a „Member of the Alumni-Club WWU Münster“, status group 3. Please bring your Alumni-Card to all sport courses at all times, so that you can show it if asked. Here is information about the sport courses on offer.

  • USING THE MAIN UNIVERSITY LIBRARY (ULB)

    Can I apply through the Alumni-Club WWU Münster for a user pass for the main university library (ULB – Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek)?
    There are no special conditions in the ULB for the members of the Alumni-Club. However, the library is open to use for all citizens so that you can apply for a pass for the user group S or T. Further information about this can be found on the homepage of the ULB (in German only).

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Alumni-Club WWU Münster

Zwei Studenten im Gespräch
© Peter Grewer

Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zum Alumni-Club WWU Münster.
Sollten darüber hinaus noch Fragen offen sein, nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.

  • ANMELDUNG UND ANGEBOTE

    Wer kann Mitglied im Alumni-Club werden?
    Mitglied kann jede(r) werden, der an der WWU Münster, dem Universitätsklinikum Münster, der Musikhochschule Münster und der früheren Pädagogischen Hochschule Münster (beide in die WWU integriert) studiert (auch zeitweise) oder gearbeitet hat (außer Honorarverträge).
    Alumni anderer Hochschulen in Münster, wie z.B. der Fachhochschule, können leider nicht Mitglied werden.

    Auch wenn Sie noch an der Universität Münster eingeschrieben oder aktiv im Dienst sind, können Sie gerne schon Mitglied werden.

    Wie kann ich mich zum Alumni-Club anmelden?
    Hier können Sie sich ganz einfach online zum Alumni-Club anmelden.

    Was kostet die Mitgliedschaft im Alumni-Club?
    Die Mitgliedschaft im Alumni-Club und die Nutzung unserer Angebote ist kostenlos.

    Welche Angebote hält der Alumni-Club für seine Mitglieder bereit?
    Eine Übersicht über unsere Angebote finden Sie hier.

  • E-MAIL-ADRESSE/ZIV-KENNUNG

    Kann ich meine ZIV-Kennung/E-Mail-Adresse „…@uni-muenster.de“ über den Alumni-Club verlängern?
    Sie können Ihre E-Mail-Adresse „…@uni-muenster.de“ als Weiterleitungsadresse verlängern. Damit können Sie über eine Weiterleitung weiterhin E-Mails empfangen, die an diese Adresse gerichtet werden.

    Kann ich mehrere ZIV-Kennungen über den Alumni-Club verlängern (z. B. meine Studenten- und meine Mitarbeiter-Kennung)?
    Nein, das ist leider nicht möglich. Pro Person kann nur eine ZIV-Kennung verlängert werden. Sie können jedoch Ihre Aliasnamen auf die verlängerte ZIV-Kennung transferieren.

    Bleiben meine Aliasnamen für die E-Mail-Adresse "…@uni-muenster.de" bei der Verlängerung bestehen?
    Ja, die Aliasnamen bleiben bestehen.

    Ich habe mein Passwort für den E-Mail-Zugang vergessen. Was muss ich tun?
    Wenn Sie Ihr Passwort vergessen haben, hilft Ihnen das Zentrum für Informationsverarbeitung (ZIV) hier gerne weiter.

    Wie verlängere ich meinen E-Mail-Account/meine ZIV-Nutzerkennung?

    • Verlängerung bei der Anmeldung im Alumni-Club WWU Münster: Um Ihren E-Mail-Account/Ihre ZIV-Nutzerkennung als Weiterleitungsadresse zu verlängern oder zu reaktivieren, müssen Sie sich im Alumni-Club WWU Münster anmelden.
      Während des Anmeldeverfahrens werden Sie nach Ihrer ZIV-Nutzerkennung/E-Mail-Adresse gefragt, die Sie verlängern möchten. Mit der Freischaltung für den Alumni-Club wird auch Ihre ZIV-Nutzerkennung/E-Mail-Adresse als Weiterleitungsadresse verlängert. Es kann nur eine Kennung pro Person verlängert werden.
    • Nachträgliche Verlängerung: Sollten Sie sich bereits vorher ohne Verlängerung der E-Mail-Adresse im Alumni-Club WWU Münster registriert haben oder während Ihrer Studien-/Mitarbeiterzeit keine Kennung zugewiesen bekommen haben, füllen Sie bitte dieses Formular zur Verlängerung der E-Mail-Adresse aus und senden es per Scan, Fax oder Post an den Alumni-Club WWU Münster.

    Kann ich von meiner verlängerten E-Mail-Adresse "…@uni-muenster.de" E-Mails versenden?
    Nein, das ist leider nicht möglich. Die Adresse wird nur noch als Weiterleitungsadresse geführt.

    Wie richte ich die E-Mail-Weiterleitung ein?
    Auf der Homepage des Zentrums für Informationsverarbeitung ist in einer Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung beschrieben, wie Sie eine Adresse zur E-Mail-Weiterleitung anlegen können. Die Weiterleitung können Sie jederzeit im Nutzerportal MeinZIV ändern.
    Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Einrichtung einer Weiterleitung an eine E-Mail-Adresse außerhalb der WWU erst möglich ist, wenn Sie nicht mehr an der Universität eingeschrieben bzw. angestellt sind.

    Bei der Einrichtung der Weiterleitung erhalte ich die Fehlermeldung, dass Weiterleitungen nicht mehr möglich sind.
    Die Einrichtung einer Weiterleitung an eine E-Mail-Adresse außerhalb der WWU ist erst möglich, wenn Sie nicht mehr an der Universität eingeschrieben bzw. angestellt sind. Sollte Ihr Vertrag bzw. Ihre Studienzeit bereits geendet haben und die Weiterleitung dennoch nicht möglich sein, prüfen Sie bitte im Nutzerportal MeinZIV, ob Sie noch Mitglied in weiteren Nutzergruppen außer „y0alumni“ sind (Nutzerkennung und Gruppenmitgliedschaften > Übersicht über alle Gruppenmitgliedschaften). Sollte dies der Fall sein, wenden Sie sich bitte an die jeweiligen Nutzergruppenleiter (z. B. in Ihrem Institut), damit diese Ihre Kennung aus der Nutzergruppe entfernen. Im Anschluss sollten Sie die Weiterleitung einrichten können.

    Werden bei der Einrichtung einer Weiterleitung alle E-Mails weitergeleitet, die bereits im Postfach gespeichert sind?
    Nein, es werden nur diejenigen E-Mails weitergeleitet, die nach der Einrichtung der Weiterleitung eintreffen. Bereits gespeicherte E-Mails müssen Sie selbst weiterleiten oder mit einem E-Mail-Programm auf Ihren Computer herunterladen.

    Kann ich mit meiner verlängerten "…@uni-muenster.de"-Adresse/ZIV-Kennung den VPN-Client, die Campuscloud sciebo und Fachdatenbanken nutzen?
    Nein, die Nutzung des VPN-Clients, der Campuscloud sciebo, der Fachdatenbanken etc. ist leider nicht möglich. Ihnen stehen jedoch der Zugang zum Karriereportal KAP.WWU des Career Service sowie das Literaturverwaltungsprogramm RefWorks der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek weiterhin zur Verfügung.

    Kann ich mit meiner verlängerten „…@uni-muenster.de“-Adresse/ZIV-Kennung das Karriereportal KAP.WWU des Career Service und das Literaturverwaltungsprogramm RefWorks der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek nutzen?
    Ja, das ist möglich.

  • TEILNAHME AM HOCHSCHULSPORT

    Was kostet die Teilnahme am Hochschulsport für Mitglieder des Alumni-Clubs WWU Münster?
    Mitglieder des Alumni-Clubs WWU Münster können sich zum reduzierten Tarif (gegenüber dem Gäste-Tarif) und zum selben frühen Zeitpunkt wie interne Teilnehmer für Kurse des Hochschulsports anmelden. Notwendig dafür ist die Alumni-Card, die Sie unter alumni@uni-muenster.de oder bei der Anmeldung zum Alumni-Club anfordern können. Bei der Online-Anmeldung zum Hochschulsport müssen Sie sich in der Statusgruppe 3 ("Mitglieder des Alumni-Clubs WWU Münster") anmelden. Bitte bringen Sie die Alumni-Card immer zu den Sportkursen mit, um sie bei Kontrollen vorweisen zu können. Zum Sportangebot geht es hier.

  • NUTZUNG DER UNIVERSITÄTS- UND LANDESBIBLIOTHEK (ULB)

    Kann ich über den Alumni-Club WWU Münster einen Benutzungsausweis der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek (ULB) beantragen?
    Für Mitglieder des Alumni-Clubs gibt es keine Sonderkonditionen in der ULB. Die ULB ist jedoch offen für alle Bürger, so dass Sie einen Ausweis der Nutzergruppe S oder T dort beantragen können. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie auf der Homepage der ULB.