Zielgruppennavigation: 


Subproject 500

SP 500 - Sustainable agricultural management and adaptation strategies to climate change

Introduction - Objectives - Methods & Preliminary Results

Sign Pageup

Introduction


The southern part of the Oblast Tyumen is part of the forest steppe zone, where climatic conditions allow intensive farming especially for production of spring wheat. Arable land use concentrates on humus-rich Chernozems and is partially characterized by a low input of production means and moderate yields. The challenges of climate change and the expected intensification of land use for food production in Western Siberia require the development of strategies for sustainable agriculture. The aims of these strategies must protect both, the productivity of agricultural land and natural resources (soil, water, biodiversity).

ObjectivesSign Pageup


SP 500 aims to develop strategies for a sustainable agriculture and adaptation strategies to current climate change in the Oblast Tyumen. The structure and form of agricultural land use will be analyzed and effects of different forms of land use on productivity, carbon stocks, material flow and biodiversity will be investigated. Long-term experiments on different tillage variants will be analyzed in close cooperation with the Russian partners and concepts for an optimized management of material flow at regional level will be worked out. At farm level alternative production systems to usual methods are tested in close collaboration with a large local enterprise. Based on these results, concepts for the improvement of sustainable land-use practices shall be implemented.

Methods & Preliminary ResultsSign Pageup


SP 510 - Analysis and optimization of sustainable agricultural management practices on farm level

  • Analysis of agricultural structures in Tyumen region
  • Installation of large scale field trials on spring wheat production technology (tillage and seeding parameters)
  • Test cultivation of soy beans in Western Siberia
  • Improvement of strategies for sustainable agricultural land use on farm level

The spatial distribution of agricultural structures shows an increasing production intensity from north to south. Spring wheat is the most dominant crop, especially in intensively used areas. Crop production is usually limited by water supply in this region. During the last years there were more frequently crop failures because of extreme weather events.

Field trials were installed on the agricultural enterprise „ZAO Plemzavod Yubileyny“ in Ishim to identify sustainable crop production systems, which are able to provide long term stable yields, even under changing climate conditions. For three years different combinations of tillage and seeding operations are tested particularly with regard to water use efficiency. On 10 ha spring wheat is cultivated in completely randomized block design with 3 replications to demonstrate the potential of modern and precise technology compared to common practice.

SP 520 – Biodiversity and carbon stocks of arable land at different land-use intensities

Analysis of diversity and species composition of plant species on differently used agricultural fields and on abandoned land
Estimation of carbon stocks in soils of arable fields and abandoned fields of different age in selected test areas of the Oblast Tyumen
Development of an indicator system for the evaluation of agricultural land and ex-arable concerning their potential for agricultural production, carbon sequestration and biodiversity

First results showed that despite the low cropping intensity floral biodiversity was low and comparable with conditions known from regions with high input farming. More detailed analyses following the field work 2013 will reveal differences along the land-use and climatic gradient. Moreover we will quantify the contribution of arable weeds to total floristic diversity on landscape level.
Remarkably, croplands harvested species rich grasshopper assemblages, which even reproduced on the fields. This is a surprising result because croplands of temperate regions are not known as grasshopper habitats. Usually the disturbance through ploughing and other farming operations is so high that grasshopper cannot find suitable egg-laying sites in croplands.


SP 530 - Regional material-flow management for nutrients and organic carbon

  • Analysis of long-term field experiments on effects of different tillage and fertilization variants in respect to carbon and nutrient balances and soil quality
  • Modelling of organic carbon in arable fields to predict SOC stocks under changing climatic conditions
  • Comparison of soil characteristics of arable fields and non-arable sites to quantify changes due to arable land use in the topsoil
  • Regional analysis of livestock breeding and arable farming by-products for organic fertilization
  • Modeling of material-flow management at regional level

Initial studies of arable and non-arable land have shown that the soil structure significantly changes due to agricultural land use. Ploughing leads to strong clods formation. The granular content decreases, subangular blocky and angular blocky peds increase due to agricultural use. The bulk density of arable fields is higher than those of the non-arable sites.

For material flow management the nutrient accumulation per hectare of arable land from manure per district was calculated for the year 2011 (figure below). Remarkable are the high levels of nitrogen and livestock units in Tyumen district. 93% of the total poultry production in the province takes place in Tyumen district. Three large poultry farms and smaller farms kept in 2011, over 7 million animals. Also in the most northern district Uvat the N-accumulation due to manure with 226 kg N/ha of arable land is very high. The southern districts are dominated by plant production and have a rather low livestock density.

Contact

Contact

Prof. Dr. Dieter Trautz (SP 510) / Kathrin Kiehl (SP 520)
Hochschule Osnabrück
Fakultät Agrarwissenschaften und Landschaftsarchitektur
Postfach 1940
D- 49009 Osnabrück
Tel. : +49 (0) 541 969 5058 (Trautz) / +49 (0) 541 969 5042 (Kiehl)
Fax: +49 (0) 541 969 5205 (Trautz) / +49 (0) 541 969 5170 (Kiehl)
E-Mail: d.trautz@hs-osnabrueck.de / k.kiehl@hs-osnabrueck.de
Web (Trautz):http://www.al.hs-osnabrueck.de/9324+M58495982e7c.html
Web (Kiehl): http://www.al.hs-osnabrueck.de/kiehl.html

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Broll (SP 530)
Universität Osnabrück Institut für Geographie
Seminarstraße 19 a/b
D- 49074 Osnabrück
Tel. : +49 (0) 541 541 969 4073
Fax: +49 (0) 541 969 4333
E-Mail: gabriele.broll@uni-osnabrueck.de
Web: http://www.geographie.uni-osnabrueck.de/index.php?n=Mitarbeiter.Broll


SASCHA
...
...
...
...
...
...
...

Legal Disclosure | Privacy Statement | © 2019 SASCHA Project - Institute of Landscape Ecology
SASCHA Project
Heisenbergstr. 2
· D-48149 Münster
E-Mail:

Zielgruppennavigation: 


Teilprojekt 500

TP 500 - Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft

Einführung - Ziele - Methoden & Erste Ergebnisse

Sign Pageup

Einführung


Der südliche Teil des Oblast Tyumen gehört zur Waldsteppenzone und wird großflächig landwirtschaftlich genutzt, vor allem für den Anbau von Sommerweizen. Der Ackerbau findet überwiegend auf humusreichen Schwarzerden statt und zeichnet sich teilweise durch einen geringen Einsatz von Produktionsmitteln und moderate Erträge aus. Aufgrund des bereits stattfindenden Klimawandels und einer zu erwartenden Intensivierung der Landwirtschaft in Westsibirien ist es notwendig, Strategien für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft zu entwickeln. Diese Strategien müssen gleichzeitig die Produktivität der landwirtschaftlichen Flächen sichern und die natürlichen Ressourcen (Böden, Wasser, Biodiversität) schonen.

ZieleSign Pageup


Ziel von TP 500 ist, Strategien für eine nachhaltige landwirtschaftliche Nutzung und Anpassungsstrategien an den Klimawandel im Oblast Tjumen zu entwickeln. Dabei wird die derzeitige Landnutzung unter Berücksichtigung der Produktivität, Kohlenstoffvorräte, Stoffströme und der Biodiversität analysiert. In enger Kooperation mit den russischen Partnern werden Langzeitexperimente zu unterschiedlichen Bodenbearbeitungsvarianten hinsichtlich ihrer Kohlenstoff- und Nährstoffbilanzen analysiert und Konzepte für ein verbessertes Stoffstrommanagement auf regionaler Ebene erarbeitet. Auf Betriebsebene werden in Zusammenarbeit mit einem russischen Großbetrieb praxisnah Alternativen zur derzeitigen Getreideproduktion getestet. Auf Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse sollen Konzepte für eine verbesserte Landnutzung entwickelt und implementiert werden.

Methoden & Erste ErgebnisseSign Pageup


TP 510 - Analyse und Optimierung nachhaltiger landwirtschaftlicher Nutzungsstrategien auf Betriebsebene

  • Analyse der landwirtschaftlichen Strukturen in der Region Tjumen
  • Anlage großflächiger produktionstechnischer Feldversuche (Bodenbearbeitung, Aussaatparameter)
  • Experimente zur Anbauwürdigkeit von Soja in Westsibirien
  • Verbesserung nachhaltiger landwirtschaftlicher Nutzungsstrategien auf Betriebsebene

Die räumliche Verteilung der Agrarstruktur zeigt einen deutlichen Nord-Süd-Gradienten der Produktionsintensität. Dort, wo die Anteile der landwirtschaftlich genutzten Fläche am höchsten sind, dominiert der Anbau von Sommerweizen die Ackerflächen. Die Getreideproduktion in dieser Region ist in der Regel wasserlimitiert. Insbesondere in den vergangenen Jahren kam es aufgrund von Witterungsextremen häufiger zu Ernteeinbußen.

Zur Identifikation von nachhaltigen landwirtschaftlichen Produktionssystemen, die auch unter Klimawandelbedingungen langfristig stabile Erträge ermöglichen, finden Feldversuche unter Praxisbedingungen auf dem Betrieb ZAO Plemzavod Yubileyny in Ishim statt. Dort werden über drei Jahre unterschiedliche Kombinationen von Bodenbearbeitung und Aussaatparametern auf eine möglichst wassernutzungseffiziente Produktionstechnologie hin verglichen. Auf 10 ha steht Sommerweizen in dreifacher Wiederholung und vollständig randomisiertem Blockdesign, um die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von moderner und präziser Produktionstechnik im Vergleich zur betriebsüblichen Variante aufzuzeigen.


TP 520 – Biodiversität und Kohlenstoffvorräte von Ackerflächen unterschiedlicher Nutzungsintensität

Analyse der Diversität und Artenzusammensetzung der Wildpflanzenvegetation auf Ackerflächen unterschiedlicher Nutzungsintensität und Ackerbrachen unterschiedlichen Alters
Ermittlung der Kohlenstoffvorräte in den Böden von Ackerflächen und Brachen unterschiedlichen Alters in ausgewählten Testgebieten des Oblast Tyumen
Entwicklung eines Indikatorensystems für die Bewertung landwirtschaftlicher Flächen und Brachen hinsichtlich ihres Potentials für die landwirtschaftliche Produktion, Kohlenstoffspeicherung und Biodiversität

Trotz der vergleichsweise geringen ackerbaulichen Nutzungsintensität zeichnet sich die vorgefundene Ackerbeikrautvegetation durch eine geringe, mit der von Intensiväckern vergleichbare Diversität aus. Ausführlichere Analysen werden nach der 2. Geländesaison 2013 zeigen, wie sich die Beikrautvegetation entlang des Landnutzungs- und Klimagradienten unterscheidet, und wie hoch der Beitrag der Äcker zur gesamten floristischen Diversität auf Landschaftsebene einzuschätzen ist.
Überraschenderweise sind die Westsibirischen Äcker allerdings Lebensraum für arten- und individuenreiche Heuschreckengemeinschaften, die sich sogar vor Ort reproduzieren können. Für gewöhnlich ist die Störung durch die landwirtschaftliche Nutzung auf Ackerstandorten zu hoch, um Heuschrecken als Habitat zu dienen. Warum das in Westsibirien nicht der Fall ist, wird im weiteren Verlauf in Zusammenarbeit mit SP600 untersucht werden.


TP 530 - Regionales Stoffstrommanagement für Nährstoffe und organischen Kohlenstoff

  • Bodenkundliche Analyse von Langzeitversuchen zu unterschiedlichen Bodenbearbeitungs- und Düngungsvarianten hinsichtlich der Kohlenstoff- und Nährstoffbilanzen und der Bodenqualität
  • Modellierung der Kohlenstoffgehalte von Ackerböden unter verschiedenen Klimabedingungen
  • Vergleich von Bodeneigenschaften auf landwirtschaftlich genutzten und ungenutzten Standorten, um die Veränderungen im Oberboden durch landwirtschaftliche Nutzung zu quantifizieren
  • Regionale Analyse des Reststoffpotentials aus der Tierproduktion für die organische Düngung
  • Modellierung des Stoffstrommanagements auf regionaler Ebene

Erste Untersuchungen der landwirtschaftlich genutzten und ungenutzten Flächen haben ergeben, dass das Gefüge sich durch landwirtschaftliche Nutzung verändert. Das Pflügen führt zu starker Klumpenbildung. Die Krümelanteile nehmen ab, Subpolyeder- und Polyedergefüge nehmen durch landwirtschaftliche Nutzung zu. Die Lagerungsdichten der ackerbaulich genutzten Flächen sind höher als die der nicht genutzten Flächen.

Beim Stoffstrommanagement wurde der Nährstoffanfall/ha Ackerland aus dem Wirtschaftsdünger je Rajon für das Jahr 2011 berechnet (siehe Abbildung unten). Auffällig hoch sind die Stickstoffgehalte und Vieheinheiten im Tjumener Rajon. 93 % der Geflügelproduktion der gesamten Oblast findet in dem Tjumener Rajon statt. Drei große Geflügelfarmen und mehrere kleinere Betriebe hielten im Jahr 2011 über 7 Millionen Tiere. Auch im nördlichsten Rajon Uwat ist der N-Anfall aus dem Wirtschaftsdünger mit 226 kg N/ha Ackerland sehr hoch. Die südlichen Rajons werden durch den Ackerbau geprägt und weisen einen eher geringen Viehbesatz auf.

Kontakt

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Dieter Trautz (TP 510) / Kathrin Kiehl (TP 520)
Hochschule Osnabrück
Fakultät Agrarwissenschaften und Landschaftsarchitektur
Postfach 1940
D- 49009 Osnabrück
Tel. : +49 (0) 541 969 5058 (Trautz) / +49 (0) 541 969 5042 (Kiehl)
Fax: +49 (0) 541 969 5205 (Trautz) / +49 (0) 541 969 5170 (Kiehl)
E-Mail: d.trautz@hs-osnabrueck.de / k.kiehl@hs-osnabrueck.de
Web (Trautz): http://www.al.hs-osnabrueck.de/9324+M58495982e7c.html
Web (Kiehl): http://www.al.hs-osnabrueck.de/kiehl.html

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Broll (TP 530)
Universität Osnabrück Institut für Geographie
Seminarstraße 19 a/b
D- 49074 Osnabrück
Tel. : +49 (0) 541 541 969 4073
Fax: +49 (0) 541 969 4333
E-Mail: gabriele.broll@uni-osnabrueck.de
Web: http://www.geographie.uni-osnabrueck.de/index.php?n=Mitarbeiter.Broll


SASCHA
...
...
...
...
...
...
...

Impressum | Datenschutzhinweis | © 2019 SASCHA Projekt - Institut für Landschaftsökologie
SASCHA Projekt
Heisenbergstr. 2
· D-48149 Münster
E-Mail: