Holdings

The Library of Sports and Exercise Sciences of the University of Münster primarily serves to provide information for students and lecturers of sports and exercise sciences at the University of Münster, but as a public institution it is of course also open to all other people interested in sports and exercise sciences. It is a specialist library with holdings of about 45,000 media and over 70 current journals. About 500 books and media are acquired annually.

Lending (loan period: 2 weeks) is one of the library’s most important services, with over 15,000 loans per year.

Due to a limited library budget it is not possible to acquire all new publications in the field of sports and exercise sciences. An attempt is made to buy the most important German and international textbooks. The main focus of the library holdings is in the fields of sports history, sports psychology and sports practice.

The library’s media are systematically arranged according to subject areas and are freely accessible.

 

The Classification

For a better overview, we have divided the in-house classification into a version with just the main classes and a  complete version with all sub-items.

An explanation of the structure of the signatures and the systematic search can be found in our special information sheet.


Special Media and their Features

Audiovisual Media

DVDs, CD-ROMs and other media or accompanying materials for books are not placed on the shelves, but are stored in special cabinets at the issue desk. Like books, they can be searched in DISCO or the ULB catalogue and can usually be borrowed. If you are interested please inquire at the issue desk, stating the respective shelfmark.

Journals

All journals are listed in the ULB catalogue and DISCO. In addition, you will find an alphabetically sorted list of our journal holdings here. Please not that not all journals are available in full. Our journals are generally not borrowable.

Current issues of journals are kept in the journals display at the information desk before they are bound to volumes and can be picked up there for copying and scanning.

E-Books and E-Journals

The Library of Sports and Exercise Sciences has also been buying e-books and e-journals for several years. The purchase is categorically done as a campus license, which means that not only the Institute of Sports and Exercise Sciences but the entire campus of the WWU has access to the e-books and e-journals. This principle is applied throughout the WWU in order to be able to use the media in an interdisciplinary way.

All digital media are searchable via DISCO and the ULB catalogue. A large part of the digitally available articles can also be searched via DISCO. Please note: The use of a location filter (e.g. restricting DISCO to the location Sports and Exercise Sciences) suppresses the display of the e-media.

In order to use the full texts from e-media and databases outside the WWU network, you also need to install the VPN client.

Books and Journals in the Archive

Books and journals in the library’s archive are separated on the basis of their age or condition. They can be used within the library during opening hours. Borrowing is generally not possible. Copying and scanning may be possible in individual cases. Please ask at the issue desk if necessary.

Module Literature and Reserved Reading Shelves

The basic and exam literature for the subject of sports and exercise sciences is always made available in the library in several copies. One copy of each title is located on the shelf for the module literature in the group study room and cannot be borrowed. This ensures that at least one copy of the most important books is always available in the library. In the ULB catalogue the corresponding volumes are marked with the note “Modul-Lit.” On the shelf a so-called deputy refers to the special location.

The basic literature for individual courses is compiled in the Reserved Reading Shelves. These books cannot be borrowed. As a rule, additional copies are available for loan. On the shelf a so-called deputy refers to the special location.

Course-accompanying Media

Media provided by the lecturers for specific courses, such as videos on sports practice or internal scripts for downloading, are made available on the media PC in the large group study room.

Bestand

Die Bibliothek Sportwissenschaft der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität dient in erster Linie der Informationsvermittlung für Studierende und Lehrende der Fachrichtung Sportwissenschaft an der Universität Münster, steht als öffentliche Einrichtung natürlich aber auch allen anderen sportwissenschaftlich Interessierten offen. Sie ist eine Fachbibliothek mit ca. 45.000 Medien Bestand, über 70 laufenden Zeitschriften und einem jährlichen Zugang von etwa 500 Büchern und anderen Medien.

Die Ausleihe (Leihfrist: 1 Woche) ist mit über 15.000 Ausleihen im Jahr mit die wichtigste Dienstleistung der Bibliothek.

Auf Grund eines begrenzten Bibliotheksetats ist es nicht möglich, alle Neuerscheinungen im Bereich der Sportwissenschaft zu erwerben. Es wird versucht, die wesentlichen deutsch- und fremdsprachigen Fachbücher zu kaufen. Die Schwerpunkte des Bibliotheksbestandes liegen in den Bereichen Sportgeschichte, Sportpsychologie und Sportpraxis.

Die Medien der Bibliothek sind systematisch nach Fachgebieten geordnet und  frei zugänglich aufgestellt.

Die Systematik

Zur besseren Übersicht haben wir die hauseigene Systematik in eine Version nach Hauptbereichen und in eine vollständige Version mit allen Unterpunkten aufgeteilt.

Eine Erläuterung zum Aufbau der Signaturen und der systematischen Suche finden Sie in unserem speziellen Merkblatt.

 

Spezielle Medien und ihre Besonderheiten

Audiovisuelle-Medien

DVDs, CD-ROMs und andere Medien oder Begleitmaterialien zu Büchern werden nicht in den Regalen des Buchbestandes eingestellt, sondern in speziellen Schränken an der Aufsichts-Theke gelagert. Sie sind wie Bücher in DISCO oder ULB-Katalog suchbar und in der Regel ausleihbar. Bitte fragen Sie bei Interesse unter Angabe der jeweiligen Signatur an der Info-Theke nach.

Zeitschriften

Alle Zeitschriften sind über den ULB-Katalog und Disco nachgewiesen. Zusätzlich finden Sie hier eine alphabetisch sortierte Liste unseres Zeitschriftenbestandes. Bitte beachten Sie hierbei die Jahresangaben des Bestandes – nicht alle Zeitschriften liegen vollständig vor. Unsere Zeitschriften sind grundsätzlich nicht ausleihbar.

Aktuelle Zeitschriften-Hefte werden vor ihrer Bindung zu Jahrgangsbänden in der Zeitschriften-Auslage an der Info-Theke aufbewahrt und können dort zum Kopieren oder Scannen abgeholt werden.

E-Books und E-Journals

Die Bibliothek Sportwissenschaft kauft seit einigen Jahren auch E-Books und E-Journals. Der Einkauf erfolgt grundsätzlich als Campus-Lizenz, was bedeutet, dass nicht nur das Institut für Sportwissenschaft sondern der gesamte Campus der WWU Zugriff auf das E-Book bzw. das E-Journal hat. Dieses Prinzip wird an der gesamten WWU angewandt, um die Medien fächerübergreifend nutzen zu können.

Alle elektronischen Medien sind über DISCO und den ULB-Katalog suchbar. Über DISCO kann auch ein großer Teil der elektronisch verfügbaren Aufsätze recherchiert werden. Bitte beachten Sie: Die Benutzung eines Standortfilters (z.B. das Eingrenzen in DISCO auf den Standort Sportwissenschaft) unterdrückt die Darstellung der E-Medien.

Zur Nutzung der Volltexte aus E-Medien und Datenbanken benötigen Sie außerhalb des WWU-Netzes zusätzlich die Installation des VPN-Clients. 

Archiv-Bücher und –Zeitschriften

Bücher und Zeitschriften im Archiv der Bibliothek sind auf Grund ihres Alters oder Zustands separiert. Sie können während der Öffnungszeiten innerhalb der Bibliotheksräume genutzt werden. Eine Ausleihe ist grundsätzlich nicht möglich. Kopieren und Scannen kann in Einzelfällen möglich sein. Bitte fragen Sie bei Bedarf an der Info-Theke nach.

Modul-Literatur und Seminar-Apparate

Die Grundlagen- und Prüfungsliteratur der Fachrichtung Sportwissenschaft wird in der Bibliothek immer in mehreren Exemplaren zur Verfügung gestellt. Ein Exemplar jeden Titels wird im Regal der Modul-Literatur im Gruppenarbeitsraum eingestellt und ist nicht ausleihbar. So wird gewährleistet, dass die wichtigsten Bücher mindestens in einem Exemplar jederzeit in der Bibliothek zur Verfügung stehen. Im ULB-Katalog werden die entsprechenden Bände mit dem Hinweis „Modul-Lit. ...“ gekennzeichnet. Im Regal verweist ein sogenannter Stellvertreter auf den besonderen Standort.

Die grundlegende Literatur zu einzelnen Veranstaltungen wird im Regal Seminar-Apparate zusammengestellt. Diese Bücher sind nicht ausleihbar. In der Regel stehen weitere Exemplare zur Ausleihe zur Verfügung. Im Regal verweist ein sogenannter Stellvertreter auf den besonderen Standort.  

Seminarbegleitende Medien

Medien, die von den Dozent*innen zur bestimmten Veranstaltungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden, wie z.B. Videos zur Sportpraxis oder interne Skripte zum Download, werden auf dem Medien-PC im großen Gruppenarbeitsraum zur Verfügung gestellt.