OPON 2018


University of Münster, 14-16 February 2018

The 5th International Workshop on the Optical Properties of Nanostructures (OPON2018) will take place in Münster. The workshop is a continuation of the highly successful workshops that were held in Wrocław, Münster and Bayreuth. The purpose of the series of workshops is the exchange of ideas related to theoretical and experimental work in the field of optical properties of nanostructures and other solid state systems.
  • Invited Speakers

    • Manfred Bayer (Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany)


    • Andrés Castellanos-Gómez (Instituto de Ciencias de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC, Spain)

    "Naturally occuring van der Waals heterostructures"

    • Elena del Valle (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)


    • Fabrizio Dolcini (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)

    "Photoexcitation of electron wavepackets in 2D topological insulators"

    • Mark Fox (University of Sheffield, UK)


    • Jacek Kasprzak (Institut Neél, CNRS Grenoble, France)

    "Coherent spectroscopy of nanostructures: where should we go from here?"

    • Andreas Knorr (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)

    "Exciton Based Description of Atomically Thin Materials: Optical Lineshape, Intervalley Coupling and Luminescence Dynamics"

    • Piotr Kossacki (Uniwersytet Warszawski, Poland)


    • Hubert Krenner (Universität Augsburg, Germany)


    • Markus Lippitz (Universität Bayreuth, Germany)

    "Nonlinear plasmonics"

    • Steffen Michaelis de Vasconcellos (Universität Münster, Germany)


    • Gloria Platero (Instituto de Ciencias de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC, Spain)


    • Stephan Reitzenstein (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)


    • Michael Rohlfing (Universität Münster, Germany)


    • Katarzyna Roszak (Institute of Physics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague & Politechnika Wrocławska, Poland)


    • Marcin Syperek (Politechnika Wrocławska, Poland)

    "Exciton confinement regime in InAs/InP quantum dots devoted to telecom applications"

    • Alexei Vagov (Universität Bayreuth, Germany)

    "Spatial non-locality and superanomalous skin efect for surface plasmon-polaritons"

    • Michał Zieliński (Nicolaus Copernicus University Toruń, Poland)


  • Registration and Fees

    • Participation in the workshop is by invitation/recommendation only. We will provide coffee breaks and lunches. The conference fee will be announced soon.

  • Committees

    • Organizing Committee
      • Tilmann Kuhn
      • Rudolf Bratschitsch
      • Doris Reiter
      • Daniel Wigger
      • Steffen Michaelis de Vasconcellos
      • Anja Vocke
      • Sandra Lühn
      • Elisa Paschert
      • Daniel Ebbeler
    • Program Committee
      • Tilmann Kuhn
      • Paweł Machnikowski
      • Vollrath Martin Axt
      • Rudolf Bratschitsch
      • Doris Reiter

  • Venue & Accommodation


    • We will take care of the hotel reservations for the invited speakers.
    All other participants should book their accommodation by themselves. You may find available hotel rooms on booking platforms like booking.com, hrs.de, expedia.de or airbnb.de. In addition, there are some budget accommodations (hostels) in Münster:

    If you need any help or advice concerning accommodation, don't hesitate to contact us via OPON2018@wwu.de.


    • Venue: The Sessions of the workshop will be held at the physics building IG1, Lecture hall HS 2, Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße 10, 48149 Münster
    • Lunch: Mensa am Ring
    • Directions

  • Program

    • The workshop will start on Wednesday at 9 am and we will close the workshop on Friday lunchtime. Details will be announced soon.

  • Abstract Templates (submission deadline: 15 December 2017)

  • Practical Information

    • The workshop will take place at the physics institute of the University of Münster in lecture hall HS2. See the map of the campus.
    • Lunches and coffee breaks are provided free of charge during the three days for all the participants of the workshop. Lunches will be served at the Mensa. Coffee breaks will be organized in the space adjacent to the lecture hall (near the poster space).
    • City buses usually depart every 20 minutes. Following lines bring you from the city center to the bus stop “Coesfelder Kreuz”:
      • 1 to Roxel Bahnhof
      • 5 to Nienberge Hannaschweg
      • 11 to Dieckmannstraße
      • 22 to Heekweg
      • 34 Ringlinie
      • and to "Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße": 13 to Technologiehof