Collaborations

Affiliated institutes

The so-called affiliated institutes form the link between the university and the working world. They are independent institutions, externally funded, and they maintain close links with the research being carried out in the university’s departments. They are also involved in training young researchers.

Academy of Manual Medicine [de]

Center for Hospital Management [de]

Ehrenpreis Centre for Swift Studies

Freiherr vom Stein Institute [de]

Institute of Applied Information Technology [de]

Institute of Education in Psychological Psychotherapy [de]

Institute for Comparative Urban History [de]

Institute of Customs and International Trade Law

Institute of Westphalian Church History [de]

Central Institute of Spatial Planning [de]

Research Institute for Philosophy of Law [de]

© Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine

The Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine is a research institute run by the Max Planck Society to promote science. The international team consists of more than 150 researchers from around 15 countries. They include biologists, physicians and physicists.

The International Max Planck Research School- Molecular Biomedicine (IMPRS-MB), a cooperation between Münster University and the institute, is especially worthy of mention. Teaching is coordinated closely with the Graduate School for "Cell Dynamics and Disease" (CEDAD) which is funded jointly by Münster University and the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Max Planck Institute
International Max Planck Research School - Molecular Biomedicine

Logo of the Helmholtz Association
© Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

Helmholtz-Institute Münster

The “Helmholtz Institute Münster” (HI MS) was established in 2013 by the University of Münster as part of a research alliance with the Forschungszentrum Jülich and RWTH Aachen University. The researchers at the HI MS investigate electrochemical energy storage systems as an essential prerequisite for developing innovative energy strategies, for example, in the field of electromobility. Particularly noteworthy is the close partnership between HI MS and the Battery Research Center MEET of the University of Münster which have been jointly collaborating in cutting-edge energy storage research since 2011.

The HI MS is the seventh Helmholtz Institute in Germany. The institutes appoint their own head researchers in consultation with their partner universities. Through such joint research endeavours conducted in cooperation with local and supraregional partner institutions, the Helmholtz Institutes become centres of excellence in their respective scientific field. The Helmholtz Association is Germany’s largest research organisation with almost 34,000 employees, 18 research centres and an annual budget of some 3.8 billion euros.

Helmholtz-Institute Münster

Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology (IME)

The Fraunhofer Society is the largest organization in Europe for applications-related research. It runs 59 Fraunhofer Institutes at locations throughout Germany, as well as maintaining branches in Europe, the USA, South America, Asia and the Middle East. The University of Münster houses a branch of the Fraunhofer Institute of Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology.

One focus area of the Fraunhofer Institute of Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology (IME) is the production of proteins used in pharmaceuticals. New types of plant-based processes are to be developed in Münster for the large-scale production of pharmaceutically effective proteins. One other focus area of Münster’s branch of the Fraunhofer Institute is the research topic of bio-polymers.

Fraunhofer Institute

University of Twente logo

Münster & Twente: a cross-border European university partnership

The partnership between the Universities of Münster and Twente (Netherlands) offers benefits for both sides. Basic research meets research geared towards practical applications, joint courses of study broaden the students' horizons and associate professorships make academic exchanges possible.

University of Twente

Kooperationen

Logo der Max Planck-Gesellschaft
© Max-Planck-Gesellschaft

Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin

Das Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für molekulare Biomedizin ist eine Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften. Das internationale Team besteht aus mehr als 150 Forschern aus rund 15 Nationen, darunter Biologen, Mediziner und Physiker.

Besonders nennenswert ist die "International Max Planck Research School - Molecular Biomedicine" (IMPRS-MB), eine Kooperation zwischen der Uni Münster und dem MPI. Die Lehrveranstaltungen werden eng mit der Graduate School "Cell Dynamics and Disease" (CEDAD) koordiniert, das gemeinsam von der Uni Münster und dem Land Nordrhein-Westfalen getragen wird.

International Max Planck Research School - Molecular Biomedicine

Logo der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft
© Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

Helmholtz-Institut Münster

Das "Helmholtz-Institut Münster: Ionenleiter für Energiespeicher (IEK-12 / HI MS)" wurde 2013 gegründet und ist eine Kooperation des Forschungszentrums Jülich und der Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen (RWTH) mit der Universität Münster. Die Forscher des Instituts untersuchen elektrochemische Energiespeichersysteme als eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für neue Energiestrategien – beispielsweise im Bereich der Elektromobilität. Besonders nennenswert ist die enge Kooperation zwischen dem HI MS und dem Batterieforschungszentrum MEET der WWU, das sich bereits seit 2011 mit dem Zukunftsthema der Energiespeicherung beschäftigt.

Das HI MS ist das siebte Helmholtz-Institut. Die Institute berufen ihre leitenden Wissenschaftler gemeinsam mit der Partneruniversität. Über die Vernetzung der gemeinsamen Forschung mit einschlägigen Partnerinstitutionen vor Ort und überregional entwickeln sich die Helmholtz-Institute zu Schwerpunktzentren auf ihrem wissenschaftlichen Gebiet. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft ist mit fast 34.000 Mitarbeitern in 18 Forschungszentren und einem Jahresbudget von rund 3,8 Milliarden Euro die größte Wissenschaftsorganisation Deutschlands.

Logo of the Fraunhofer FFB
© Fraunhofer Gesellschaft

Fraunhofer-Einrichtung Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle FFB

An der deutschlandweit einmaligen Fraunhofer-Einrichtung Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle FFB ist das MEET Batterieforschungszentrum der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Produktionstechnologie IPT, weiteren Instituten der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft sowie der RWTH Aachen beteiligt.

Die entstehende Fraunhofer FFB in Münster soll zum europäischen Leuchtturm für die Batteriezellproduktion werden und die dringend benötigte Brücke zwischen Forschung und Serienproduktion schlagen.

Logo des Fraunhofer IME

Fraunhofer-Institut für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Ökologie (IME)

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft ist die größte Organisation für anwendungsorientierte Forschung in Europa. Sie betreibt 59 Fraunhofer-Institute an Standorten in ganz Deutschland, dazu kommen Niederlassung in Europa, den USA, Südamerika, Asien und im Nahen Osten. Die Universität Münster ist Außenstelle des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Ökologie.

Ein Schwerpunkt des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Molekularbiologie und Angewandte Ökologie (IME) ist die Herstellung pharmazeutisch eingesetzter Proteine. In Münster sollen neuartige pflanzenbasierte Verfahren entwickelt werden, um pharmazeutisch wirksame Proteine in größerem Maßstab zu produzieren. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der münsterschen Fraunhofer-Außenstelle ist das Forschungsthema "Biopolymere".

University of Twente Logo

Münster & Twente: Eine grenzüberschreitende europäische Partnerschaft

Die Partnerschaft zwischen den Universitäten Münster und Twente (Niederlande) bringt Vorteil für beide Seiten. Grundlagenforschung trifft auf Forschung, die auf praktische Anwendung ausgerichtet ist. Gemeinsame Kurse erweitern den Horizont der Studierenden und Gastprofessuren erleichtern den akademischen Austausch zwischen beiden Universitäten.