FAQ about SelfService portal

Click here to go to the SelfService portal.

  • 1. What does it mean when my request status shows "To be verified", "Preliminarily Excluded" or "Approved"?

    To be verified: Your request has been received and is being reviewed by the Student Admissions Office.

    Approved: Your request/ re-registration has been processed and approved. You can now access your updated certificates under the heading request form "Re-registration/ Enrolment".

    Preliminary Excluded: There is something you must do before processing can continue:

    • Your semester fee has not been received (in full). You can check your account balance under the tab "Fees".
    • A hold has been issued (see FAQ no. 2).
    • We are waiting for you to upload additional documents.

    Please note: If you have paid your balance in full and there is no hold, it can take up to one day before you can download your (updated) certificates.

  • 2. Why have I received a hold?

    Holds are being issued by the Student Admissions office in case there are missing documents which still have to be handed in or there is other action required from your side. We therefore differentiate between print stops and a block for re-registration.

    Print stops cause a block of your ability to download documents and your VGM/ NRW semester ticket. These functions will only be unblocked after you handed in any missing documents for your enrolment or change of degree programme (eg. proof of health insurance, a certificate of de-registration from your former German university or certified copies of your degree certificates), or we have successfully changed your degree programme from a completed or expired degree programme into a new/different one. In general, you have been informed by us per post or email about which documents is/ are missing, or you have received an email saying that your necessary change of degree programme has been undertaken by the Student Admissions Office. In case this did not happen, please contact the Student Admissions Office via studentadministration@wwu.de and make sure to provide your student ID number.

    A block for re-registration will be issued if, for example, your trial programme has expired, your enrolment has only been temporary or you have successfully completed your degree programme. Generally, you will be informed via email to your WWU-email-account two weeks before the re-registration period starts about how to proceed and which further steps are required from your side.

    Please note that if you are "Preliminarily Excluded", this is not considered a hold but a status! (see FAQ point 1).

  • 3. How do I grant direct-debit authorisation for the semester fee? / How do I set up a SEPA mandate for the semester fee?

    On the Self-Service portal, click on Requests -> Create Request -> Management > SEPA direct debit authorisation. Enter your IBAN and click "Submit". On that page you will find further details on the debiting procedure, how to cancel authorisation and make changes to your SEPA mandate.

  • 4. How do I change my name?

    If you wish to change or correct your name, log onto the Self-Service portal and click on Requests -> Create Request -> Management > Change of Name. On the request form you will see the data you have previously provided. Enter the changes and upload a certificate confirming your name change (e.g. marriage certificate, personal ID card) by clicking on the menu tab "Attachments". Then click "Submit".

    Your request will now be reviewed by the Student Admissions Office (see FAQ no. 1). We can issue you a new student ID card upon request, which you can either pick up in person or have sent to you by post.

  • 5. How do I change my address or telephone number?

    To make changes to your address or telephone number, log into the SelfService portal and click on Requests -> Create request -> Management > Address, or alternatively Management > Phone number.

    On the request form you will see the data you have previously provided. Enter the changes and then click "Submit". Your data will be automatically updated.

  • 6. How do I make changes to my health insurance status?

    You are obliged to notify us of any changes to your health insurance status. Please log onto the Self-Service portal and click on Requests -> Create Request -> Management > Health insurance.

    If you have statutory health insurance, select "Statutory health insurance" as the type of health insurance, enter your health insurance number and the registration number. If you are privately insured or are covered by a foreign insurer, please select "Permanently exempt".

    Click the menu tab "Attachments" to upload your health insurance certificate. If you selected "Statutory health insurance", upload the insurance certificate stating your health insurance number and the registration number. If you are "Permanently exempt", upload confirmation from a statutory health insurance provider that you are indeed exempt, do not need, or are not required to take out a statutory insurance policy. Then click "Submit".

    Your request will now be reviewed by the Student Admissions Office (see FAQ no. 1).

  • 7. How do I request a leave of absence?

    If you want to request a leave of absence, log onto the Self-Service portal and click on Requests -> Create Request -> Studies > Leave of absence. In the drop-down menu under the tab "Request form", select the applicable options, then read and confirm that you understand the information. Under the menu tab "Attachments", upload the required certificate, then click "Submit".

    Your request will now be reviewed by the Student Admissions Office (see FAQ no. 1).

  • 8. How do I de-register from a degree programme?

    If you wish to submit a request to de-register, log onto the Self-Service portal and click on Requests -> Create Request -> Studies > De-registration. In the drop-down menu under the tab "Request form", select the applicable options, then read and confirm that you understand the information. Under the menu tab "Attachments", upload the required certificate (if applicable), then click "Submit".

    Your request will now be reviewed by the Student Admissions Office (see FAQ no. 1).

  • 9. How do I cancel the enrolment for one of my degree programmes?

    If you wish to submit a request to cancel the enrolment for one of your degree programmes, log onto the Self-Service portal and click on Requests -> Create Request -> Studies > Cancellation of enrolment for a degree programme. In the drop-down menu under the tab "Request form", select the applicable options, then read and confirm that you understand the information. Under the menu tab "Attachments", upload the required certificate (if applicable), then click "Submit".

    Your request will now be reviewed by the Student Admissions Office (see FAQ no. 1).

  • 10. Where can I find my BAföG and semester certificates?

    Log into the SelfService portal and click on Requests. Any requests you have made since January 2019 will be shown here. Along with the reminder to re-register for the summer semester 2019, you will also find the re-registration request form. As soon as you have paid your semester fee, you will be able to download your BAföG and semester certificates under the menu tab "Documents".

    If you need a semester certificate from an earlier semester, please contact the Student Admissions Office via email to studentadministration@wwu.de and include your student ID number. In your email, indicate from which semester(s) you need a certificate.

  • 11. How do I get certificates in English language, study progress certificate, or certificates which include my student ID number?

    Please contact us via email to studentadministration@wwu.de (please use your WWU-email-account for this). Please enclose your student ID number and some information on which certificate/ document you need and for which semester. We will then send the required document to you as a pdf.

  • 12. Where do I find my VGM/ NRW semester ticket and my semester ticket for cultural events?

    You will have access to your VGM/ NRW semester ticket and your semester ticket for cultural events via the SelfService portal by clicking on "semester tickets" after you have successfully re-registered for the next semester. Your tickets will be made available one month before the next semester begins (beginning of March for a summer semester and beginning of September for a winter semester), provided there is no hold registered for you in the system (see FAQ point 2).

    Those students who will start their studies in their first semester are eligible to use their VGM/ NRW semester ticket one month prior to its stated validity. Therefore, you have to prove that you are a student in your first semester through a semester certificate. For this month, your ticket is only valid for regional transport. Please contact the AStA for further questions on the area of validity of the VGM/ NRW semester ticket.

    In case you encounter any problems with the download of your tickets, please try the following:

    • De-activate any pop-up-blockers
    • Re-start your computer
    • Delete your browser history and empty your cache
    • If you use the Firefox browser, try to “recreate your last tab”
    • Try using a diffent device or browser.

    For the download of your VGM/ NRW semester ticket you can also use the direct link of the Deutsche Bahn: www.ots-nrw.de (you will have to register in order to use this link).

    In case you tried all of the above and still encounter some problems, please take a screen shot of the error and send it via email to studentadministration@wwu.de. Please make sure to enclose your student ID number.

  • 13. What can I do if I encounter technical problems or error messages?

    Most error messages can be resolved by deactivating your popup-blocker, clearing your cache and restarting your browser, or by using a different browser. If you continue receiving an error message which is not "Invalid access" (in this case, you find further information directly under the error message), please send us an email with your student ID number and a screen shot to studierendenverwaltung@wwu.de.

    I use Firefox, and I can't open the "Fees" tab:
    Click on the "Fees" tab with your mouse and then confirm by pressing the Enter key. The tab should open now.

    I use a tablet with an external keyboard, and I can't open the "Fees" tab:
    Even of you work with an external keyboard, you have to activate the tabs via your touchscreen.

FAQ zum SelfService

  • 1. Was bedeuten die Antragsstatus „Zu prüfen“, „Vorläufig ausgeschlossen“ und „Freigegeben“?

    Zu prüfen: Ihr Antrag ist eingegangen und wird vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft.

    Freigegeben: Ihr Antrag/Ihre Rückmeldung wurde bearbeitet und freigegeben. Ihre aktuellen Bescheinigungen können Sie unter dem Antrag Rückmeldung/Immatrikulation abrufen.

    Vorläufig ausgeschlossen: Es ist noch eine Aktion Ihrerseits erforderlich:

    • Der Semesterbeitrag wurde noch nicht (vollständig) überwiesen. Ihren Kontostand können Sie auf dem Reiter Gebühren einsehen.
    • Es liegt ein Sperrvermerk (siehe FAQ Punkt 2) vor.
    • Es sind noch Dokumente hochzuladen.

    Hinweis: Wenn Ihre Gebühren bereits ausgeglichen sind und kein Sperrvermerk vorliegt, wird es einen Tag dauern, bis Sie Ihre (aktualisierten) Bescheinigungen herunterladen können und sich Ihr Status auf "freigegeben" ändert.

  • 2. Wieso besitze ich einen Sperrvermerk?

    Sie können aus unterschiedlichen Gründen einen Sperrvermerk erhalten. Die häufigsten Sperrvermerke sind:

    Druck blockieren: Es fehlen noch Unterlagen von Ihnen. In der Regel haben Sie von uns per Post eine Mitteilung über die nachzureichenden Unterlagen erhalten. Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, melden Sie sich bitte unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer beim Studierendensekretariat (studierendensekretariat@wwu.de).

    KV ungeklärt: Ihre Krankenversicherung ist noch ungeklärt. Bitte laden Sie Ihren Nachweis über Ihre Krankenversicherung so schnell wie möglich hoch: Meine Anträge > Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) > Verwaltung > Krankenversicherung.

    Wegen Abschluss: Sie haben Ihr Studium abgeschlossen und müssen sich gemäß Einschreibungsordnung [de] aus dem abgeschlossenen Studiengang exmatrikulieren. Sollten Sie eine Änderung Ihres Studiengangs zum nächsten Semester beantragen wollen, so teilen Sie dies bitte dem Studierendensekretariat unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer per E-Mail (studierendensekretariat@wwu.de) mit.

    Falls Sie noch für einen weiteren Studiengang eingeschrieben sind und diesen fortsetzen wollen, müssen Sie im SelfService unter Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Studium > Streichung die Streichung des abgeschlossenen Studiengangs beantragen.

  • 3. Wie erteile ich eine Einzugsermächtigung für den Semesterbeitrag? / Wie lege ich ein SEPA-Mandat für den Semesterbeitrag an?

    Klicken Sie im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Verwaltung > SEPA-Mandat. Geben Sie Ihre IBAN ein und klicken auf „Absenden“. Nähere Informationen zur Abbuchung, zum Widerruf und zur Änderung Ihres SEPA-Mandates finden Sie dort ebenfalls.

  • 4. Wie ändere ich meinen Namen?

    Für eine Namensänderung oder Namenskorrektur klicken Sie im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Verwaltung > Vor- und Zuname. Im Antragsformular sehen Sie die bereits hinterlegten Daten. Geben Sie Ihre Änderungen ein und laden Sie auf dem Reiter „Anlagen“ einen Nachweis über die Namensänderung (z. B. Heiratsurkunde, Personalausweis) hoch. Klicken Sie auf „Absenden“.

    Ihr Antrag wird nun vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft (siehe FAQ Punkt 1). Eine neue Studierendenkarte können Sie persönlich oder postalisch im Studierendensekretariat anfordern.

  • 5. Wie ändere ich meine Adresse oder meine Telefonnummer?

    Für eine Adressänderung oder Änderung Ihrer Telefonnummer klicken Sie im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Verwaltung > Adresse bzw. Verwaltung > Festnetz- und Mobiltelefonnummer.
    Im Antragsformular sehen Sie die bereits hinterlegten Daten. Geben Sie Ihre Änderungen ein und klicken Sie auf „Absenden“. Ihre Daten werden nun automatisch aktualisiert.

  • 6. Wie teile ich die Änderung meiner Krankenversicherung mit?

    Wenn sich die Daten Ihrer Krankenversicherung geändert haben, müssen Sie uns dies mitteilen. Klicken Sie dazu im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Verwaltung > Krankenversicherung.

    Wenn Sie gesetzlich versichert sind, wählen Sie bitte „KV-Pflichtig“ als Krankenversicherungsart aus und geben Ihre Versicherungsnummer und die Betriebsnummer der Krankenkasse ein. Sind Sie privat oder im Ausland versichert, so wählen Sie bitte „Dauerbefreit“ aus.

    Auf dem Reiter „Anlagen“ laden Sie bitte einen Nachweis Ihrer Krankenversicherung hoch (KV-pflichtig: Versicherungsbescheinigung mit Angabe der Versicherungs- und Betriebsnummer; Dauerbefreit: Bescheinigung einer gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung, dass Sie von der gesetzlichen Versicherungspflicht befreit, versicherungsfrei oder nicht versicherungspflichtig sind). Klicken Sie auf „Absenden“.

    Ihr Antrag wird nun vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft (siehe FAQ Punkt 1).

  • 7. Wie stelle ich einen Antrag auf Beurlaubung?

    Wenn Sie einen Antrag auf Beurlaubung stellen möchten, klicken Sie dazu im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Studium > Beurlaubung. Wählen Sie auf dem Reiter „Antragsformular“ in den Drop-Down-Feldern die für Sie passenden Angaben aus, lesen und bestätigen Sie die Kenntnisnahmen. Auf dem Reiter „Anlagen“ laden Sie bitte den geforderten Nachweis hoch. Klicken Sie auf „Absenden“.

    Ihr Antrag wird nun vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft (siehe FAQ Punkt 1).

  • 8. Wie stelle ich einen Antrag auf Exmatrikulation?

    Wenn Sie einen Antrag auf Exmatrikulation stellen möchten, klicken Sie dazu im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Studium > Exmatrikulation. Wählen Sie auf dem Reiter „Antragsformular“ in den Drop-Down-Feldern die für Sie passenden Angaben aus, lesen und bestätigen Sie die Kenntnisnahmen. Auf dem Reiter „Anlagen“ laden Sie bitte den ggf. geforderten Nachweis hoch. Klicken Sie auf „Absenden“.

    Ihr Antrag wird nun vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft (siehe FAQ Punkt 1).

  • 9. Wie stelle ich einen Antrag auf Streichung eines Studiengangs? (beim Studium mehrerer Studiengänge)

    Wenn Sie einen Antrag auf Streichung eines Studiengangs stellen möchten, klicken Sie dazu im SelfService auf Meine Anträge -> Antrag stellen (siehe unten links im SelfService) -> Studium > Streichung eines Studiengangs. Wählen Sie auf dem Reiter „Antragsformular“ in den Drop-Down-Feldern die für Sie passenden Angaben aus, lesen und bestätigen Sie die Kenntnisnahmen. Auf dem Reiter „Anlagen“ laden Sie bitte den ggf. geforderten Nachweis hoch. Klicken Sie auf „Absenden“.

    Ihr Antrag wird nun vom Studierendensekretariat geprüft (siehe FAQ Punkt 1).

  • 10. Wo finde ich meine BAföG- und Semesterbescheinigungen?

    Melden Sie sich im SelfService an und klicken Sie auf Meine Anträge. Haben Sie seit Januar 2019 einen Antrag gestellt, können Sie diesen dort einsehen. Mit der Rückmeldeaufforderung für das Sommersemester 2019 finden Sie auch den Antrag Rückmeldung hier. Sobald Sie den Semesterbeitrag gezahlt haben, finden Sie auf dem Reiter „Dokumente“ eine BAföG- und Semesterbescheinigung.

    Wenn Sie zum Sommersemester 2019 das Studium an der WWU Münster neu aufgenommen haben, können Sie unter dem Antrag Immatrikulation auf dem Reiter „Dokumente“ eine BAföG- und Semesterbescheinigung herunterladen.

    Sollten Sie Semesterbescheinigungen aus früheren Semestern benötigen, senden Sie dem Studierendensekretariat unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer eine E-Mail (studierendensekretariat@wwu.de). Bitte geben Sie an, für welches Semester Sie eine Bescheinigung benötigen und ob eine postalische Zusendung oder ein PDF per E-Mail gewünscht ist.

  • 11. Wo erhalte ich englischsprachige Bescheinigungen?

    Senden Sie dem Studierendensekretariat unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer eine E-Mail (studierendensekretariat@wwu.de). Bitte geben Sie an, für welches Semester Sie welche Bescheinigung benötigen und ob eine postalische Zusendung oder ein PDF per E-Mail gewünscht ist.

  • 12. Wo erhalte ich Semesterbescheinigungen mit Matrikelnummer?

    Senden Sie dem Studierendensekretariat unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer eine E-Mail (studierendensekretariat@wwu.de). Bitte geben Sie an, für welches Semester Sie die Semesterbescheinigung  mit Matrikelnummer benötigen und ob eine postalische Zusendung oder ein PDF per E-Mail gewünscht ist.

  • 13. Was kann ich bei technischen Problemen und Fehlermeldungen machen?

    Häufig lassen sich Fehlermeldungen beheben, indem sie Ihren Pop-Up-Blocker deaktivieren, Ihren Cache leeren und den Browser neu starten oder einen anderen Browser verwenden. Wenn Ihnen danach immer noch eine Fehlermeldung angezeigt wird, die nicht "Ungültiger Zugang" (hier finden Sie direkt unter der Fehlermeldung Informationen zum weiteren Vorgehen) lautet, schicken Sie bitte unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer einen Screenshot an studierendensekretariat@wwu.de.

    Ich nutze Firefox und kann den Tab Gebühren nicht öffnen:
    Klicken Sie mit der Maus auf den Tab Gebühren und bestätigen Sie danach mit Enter/Eingabe. Nun sollte sich der Tab öffnen.

    Ich arbeite mit einem Tablet und externer Tastatur und kann den Tab Gebühren nicht öffnen:
    Auch wenn Sie mit einer externen Tastatur arbeiten, müssen Sie die Tabs über den Touchscreen ansteuern.