News and Events

Welcome to the website of the WiRe - Women in Research programme

On this page you will find detailed information about our programme. Please also check out our LinkedIn channel to stay up to date. You can also learn more about current and former WiRe Fellows, their research and their experiences in Münster on our blog.


About: WiRe - Women in Research

WiRe is a fellowship programme for international female postdoctoral researchers at the University of Münster (WWU) in Germany. Hosted by the WWU’s Welcome Centre, the WiRe programme was founded to help address the unique needs of women in research, with a special focus on female Postdocs who currently find themselves in their ‘Rush Hour of Life’.

The WiRe programme offers short-term initiation fellowships as well as comprehensive support for its fellows, among other things through workshops, collegial counselling and coaching. Our fellowships have a duration of 4-8 months. During this period, WiRe fellows conduct their research in cooperation with a professor at the WWU, and get the possibility to explore research and development possibilities as well as the wide range of support structures for top (female) scientists in Münster. The initiation fellowship is intended to give the opportunity to explore further career prospects.

In order to better accommodate the changing health and safety guidelines of the pandemic, WiRe Research@home Fellowships were created in 2020 as our answer to the continued challenging circumstances faced by the international scientific community. In 2021, we will continue to offer a remote option, although fellows may also carry out their research on site in Münster. However, the Research@home Fellowships allow for the chance to pursue a research project at the University of Münster from your home base.

In addition to support and funding, WiRe fellows can expect to participate in exciting digital collaborations with the WiRe team, as expanding science communication and inspiring other (female) scientists by way of new and creative channels is one of the main focuses of the programme. 

WiRe Fellowships: Our Offer

  • Fellowship of 1850 € per month for a period of at least 4 but up to 8 months (part-time options for a maximal of 9 months are possible)
  • Family bonus: Child allowance of 400€ for the first, with 100€ for each additional child
  • On-site and remote option
  • Additional funding allotted for conference participation, if applicable
  • Excellent research and career development opportunities
  • Access to all WWU communication channels, networks and research infrastructure
  • Collective fellowship meetings, workshops and collegial coaching

Could a WiRe Fellowship be Your Next Move? Our eligibility criteria

You are eligible to apply if you:

  • have obtained or are about to earn your PhD (you must have earned it by the start of your fellowship),
  • are a resident in the European Union / one of the EFTA States / UK,
  • have not worked at a German higher education institution in the past six months, and
  • have completed the majority of your academic qualifications outside of Germany.

Do you want to apply? Our application process

For your WiRe application, please make sure that

  • You have a research project or an idea for a research project in cooperation with a WWU professor, which can be completed within 4 - 8 months with a presentable result.
  • Your WWU cooperation partner must write a letter of recommendation for your WiRe application [en].
  • You have ideas for strategy regarding how to best spread awareness of your research & experiences at WWU.
  • You are willing to participate in our creative science communication activities.
  • You are able to submit a detailed project schedule,
  • You are able to submit a short application video.

As soon as we have published the next call for applications, you can access the application portal via this website. In the application portal you can save your application and edit it until you have finally submitted it.

When to apply? Indicative timetable of calls

We usually offer two calls per year, in late summer / autumn and in late spring/early summer (April/May).

We expect to open the next call in spring / early summer 2022.

It is advisable to contact possible scientific cooperation partners - WWU professors – some time before the next call.

Selection Process

Funds for fellowship offers are awarded by a six-person selection committee, comprised of the head of the WWU Welcome Centre, the WiRe Coordination, members of the Rectorate Committee for Research Affairs (RKF) and members of the Rectorate Committee for Academic Personnel Development (RAP). While the committee members from the Welcome Centre / WiRe are ex officio appointments, the Rectorate delegations choose their representatives from among their sitting members.

Selection criteria

The committee bases its scholarship award decisions on multiple criteria, including the following: subject-relevant expertise, quality of academic work, motivation, and a commitment to sharing ideas for science communication/outreach. In its evaluation, the selection committee takes the letter of recommendation submitted by the academic host at the WWU into consideration.

WiRe Fellows

© WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © María Sanchez Ronco
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • Dr Angélique Lamaze
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr Anna Stejskalova
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr Chiara Ferrario
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr Giulia Marotta
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr Maria Sanchez Ronco
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher

WiRe Fellows

We have been able to attract some outstanding female postdocs from all over the world as WiRe - Women in Research Fellows. Learn more about them here and on our blog  WiRe Fellows and their research.

Neuigkeiten

NEUE STIPENDIENAUSSCHREIBUNG: WiRe Fellowships for international female postdoctoral researchers - Remote or on-site!

Es ist wieder soweit: Aktuell läuft das Bewerbungsverfahren um WiRe Fellowships in 2022. Wir vergeben Stipendien an internationale Postdoktorandinnen, welche in 2022 ein Projekt zusammen mit einem/einer WWU Professor/in durchführen wollen. Bewerbungen sind bis zum 15.10.2021 möglich.

Hier geht es zur Ausschreibung und zum Bewerbungsportal

Weitere Infos zum WiRe-Women in Research Programm, unserem Angebot, unseren Vergabebedingungen und dem Bewerbungsverfahren finden Sie auch auf dieser Seite. Erfahren Sie auf unserem Blog außerdem mehr über aktuelle und ehemalige WiRe-Stipendiatinnen, ihre Forschung und ihre Erfahrungen in Münster.

About: WiRe - Women in Research


WiRe ist ein Stipendienprogramm für internationale Postdoktorandinnen an der Universität Münster in Deutschland. Das WiRe-Programm wurde vom Welcome Centre der WWU ins Leben gerufen, um auf den besonderen Bedürfnisse von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen in der "Rush Hour des Lebens" Rechnung zu tragen. Unser Programm berücksichtigte die Herausforderungen, welche insbesondere Forscherinnen bei der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie meistern müssen. Unser Ziel ist es, junge Forscherinnen in ihrem akademischen Werdegang zu stärken.

Das WiRe-Programm bietet Stipendien und ein umfassendes Unterstützungsangebot für die Stipendiatinnen, unter anderem durch Workshops, kollegiale Beratung und Coaching. Unsere Fellowships haben eine Dauer von 4-8 Monaten. In dieser Zeit forschen die WiRe-Stipendiatinnen in Kooperation mit einer Professorin oder einem Professor der WWU und erhalten die Möglichkeit, die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten sowie die vielfältigen Förderstrukturen für exzellente Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen in Münster kennen zu lernen.

Als Reaktion auf die (sich stetig wandelnde) Pandemielage und die damit einhergehenden herausfordernden Bedingungen auch für die internationale Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft haben wir 2020 die WiRe Research@home Fellowships geschaffen. Im Jahr 2021 bieten wir weiterhin eine Remote-Option an, möchten jedoch gleichzeitig dazu ermutigen, Forschungsprojekte im Rahmen von WiRe nach Möglichkeit vor Ort in Münster durchzuführen. Die Research@home Fellowships bieten jedoch die Möglichkeit, ein Forschungsprojekt an der Universität Münster von zu Hause aus zu realisieren.

Von unseren WiRe-Stipendiatinnen erwarten wir tatkräftige Unterstützung im Bereich der Wissenschaftskommunikation: Ein weiteres wesentliches Ziel von WiRe ist, nachkommenden Forscher:innengenerationen spannende und inspirierende Einblicke in die Welt der Wissenschaft und das Leben von Wissenschaftlerinnen an der WWU zu geben. 

WiRe Fellowships - unser Angebot

  • Stipendium von 1850 € pro Monat für einen Zeitraum von 4 bis zu 8 Monaten (Teilzeitoptionen für maximal 9 Monate sind möglich)
  • Familienbonus: Kinderzuschlag von 400 € für das erste und 100 € für jedes weitere Kind
  • Vor-Ort- und remote-Optionen
  • GGf. zusätzliche Mittel für die Teilnahme an Konferenzen
  • Hervorragende Forschungs- und Karriereentwicklungsmöglichkeiten
  • Zugang zu allen Kommunikationskanälen, Netzwerken und der exzellenten Forschungsinfrastruktur der WWU
  • Regelmäßige Stipendiatentreffen, Workshops und kollegiales Coaching

Sie wollen sich bewerben? Unsere Zulassungskriterien

Wie vergeben Stipendien an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen, die

  • ihren Doktortitel erworben oder dabei sind, ihn zu erwerben (die Promotion muss bis zum Beginn des Stipendiums abgeschlossen sein),
  • einen Wohnsitz in der Europäischen Union / einem Staat des EWR /dem Vereinigten Königreich haben,
  • in den letzten sechs Monaten nicht an einer deutschen Hochschule gearbeitet haben und
  • den Großteil ihrer akademischen Qualifikationen außerhalb Deutschlands erworben haben.

Das Bewerbungsverfahren

Für Ihre Bewerbung um ein WiRe-Stipendium brauchen Sie

  • ein Forschungsprojekt oder eine Idee für ein Forschungsprojekt in Zusammenarbeit mit einem WWU-Professor / einer WWU-Professorin, das innerhalb von 4 - 8 Monaten mit einem vorzeigbaren Ergebnis abgeschlossen werden kann.
  • Ihr WWU-Kooperationspartner muss ein Empfehlungsschreiben für Ihre WiRe-Bewerbung [en]verfassen.
  • Ideen, wie Sie Ihre Forschung und Ihre Erfahrungen an der WWU auch für Fachfremde kommunizieren können,
  • die Bereitschaft, sich an unseren kreativen Wissenschaftskommunikationsformaten zu beteiligen,
  • einen detaillierten Projektplan,
  • ein kurzes Bewerbungsvideo [en].

Sobald wir die nächste Ausschreibung veröffentlicht haben, können Sie über diese Webseite das Bewerbungsformular erreichen. Im Bewerbungsportal können Sie Ihre Bewerbung speichern und immer wieder bearbeiten, bis Sie sie final eingereicht haben.

Wann kann man sich bewerben? 

Wir bieten in der Regel zwei Stipendienausschreibungen pro Jahr an, im Spätsommer/Herbst und im späten Frühjahr/Frühsommer.

Die nächste Ausschreibung wird Mitte September 2021 veröffentlicht.

Es ist ratsam, potentielle wissenschaftliche Kooperationspartner - eine/n WWU-Professor/in - einige Zeit vor der nächsten Ausschreibung zu kontaktieren.

Auswahlverfahren

Die Stipendiatinnenauswahl erfolgt durch von eine Auswahlkommission, die sich aus der Leitung des WWU Welcome Centres, der WiRe-Koordination, Mitgliedern der Rektoratskommission für Forschungsangelegenheiten (RKF) und Mitgliedern der Rektoratskommission für wissenschaftliche Personalentwicklung (RAP) zusammensetzt. Während die Ausschussmitglieder des Welcome Centre / WiRe von Amts wegen berufen werden, entsenden die Rektoratskommissionen ihre Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus den Reihen ihrer amtierenden Mitglieder.

Auswahlkriterien

Die Auswahlkommission stützt sich bei der Vergabe der Stipendien auf mehrere Kriterien, unter anderem auf die fachliche Kompetenz, die Qualität des wissenschaftlichen Projektvorschlags, die Motivation und das Engagement der Bewerberin für die Realisierung verschiedener Wissenschaftskommunikationsformate. Bei der Bewertung berücksichtigt die Kommission auch das Empfehlungsschreiben des akademischen Gastgebers an der WWU.

WiRe Fellows

© WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © María Sanchez Ronco
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • © WWU / Nikolaus Urban
  • Dr. Angélique Lamaze
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr. Anna Stejskalova
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr. Chiara Ferrario
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr. Giulia Marotta
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher
  • Dr. Maria Sanchez Ronco
    © WWU / Astrid Burgbacher

Unsere Stipendiatinnen

Im Rahmen von WiRe - Women in Research konnten wir in den letzten Jahren viele herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen aus der ganzen Welt als Fellows gewinnen. Lernen Sie sie hier kennen und erfahren Sie mehr auf unserem Blog:   WiRe-Fellows und ihre Forschung.