Research focus "Battery research"

Embedded in the scientific network of University of Münster, a strong international team from the natural and engineering sciences cooperates under the aegis of the MEET (Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology) Battery Research Center. Founded in 2009, the central scientific institution is one of the leading German battery research centres and is a driving force in top international research.

The aim of the interdisciplinary battery research at WWU is to develop and to optimize the battery cell for use in electromobility and stationary energy storage systems – an essential requirement for the urgently needed energy and mobility transition and an important bridge between basic scientific research and industrial application. Research and development is focusing on the lithium-ion technology, which dominates the market, but also on conceivably better and cheaper alternatives.

From comprehensive analysis, new and advanced materials, over production research to the recycling of battery cells, MEET pursues a holistic research approach. The work is characterised by a close interdisciplinary exchange and a strong cooperation network worldwide. Continuous knowledge transfer contributes to further increase the competitiveness of the industrial partners regionally and nationally.

Strength through cooperation

In June 2014, the Helmholtz Institute "Ionics in Energy Storage" (HI MS) of Forschungszentrum Jülich was established in the direct vicinity of MEET. Through MEET, WWU is also involved in the Fraunhofer “Research Fab Battery Cell Production”. In the unique German institution, scientists are working on the prerequisites for battery cells "made in Germany" to be produced in large series.

Strength through cooperation also applies to internal WWU cooperation: The Battery Research Center benefits from WWU's many years of experience in materials science and materials analysis. Further, it works closely with numerous internal WWU cooperation partners, such as the Department of Information Systems, the Institute of Materials Physics the faculty of chemistry and pharmacy or the Centre for Nanotechnology. Interdisciplinary and across institutions and departments, the next generation of highly qualified battery researchers is being educated at WWU.

MEET Battery Research Centre

Helmholtz Institute Münster (HI MS)

International Graduate School BACCARA

Fraunhofer Research Institution for Battery Cell Production FFB

Center for Nanotechnology (CeNTech)

Institute of Organic Chemistry

Institute of Physical Chemistry

Institute of Material Physics

Department of Information Systems

Institute of Business Administration at the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy

Forschungsschwerpunkt "Batterieforschung"

Eingebettet in das wissenschaftliche Netzwerk der WWU kooperiert unter dem Dach des MEET (Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology) Batterieforschungszentrums ein starkes internationales Team aus Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften. Gegründet 2009 gehört die zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung zu den führenden deutschen Batterieforschungszentren und ist Treiber in der internationalen Spitzenforschung.

Ziel der interdisziplinären Batterieforschung an der WWU ist es, die Batteriezelle für den Einsatz in Elektromobilität und stationären Energiespeicher-Systemen zu entwickeln und zu optimieren – ein entscheidender Wegbereiter für die dringend benötigte Energie- und Verkehrswende und eine wichtige Brücke zwischen wissenschaftlicher Grundlagenforschung und industrieller Anwendung. Im Fokus stehen die den Markt dominierende Lithium-Ionen-Technologie sowie eventuell bessere und günstigere Alternativen.

Von umfassender Analytik, neuen und weiterentwickelten Materialien über die Forschungsfertigung bis zum Recycling von Batteriezellen verfolgt das MEET einen ganzheitlichen Forschungsansatz. Die Arbeit ist dabei geprägt durch einen engen interdisziplinären Austausch und ein starkes Kooperationsnetzwerk aus Wissenschaft und Praxis in Deutschland, Europa und weltweit. Kontinuierlicher Wissenstransfer trägt dazu bei, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der industriellen Partnerinnen und Partner regional und überregional weiter zu steigern.

Stärke durch Kooperation

Seit Juni 2014 existiert in direkter Nachbarschaft zum MEET das Helmholtz-Institut „Ionics in Energy Storage“ (HI MS) des Forschungszentrums Jülich, mit dem eine enge Zusammenarbeit besteht. Die WWU ist über das MEET zudem an der deutschlandweit einzigartigen „Forschungsfertigung Batteriezelle“ der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft beteiligt. Dort arbeiten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an den Voraussetzungen für in Großserie gefertigte Batteriezellen „Made in Germany“.

Stärke durch Kooperation gilt auch für die WWU-interne Zusammenarbeit: Das Batterieforschungszentrum profitiert von der langjährigen Erfahrung der WWU in der Materialwissenschaft und Materialanalytik und arbeitet eng mit zahlreichen WWU-internen Kooperationspartnern zusammen, wie dem Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik, dem Institut für Materialphysik, zahlreichen Instituten im Fachbereich Chemie und Pharmazie oder dem Center für Nanotechnologie. Interdisziplinär, institutions- und fachbereichsübergreifend wird an der WWU die nächste Generation von hoch qualifizierten Batterieforscherinnen und -forschern ausgebildet.