ZBMed building
© ULB

Profile

The Medical Branch Library is a branch library of the University and State Library of Münster and was established in 1993 as the central medical library of the University of Münster. It is primarily open to its primary customers - students, physicians and scientists of the Medical Faculty and all employees of the University Hospital.

In accordance with the ULB's regional library mandate, the library also supplies the city and the surrounding area with medical literature. Its customers include individuals such as patients, people interested in medicine, healthcare professionals and resident doctors, as well as public authorities and companies. The use of the library is free of charge.

The Medical Branch Library, one of the largest medical libraries in North Rhine-Westphalia, provides free access to over 65,000 books and 1,600 online-journals. About 5,000 new books are acquired each year. All medical books and journals can be obtained worldwide via electronic interlibrary loan channels. The library offers a total of 450 workplaces, 50 of which are designed for PC use, 40 group workplaces, a modern training room and Wi-Fi.

Mission Statement

The main task is to offer services and information products for members of medical institutions to facilitate their work and help them achieve their goals. The available resources are used economically and efficiently.

Acquisition profile

The Medical Branch Library acquires the widest possible range of medical books in German language and selected Anglo-American key publications. The reference collection provides a selection of compendiums, dictionaries and encyclopedias. Multiple copies of borrowable textbooks are part of the textbook collection.

If you would like to recommend a book for the library to purchase, please complete this order form [de].
In case of journal requests [de] please read the information on this subject.

If you would like to donate books or journals to the Medical Branch Library, please read our information on the donation of literature [de].

ZBMed-Gebäude Außenansicht
© ULB

Profil

Die ZB Medizin ist eine Zweigbibliothek der Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Münster und wurde 1993 als zentrale Medizinbibliothek der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster eingerichtet. Sie steht in erster Linie ihren primären Kunden zur Verfügung – den Studierenden, Ärzten und Wissenschaftlern der Medizinischen Fakultät sowie allen Beschäftigten des Universitätsklinikums.

Gemäß dem landesbibliothekarischen Auftrag der ULB versorgt die Bibliothek auch Stadt und Umland mit medizinischer Literatur. Dazu zählen Einzelpersonen wie Patienten, medizinisch Interessierte, Berufstätige im Gesundheitswesen und niedergelassene Ärzte, aber auch Behörden und Firmen. Die Benutzung der Bibliothek ist gebührenfrei.

Die ZB Med stellt als eine der größten Medizinbibliotheken NRWs über 65.000 Bücher und 1.600 Online-Zeitschriften frei zugänglich zur Verfügung. Jedes Jahr werden etwa 5.000 Bücher neu erworben. Über elektronische Fernleihwege können alle medizinischen Bücher und Zeitschriften weltweit beschafft werden. Die Bibliothek verfügt über insgesamt 450 Arbeitsplätze, davon 50 für die PC-Nutzung, 40 Gruppenarbeitsplätze, einen modernen Schulungsraum und ein Funk-LAN.

Mission Statement

Dienstleistungen und Informationsprodukte für Angehörige der Medizinischen Einrichtungen anzubieten, um ihnen die Arbeit zu erleichtern und um ihnen zu helfen, ihre Ziele zu erreichen. Dabei werden die verfügbaren Ressourcen wirtschaftlich und effizient eingesetzt.

Erwerbungsprofil

Die ZB Medizin beschafft die deutschsprachige medizinische Buchproduktion in größtmöglicher Tiefe, die wichtigste anglo-amerikanische medizinische Literatur in Auswahl. Handbücher, Wörterbücher und Enzyklopädien werden in Auswahl im Präsenzbestand bereitgehalten. Ausleihbare Lehrbücher finden sich in Mehrfachexemplaren in der Lehrbuchsammlung.

Wenn Sie ein Buch zum Kauf vorschlagen möchten, füllen Sie bitte dieses Bestellformular aus.
Bei Zeitschriftenwünschen lesen Sie bitte unsere diesbzgl. Information.

Wenn Sie Bücher oder Zeitschriften an die Zweigbibliothek Medizin abgeben möchten, lesen Sie bitte unsere Information zur Übernahme von Literatur.