Studentenwerk Wohnanlage Boeselagerstr
© WWU - Studentenwerk Münster

Accommodation in Münster

In the housing offer for students and doctoral candidates in Münster you can distinguish between rooms in student residences and rooms and apartments offered on the private housing market. Unfortunately, the housing market in Münster is very overrun, especially at the beginning of term (that is in March / April and September / October), so one should start early looking for a room or an apartment.

A widely used concept is that of shared flats (German: Wohngemeinschaft, in short: WG). Two to four, sometimes even more people share an apartment and everybody pays part of the rent - according to the size of their room. Thus, each flat mate of the flat-sharing community has their own room. The kitchen and bathroom, on the other hand, are shared.

Overnight stays

For those who are just a few days in Münster - for example for a guest lecture or an interview - staying at the Münster Youth Hostel, a hostel or hotel is a good option.

Hotels

Hotel rooms in Münster can be booked on the Münster Marketing pages.

Hostels and Youth Hostels

Here you can find a small selection of affordable accommodations:

At the JugendGästehaus Aasee [de] (website in German) accommodation with breakfast from about 27 € on is available. Located right on the Aasee it is easily accessible by bus or bicycle.

At the Sleep Station, a backpacker hostel near the train station, you can stay from 16 € on per night. In addition to community dormitories, there are also single rooms. Furthermore, there is a communal kitchen.

The North Star Hostel [de] (website in German) is located in the Kreuzviertel, one of the most beautiful quarters of Münster. Nights are offered from 18 € on.

Studentenwerk Wohnanlage Boeselagerstr
© WWU - Studentenwerk Münster

Wohnen in Münster

Das Wohnungsangebot für Studierende und Promovierende in Münster lässt sich danach unterscheiden, ob es sich um Räume in Wohnheimen oder um auf dem privaten Wohnungsmarkt angebotene Zimmer und Wohnungen handelt. Insgesamt ist der Wohnungsmarkt in Münster gerade zu Semesterbeginn (d. h. im März / April und September / Oktober) leider sehr angespannt, daher sollte rechtzeitig mit der Suche nach einem Zimmer oder einer Wohnung begonnen werden.

Weit verbreitet ist das Konzept der Wohngemeinschaft (kurz: WG). Zwei bis vier, manchmal auch mehr Personen teilen sich hierbei eine Wohnung und jeder zahlt – gemäß der Größe seines Zimmers – einen Teil der Miete. Jede/r Bewohner/in der Wohngemeinschaft hat also ein eigenes Zimmer, Küche und Bad hingegen werden gemeinsam genutzt.

Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten

Für alle, die nur wenige Tage in Münster sind – zum Beispiel für einen Gastvortrag oder ein Auswahlgespräch – bieten sich Übernachtungen in der münsterschen Jugendherberge, einem Hostel oder Hotel an.

Hotels

Hotelzimmer in Münster können über die Seiten von Münster Marketing gebucht werden.

Hostels und Jugendherbergen

Hier eine kleine Auswahl günstiger Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten:
Im JugendGästehaus Aasee gibt es Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten ab ca. 27 € mit Frühstück. Direkt am Aasee gelegen ist es gut per Bus oder Fahrrad erreichbar.

In der Sleep Station, einem Backpacker Hostel in der Nähe des Hauptbahnhofs, kann man ab 16 € pro Nacht übernachten. Neben Gemeinschaftsschlafsälen gibt es hier auch Einzelzimmer. Außerdem steht eine Gemeinschaftsküche zur Verfügung.

Das Nordstern Hostel liegt mitten im Kreuzviertel, einem der schönsten Stadtteile von Münster. Übernachtungen werden hier ab 18 € angeboten.