Tips and information

In this section we have compiled tips and valuable information for planning your stay in Münster. The section is constantly updated and supplemented.

Cost of living

The German Student Support Services assume that a student in Germany needs € 762 a month on average. This amount can be understood only as a rough estimate - the actual cost of living varies not only regionally but also individually. You can see which components the calculated amount is composed of on the website of the Student Support Services [de] [de] (website in German).

Bank account

For a longer stay in Münster together with regular expenses and income it is advisable to open a checking account at a German bank. Some banks offer free checking accounts, so it is worthwhile to gather information in advance. For account opening, the passport or identity card and the registration certificate that is issued by the Citizens' Office are required. In some cases the residence permit may also have to be presented. As a doctoral candidate you should also have your student ID with you because some banks offer concessions for students.

Insurance

International doctoral candidates in Germany are obliged to take out a health insurance. Information on health insurances can be found here.

Personal liability insurance is not obligatory but very useful. You should check whether your existing insurance, if you have one, is valid in Germany - with a long-term stay abroad, this is often not the case.

Tipps und Hinweise

In dieser Rubrik haben wir Tipps und wertvolle Hinweise für die Planung Ihres Aufenthalts in Münster zusammengestellt. Die Rubrik wird ständig erweitert und ergänzt.

Lebenshaltungskosten

Das deutsche Studentenwerk geht davon aus, dass ein/e Studierende/r in Deutschland im Durchschnitt 762 Euro im Monat benötigt. Dieser Betrag kann jedoch lediglich als grober Richtwert verstanden werden – die tatsächlichen Lebenshaltungskosten variieren nicht nur regional, sondern auch individuell. Aus welchen Teilen sich der errechnete Betrag zusammensetzt, erfahren Sie auf den Seiten des Studierendenwerks.

Bankverbindung

Bei einem längeren Aufenthalt in Münster mit regelmäßigen Ausgaben und Einnahmen ist es ratsam, ein Girokonto bei einem deutschen Bankinstitut zu eröffnen. Einige Banken bieten kostenlose Girokonten an, es lohnt sich also, sich im Vorfeld zu informieren. Für die Kontoeröfnung wird der Pass bzw. Personalausweis benötigt sowie die Meldebescheinigung, die vom Amt für Bürgerangelegenheiten ausgestellt wird. In einigen Fällen kann es sein, dass auch die Aufenthaltserlaubnis vorgelegt werden muss. Als Promovierende/r sollten Sie zudem Ihren Studierendenausweis bei sich haben, da es bei einigen Kreditinstituten Vergünstigungen für Studierende gibt.

Versicherungen

Internationale Promovierende sind in Deutschland dazu verpflichtet, eine Krankenversicherung abzuschließen. Hinweise zur Krankenversicherungspflicht finden Sie hier.
Eine private Haftpflichtversicherung ist nicht obligatorisch, jedoch sehr sinnvoll. Sie sollten überprüfen, ob Ihr ggf. bestehender Versicherungsschutz auch in Deutschland gültig ist – bei einem längerfristigen Auslandsaufenthalt ist dies häufig nicht der Fall.