Zielgruppennavigation: 


Subproject 200

SP 200 - Analysis and Monitoring of land cover and current land use change

Introduction - Objectives - Methods - Related publications

Sign Pageup

Introduction


Landsat Image
250pxResearch in the past years has boosted the opportunities for space applications addressing pressing environmental and agricultural issues. Significant work in the context of land-use-/land-cover mapping and monitoring has been carried out in the last years, e.g. under the GMES initiative of the European Union (www.gmes.info) and the international framework GEOSS (http://earthobservations.org/geoss.shtml). Long-term data archives and change detection methods (Mas 1999, Hofmann et al. 2008) become available for advanced use in comprehensive studies and applications”. GMES-related national R&D projects like DeCOVER (www.decover.info, Müterthies et al. 2009, Müterthies & Buck 2008) aim to contribute to the GMES-initiative and to serve the national user community. Within all the mentioned initiatives and projects core technologies for automatic image interpretation and change detection are under development, that can contribute to the objectives of the SASCHA-subproject “Analysis and Monitoring of land cover and current land-use change“.

Sign Pageup

Objectives


The SASCHA subproject ‘Analysis and Monitoring of Land Cover and current Land Use Change’ will develop, evaluate and implement a prototype system for the extraction of land use / land cover (LULC) information from remote sensing images. The system development will be driven by user needs collected from stakeholders of the Oblast´s Departments for Environmental Protection and Agriculture. As already identified by relevant European directives like INSPIRE (Infrastructure for Spatial Information in Europe), water-framework directive and NATURA 2000, land use and land cover datasets are an indispensible prerequisite for the support of stakeholders in environmental policy. One major issue in the context of the development of a sustainable land management system for the Tyumen Oblast therefore is the efficient collection of reliable up-to-date land-use and land-cover data for the complete territory of the Tyumen Oblast covering an area of 1.435.200 km². Optimised methods for land-use classification (e.g. Largouet & Cordier 2000) must be adapted to regional requirements. Due to the high rates of change of land use in the post-Soviet era as already observed in other parts of Russia (Hölzel et al. 2002), sustainability of the land use is strongly related to the availability of an efficient monitoring system, which allows a regular update of this data.

Sign Pageup

Methods


A core issue in the SASCHA-subproject “Analysis and Monitoring of land cover and current land use change” is the development of change detection methods and the implementation of adequate image analysis algorithms, especially for agricultural LULC changes such as the expansion and intensification of arable land. These algorithms should be able to differentiate agricultural land-use classes from natural and semi-natural land-use/land-cover classes.
The system adapts existing technologies from the Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES) initiative to region-specific LULC classes and aims to enable a (semi‑)automatic detection and quantification of future LULC changes with a user-friendly and easy to use software interface.

Sign Pageup

Related publications


Hölzel N, Haub C, Ingelfinger MP, Otte A & Pilipenko VN (2002) The return of the steppe - Large-scale restoration of degraded land in southern Russia during the post-Soviet era. Journal for Nature Conservation 10: 75-86
Hofmann P; Lohmann P; Müller S (2008) Concepts of an object-based change detection process chain for GIS update: IntArchPhRS. Band XXXVII Teil B4. Peking, 2008: 305-312
Largouet C, Cordier MO (2000) Improving the Landcover Classification using Domain Knowledge, International Archives of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing 33, Part B4: 538-545
Mas J-F (1999) Monitoring land-cover changes: a comparison of change detection techniques. International Journal of Remote Sensing. 20: 139-152
Müterthies A, Büscher O, Buck O (2009) Ergebnisse des nationalen Forschungsprojekts DeCOVER: Entwicklung eines Verfahrens zur Aktualisierung von Landbedeckungsdaten für öffentliche Aufgaben. In: Graef F, Bilo M & Hölzel N (eds.): Einsatz von Fernerkundung im Rahmen des FFH-Monitorings in Deutschland. BfN-Skripten 249: 96-104
Müterthies A. & Buck O (2008): DeCOVER - Optimised geoinformation services for land cover / use data to support decision makers in Germany. In: Maktav D & Musaoglu N (eds.): Remote Sensing for a Changing Europe. 28th EARSEL Symposium, Istanbul 2008: 64

Contact

Contact

Dr. Andreas Müterthies
EFTAS Fernerkundung Technologietransfer GmbH
Oststraße 2-18
D-48145 Münster
Tel.: +49 (0) 251 13307 0
Fax: +49 (0) 251 13307 33
E-Mail: info@eftas.com
Web: http://www.eftas.com/


SASCHA
...
...
...
...
...
...
...

Legal Disclosure | Privacy Statement | © 2019 SASCHA Project - Institute of Landscape Ecology
SASCHA Project
Heisenbergstr. 2
· D-48149 Münster
E-Mail:

Zielgruppennavigation: 


Teilprojekt 200

TP 200 - Analyse und Monitoring der Landnutzung

Einführung - Ziele - Methoden - Related Publications

Sign Pageup

Einführung


Landsat Image 250pxDie Forschung der vergangenen Jahre hat dazu geführt, dass Anwendungen aus den Bereichen Fernerkundung und Raumfahrt zunehmend zur Lösung dringender ökologischer und landwirtschaftlicher Fragestellungen beitragen. Wichtige Arbeit im Rahmen der Landbedeckungs- und Landnutzungskartierung und -überwachung wurden in den vergangenen Jahren durchgeführt, z. B. im Rahmen der GMES-Initiative der Europäischen Union (www.gmes.info) oder der internationalen GEOSS-Initiative (http://earthobservations.org/geoss.shtml). Langzeitdatenarchive und Change-Detection- Methoden (Mas 1999, Hofmann et al. 2008) sind für die Nutzung in umfassenden Studien und Anwendungen verfügbar. GMES-bezogene nationale Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte wie DeCOVER (www.decover.info, Müterthies et al. 2009, Müterthies & Buck 2008) zielen u.a. darauf ab, zur GMES-Initiative beizutragen und die Bedürfnisse nationaler Geodatennutzer aufzugreifen. In allen genannten Initiativen und Projekten sind Kerntechnologien zur automatisierten Bildauswertung und Änderungserkennung in der Entwicklung und können somit zu den Zielen des SASCHA-Teilprojektes "Analyse und Monitoring der Landnutzung“ beitragen.

Sign Pageup

Ziele


Das  SASCHA-Teilprojekt  "Analyse und Monitoring der Landnutzung“ entwickelt, evaluiert und implementiert einen Softwareprototyp für die Extraktion von Landnutzungs-/Landbedeckungsinformationen aus Fernerkundungsdaten. Die Systementwicklung wird sich stark an den Anforderungen potentieller Nutzer in den jeweiligen Abteilungen für Umweltschutz und Landwirtschaft des Oblast Tyumen orientieren. Wie bereits durch europäische Richtlinien wie z.B. INSPIRE (Infrastructure for Spatial Information in Europe), die Wasser-Rahmenrichtlinie und NATURA 2000 identifiziert wurde, sind Landnutzungs- und Landbedeckungsdaten eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für die Unterstützung von Akteuren in der Umweltpolitik. Die effiziente Erfassung von verlässlichen und aktuellen  Landnutzungs- und Landbedeckungsdaten für das gesamte Gebiet Tyumens mit einer Fläche von 1.435.200 km² ist somit ein zentraler Baustein bei der Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Landmanagementsystem für die Region. Methoden zur Landnutzungsklassifizierung (z.B. Largouet & Cordier 2000) müssen an regionale Bedürfnisse angepasst und optimiert werden. Aufgrund des hohen Anteils an Landnutzungsänderungen in der Postsowjet-Ära, wie bereits in anderen Teilen Russlands von Hölzel et al. (2002) beobachtet, ist die Nachhaltigkeit der Landnutzung stark von der Verfügbarkeit eines effizienten Monitoringsystems abhängig, das eine regelmäßige Aktualisierung der Daten ermöglicht.

Sign Pageup

Methoden


Die zentrale Aufgabe im SASCHA-Teilprojekt “Analyse und Monitoring der Landnutzung“ ist die Entwicklung von Change-Detection-Methoden und die Implementierung entsprechender Bildanalyse-Algorithmen, vor allem für landwirtschaftliche Landnutzungsänderungen (z. B. die Ausweitung und Intensivierung von Ackerflächen). Das System passt vorhandene Methoden aus der GMES-Initiative (Global Monitoring for Environment and Security Initiative) für regionale Landnutzungs-/Landbedeckungsklassen an und hat die (halb-)automatische Detektion und Quantifizierung von zukünftigen Landnutzungs-/Landbedeckungsänderungen zum Ziel, die in einer nutzerfreundlichen Softwareumgebung implementiert werden.

Sign Pageup

Related publications


Hölzel N, Haub C, Ingelfinger MP, Otte A & Pilipenko VN (2002) The return of the steppe - Large-scale restoration of degraded land in southern Russia during the post-Soviet era. Journal for Nature Conservation 10: 75-86
Hofmann P; Lohmann P; Müller S (2008) Concepts of an object-based change detection process chain for GIS update: IntArchPhRS. Band XXXVII Teil B4. Peking, 2008: 305-312
Largouet C, Cordier MO (2000) Improving the Landcover Classification using Domain Knowledge, International Archives of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing 33, Part B4: 538-545
Mas J-F (1999) Monitoring land-cover changes: a comparison of change detection techniques. International Journal of Remote Sensing. 20: 139-152
Müterthies A, Büscher O, Buck O (2009) Ergebnisse des nationalen Forschungsprojekts DeCOVER: Entwicklung eines Verfahrens zur Aktualisierung von Landbedeckungsdaten für öffentliche Aufgaben. In: Graef F, Bilo M & Hölzel N (eds.): Einsatz von Fernerkundung im Rahmen des FFH-Monitorings in Deutschland. BfN-Skripten 249: 96-104
Müterthies A. & Buck O (2008): DeCOVER - Optimised geoinformation services for land cover / use data to support decision makers in Germany. In: Maktav D & Musaoglu N (eds.): Remote Sensing for a Changing Europe. 28th EARSEL Symposium, Istanbul 2008: 64

Kontakt

Kontakt

Dr. Andreas Müterthies
EFTAS Fernerkundung Technologietransfer GmbH
Oststraße 2-18
D-48145 Münster
Tel.: +49 (0) 251 13307 0
Fax: +49 (0) 251 13307 33
E-Mail: info@eftas.com
Web: http://www.eftas.com/


SASCHA
...
...
...
...
...
...
...

Impressum | Datenschutzhinweis | © 2019 SASCHA Projekt - Institut für Landschaftsökologie
SASCHA Projekt
Heisenbergstr. 2
· D-48149 Münster
E-Mail: