Focus Areas in the M.sc. in Psychology

Personnel and Business Psychology

The Master's training programme with the research focus, Personnel and Business Psychology, comprehensively transmits psychologically-sound knowledge of the various practice areas based on relevant research findings in work and economic issues and prepares students in this way for multifaceted professional careers as psychologists (for example, in personnel selection or development, as a team or project managert, in corporate consulting, in company healthcare management or as a Change Manager in organizational development). The research and content-specific curriclua of this M.Sc. focus area are taught by the working groups, Organisational and Business Psychology (Prof. Dr. Guido Hertel), and  Work-Employment Psychology (Prof. Dr. Carmen Binnewies).

Contents of the Programme

Building upon the foundations of industrial and organisational psychology imparted in the corresponding B.Sc. programme, the M.Sc. research focus in Personnel and Business Psychology conveys, among other things, substantiated competencies in the following areas:

  • Systematic analysis and workflow design
  • Analysis of organisational processess, conducting employee surveys (e.g., online)
  • Occupational and operational safety
  • Recruitment and selection of employees (from requirement analysis to onboarding)
  • Personnel management and motivation
  • Team evaluation and development
  • Change management and organizational development
  • Techniques in moderation and conflict management
  • Concepts and processes of company healthcare management
  • Stress prevention and stress management
  • Electronic human resource management, user experience and online research
  • Methods for the evaluation of business psychological processes

At the start of the master's programme, you will aquire the necessary knowledge for the acquisition of the European 'A-license (Contractor's License)' for job-related proficiency assessment according to DIN 33430. This license makes it easier for companies to identify skilled experts forpersonnel selection procedures, and thus represents an important contribution to quality assurance. The Department for Oranisation and Business Psychology at the University of Münster is the first higher education institute to enable its students  to acquire appropriate certification according to DIN 33430.

In addition, students will develop practical approaches for dealing with current and future challenges in the workplace, for example, adaptation to demographic changes or to the growing globalization of labor. A particular focus is on the use of web-based communication and collaborative media based upon the Internet or intranets. Core modules from personnel and business psychology are meaningfully complemented by modules from other psychological disciplines (diagnosis, methodology, educational psychology, clinical psychology). Thus, it is possible for students in the context of our master's programme to aquire sufficient ECTs points in order to qualify, among others, for psychotherapy training. Furthermore, modules from related disciplines on topics such as business administration, occupational medicine and labor law round out the training program.

Research and Practice

The research focus in Personnel and Business Psychology at the University of Münster prepare students for both the requirements of professional practice and for furtue research. Our guiding concept is that of a 'scientific practitioner' who can utilize solid foundations in evidence-based knowledge to face various personnel and business psychological issues and challenges. An important source of support in this case is provided by the BFO (office for "consulting and training for organisations"), which arranges practical contacts for theses, internships, and project seminars. For example, in the first semester of the programme, lectures already take place with the involvement of corporate partners with whom research knowledge in practical concepts are implemented and reflected.  Moreover, through the orientation on international research and on scientific-based research results, in addition to the frequent inclusion of students in current research projects, the M.Sc. programme, Personnel and Business Psychology, also qualifies students for the pursuit of doctoral programmes and research-related occupations in the area of personnel and business psychology (or in industrial and organisational psychology). This is supported by the excellent international visibility and networking of teachers in the programme, which is reflected for example through the organisation of international congresses. As a result,  attractive opportunities also arise for research internships abroad.

Thesis Paper and Employment Outlooks

By linking research and practice, attractive opportunities for master's theses result in the frame of the central module in second half of the of the programme. The master thesis provides important foundations for future employment. Due to the size and diversity of the personnel and business psychology opportunities in Münster it is possible to cover themes from the entire breadth of personnel and business psychology; from laboratory studies to field studies in a practical project a company. For more information und examples for thesis papers, see  Current Topics in the AE Prof. Hertel and Theses in AE Prof. Binnewies.

The master's thesis and the integration of different practice partners into our seminars and lectures provide important guidance for exploring fields of activity and career paths in business psychology, and therefore for your future career. Contacts for internships and tips for starting your career are also offered at the Annual Career Day for Occupation and Organizational Psychology, which is carried out in collaboration with the student association, "Psychology in Business and the Media". In addition, the BFO support master's students in finding attractive internships and suitable partners for their theses.

Schwerpunkte im M.Sc. Psychologie

Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie

Das Ausbildungsprogramm des M.Sc. Schwerpunkts Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie an der WWU vermittelt umfassend die verschiedenen Anwendungsbereiche psychologischer Forschungserkenntnisse auf arbeitsrelevante und wirtschaftliche Fragestellungen, und bereitet so auf vielfältige und interessante Berufstätigkeiten als Psychologin oder Psychologe vor, z. B. in der Personalauswahl oder Personalentwicklung, als Team- oder ProjektmanagerIn, in Unternehmensberatungen, im betrieblichen Gesundheitsmanagement, oder als Change ManagerIn in der Organisationsentwicklung. Die schwerpunktspezifischen Inhalte dieses M.Sc. Schwerpunkts werden von der Organisations- und Wirtschaftspsychologie (Prof. Dr. Guido Hertel) und der Arbeitspsychologie (Prof. Dr. Carmen Binnewies) verantwortet.

Inhalte

Aufbauend auf Grundlagen der Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie, die in einschlägigen B.Sc. Programmen erworben wurden, vermittelt der M.Sc. Schwerpunkt Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie an der WWU Münster fundierte Kompetenzen u. a. in folgenden Bereichen:

  • Systematische Analyse und Gestaltung von Arbeitsabläufen
  • Analyse von Organisationsprozessen, Durchführung von Mitarbeiterbefragungen (bspw. online)
  • Arbeits- und Bedienungssicherheit
  • Rekrutierung und Auswahl von MitarbeiterInnen (von Anforderungsanalyse bis Onboarding)
  • Personalführung und Motivierung
  • Trainings und Personalentwicklung
  • Teamdiagnose und Teamentwicklung
  • Change Management und Organisationsentwicklung
  • Verhandeln und Konfliktmanagement
  • Konzepte und Verfahren des betrieblichen Gesundheitsmanagements
  • Stressprävention und Stressmanagement
  • Electronic Human Resource Management, User Experience und Online-Forschung
  • Methoden der Evaluation wirtschaftspsychologischer Prozesse

Zu Beginn der Masterausbildung wird das notwendige Wissen für den Erwerb der ‘A-Lizenz für Auftragnehmer‘ für berufsbezogene Eignungsbeurteilungen nach der DIN 33430 vermittelt. Diese Lizenz erleichtert es Unternehmen, fachkundige Experten für Personalauswahlverfahren zu erkennen, und stellt somit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Qualitätssicherung dar. Die Organisations- & Wirtschaftspsychologie an der Universität Münster begleitet deutschlandweit als erstes Hochschulinstitut seine Studierende dabei, eine entsprechende Zertifizierung nach DIN 33430 zu erwerben.
Darüber hinaus werden praxisorientierte Konzepte zum Umgang mit aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen in der Arbeitswelt entwickelt, z. B. zu demografischen Veränderungen, zu wachsender Globalisierung von Arbeit, etc. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dem Einsatz netzbasierter Kommunikations- und Kooperationsmedien auf der Basis des Inter- oder Intranets.
Die Kernmodule aus der Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie werden sinnvoll durch Module anderer psychologischer Disziplinen ergänzt (Diagnostik, Methodenlehre, pädagogische Psychologie, klinische Psychologie). Dadurch ist im Rahmen des Masterschwerpunkts u. a. der Erwerb von ausreichenden ECTs-Punkten für eine Psychotherapieausbildung möglich. Außerdem runden Module aus angrenzenden Fächern zu Themen der Betriebswirtschaftslehre, der Arbeitsmedizin und des Arbeitsrecht das Ausbildungsprogramm ab.

Forschung & Praxis

Der Masterschwerpunkt Personal- & Wirtschaftspsychologie an der Universität Münster bereitet sowohl für die Anforderungen in der beruflichen Praxis als auch für eine weitere Forschungstätigkeit aus. Unser Leitbild ist dabei das eines ‘Scientific Practitioners‘, die/der auf einer evidenzbasierten Wissensgrundlage den unterschiedlichen personal- und wirtschaftspsychologischen Fragen und Herausforderungen begegnen kann. Eine wichtige Unterstützung bietet hierbei die BFO, die Praxiskontakte für Abschlussarbeiten, Praktika und Projektseminare vermittelt. Bspw. finden bereits im ersten Mastersemester Lehrveranstaltungen unter Einbezug von Unternehmenspartnern statt, in denen die Erkenntnisse der Forschung in praxistaugliche Konzepte umgesetzt und reflektiert werden. Durch die Orientierung an internationaler Forschung, an empirisch fundierten Forschungsergebnissen sowie durch die häufige Einbeziehung der Studierenden in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte qualifiziert das M.Sc. Programm Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie darüber hinaus für weiterführende Promotionsprogramme und forschungsbezogene Berufstätigkeiten im Bereich der Personal- und Wirtschaftspsychologie (bzw. der Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie). Unterstützt wird dies durch eine sehr gute internationale Sichtbarkeit und Vernetzung der Lehrenden im Masterprogramm, die sich bspw. in der Ausrichtung internationaler Fachkongresse widerspiegelt. Dadurch ergeben sich auch attraktive Möglichkeiten für Forschungspraktika im Ausland.

Abschlussarbeit und Berufseinstieg

Aus der Verknüpfung von Forschung und Praxis resultieren attraktive Möglichkeiten für Masterarbeiten als zentrales Modul in der zweiten Hälfte des Masterprogramms. Die Masterarbeit stellt wichtige Weichen für den späteren Berufseinstieg. Aufgrund der Größe und Vielfalt des personal- & wirtschaftspsychologischen Angebots in Münster können wir Themenstellungen aus der gesamten Breite der Personal- & Wirtschaftspsychologie ermöglichen, von Laborstudien bis zu Feldstudien als Praxisprojekt in Unternehmen. Weitere Informationen und Beispiele für Masterarbeiten finden Sie unter Abschlussarbeiten in der AE Prof. Hertel und Abschlussarbeiten in der AE Prof. Binnewies.
Die Masterarbeit sowie die Einbindung verschiedener Praxispartner in unseren Lehrveranstaltungen bieten wichtige Orientierungen über Tätigkeitsfelder und Karrierewege in der Wirtschaftspsychologie, und damit für Ihre weitere berufliche Laufbahn. Kontakte für Berufspraktika und Berufseinstieg werden außerdem auf dem jährlichen Praxistag Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie angeboten, der in Zusammenarbeit mit dem studentischen Verein „Psychologie in Wirtschaft und Medien e.V.“ durchgeführt wird. Darüber hinaus unterstützt die BFO Masterstudierende bei der Suche nach attraktiven Praktika und geeigneten Partnern für Abschlussarbeiten.