Digitalization, Burnout & Family Time: The Everyday Life of Couples in a Fast-Paced World

On our project website we provide detailed information on this research project: www.familienpsychologie-forschung.de

Digitalization is changing everything from the work environment to our own homes. The Department of Couple and Family Psychology at WWU Münster is investigating the opportunities and risks it poses for the health of couples and families in a major diary study using experience sampling methods, smartphone tracking, and physiological measurements.
One of the objectives of the study is to gain a better understanding of how couples and families use their smartphones in everyday life and to explore the impacts on family dynamics.
Our team is currently looking for couples who want to participate. For more information, please click here.

This project is funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia (Return Program; duration: 2019 to 2024).







 

The COUPLE study

Couselors' & Couples' Perspective in a Longitudinal Couple Therapy Evaluation Study (COUPLE)

Not only in times of the Corona pandemic, conflicts evolve between partners in romantic relationships. Several professional counselling centers provide help to cope constructively with conflicts.
As of today, there are only a few studies which take a closer look on couple therapy since the investigation of its underlying mechanism is complex.
In cooperation with the counseling centers for marriage, family, and life counseling of the catholic church in the Bishopric Münster, we face this challenge and use the opportunity for an intense and longitudinal monitoring of the counseling processes. We are interested in both - the couple’s perspective and the counselor’s perspective.
The study’s goal is to determine how couple counseling or couple therapy functions, for whom it is suitable, which aspects (e.g. competencies, attitudes, etc.) change best by which interventions, and how important the congruence between the perceptions of couple and counselor is.

The Corona Pandemic Study: Effects on Couples and Families

The spread of the coronavirus currently impacts people all over the world: curfews, contact bans, school and daycare closures and the increasing work from home have drastically changed our everyday lives. For many people, the pandemic caused financial or health issues.
This is what we are currently investigating in an international online study that is being conducted in 45 countries from the United States to Brazil, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia and Australia in cooperation with other teams of researchers. We want to investigate whether and how mental health is affected by Covid-19, how this influences the quality of partnerships and how couples deal with "corona-related" stress factors. Additionally, we want to explore the challenges and opportunities resulting from home office, home schooling and home childcare for families and how these changes affect the perceived work-life balance. Since people around the world are being surveyed on these issues, we also hope to discover similarities and differences in the way people are dealing with this global crisis across countries and cultures.

Digitalization, Burnout & Family Time

Digitalization, Burnout & Family Time: Der Alltag von Paaren in einer schnelllebigen Welt

Über dieses Projekt informieren wir ausführlich auf unserer Projektwebsite: www.familienpsychologie-forschung.de

Die Digitalisierung verändert alles von der Arbeitswelt bis hin zu den eigenen vier Wänden. Welche Chancen und Risiken sie für die Gesundheit von Paaren und Familien birgt, untersucht der Arbeitsbereich Paar- und Familienpsychologie der WWU Münster in einer umfangreichen Tagebuchstudie durch den Einsatz von Experience-Sampling-Methoden, Smartphone Tracking sowie physiologischen Messungen.
Ziel der Studie ist es unter anderem, ein besseres Verständnis darüber zu gewinnen, wie Paare und Familien ihr Smartphone im Alltag nutzen und die damit verbundenen Auswirkungen auf die Familiendynamik zu erforschen.

Unser Team sucht aktuell nach teilnehmenden Paaren. Weitere Informationen zur Teilnahme finden Sie hier.

Diese Projekt ist vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW finanziert (Rückkehrprogramm; Laufzeit: 2019 bis 2024).

Die COUPLE-Studie

Couselors' & Couples' Perspective in a Longitudinal Couple Therapy Evaluation Study (COUPLE)

Nicht nur in Zeiten von Corona kann es in Beziehungen kriseln und zu Konflikten kommen. Verschiedene professionelle Beratungsstellen bieten Paare Unterstützung dabei an, mit Konflikten konstruktiv umzugehen.
Bisher gibt es jedoch nur wenige Studien, die Paarberatung genauer unter die Lupe nehmen, denn die Erforschung von Wirkmechanismen in einem solchen Beratungssetting ist komplex.
In Zusammenarbeit mit Beratungsstellen der Ehe-, Familien- und Lebensberatung (EFL) der katholischen Kirche im Bistum Münster stellen wir uns dieser Herausforderung und nutzen die Kooperation für eine intensive und langfristige Begleitung des Beratungsprozesses - sowohl aus der Perspektive des Paares als auch aus der Perspektive der Berater*innen.
Die Studie soll erfassen, wie Paarberatung bzw. Paartherapie wirkt, für wen sie sich eignet, welche Aspekte (z.B. Kompetenzen, Einstellungen etc.) sich durch welche Maßnahmen am besten verändern lassen und wie wichtig die Übereinstimmung der Wahrnehmung dieser Prozesse bei allen Beteiligten ist.

Die Corona-Pandemie-Studie

Die Corona-Pandemie-Studie: Auswirkungen auf Paare und Familien

Die Ausbreitung des Coronavirus betrifft derzeit Menschen auf der ganzen Welt: Ausgangssperren, Kontaktverbote, Schul- und Kitaschließungen und das vermehrte Arbeiten aus dem Home-Office haben unseren Alltag drastisch verändert. Für viele Menschen kommen finanzielle oder gesundheitliche Sorgen durch die Corona-Pandemie und ihre Auswirkungen hinzu.
Wie gehen Paare und Familien mit diesen Belastungen um? Das untersuchen wir derzeit in einer internationalen Online-Studie, die in 45 Ländern von den Vereinigten Staaten über Brasilien, Italien, Kenia und Malaysia bis nach Australien in Kooperation mit anderen Forscher*innen-Teams durchgeführt wird. So möchten wir untersuchen, ob und wie die mentale Gesundheit durch die Corona-Pandemie beeinträchtigt wird, welchen Einfluss das auf die Partnerschaftsqualität hat und wie Paare gemeinsam mit den „Corona-bedingten“ Stressfaktoren umgehen. Zusätzlich interessieren wir uns dafür, welche Herausforderungen und Chancen durch Home-Office, Home-Schooling und die Kinderbetreuung zu Hause für Familien entstehen und wie sich diese Veränderungen auf die wahrgenommene Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie auswirken. Da Menschen weltweit zu diesen Themen befragt werden, hoffen wir außerdem, Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede im Umgang mit dieser globalen Krise über Länder und Kulturen hinweg aufzudecken.