Department of Physics

Welcome to the Department of Physics at the WWU Münster.

Physics in Münster focusses its activities on five innovative areas of actual top level research in nine experimentally and theoretically oriented institutes.

Geo M Nano M Didaktik M Nichtlinear M Teilchen M

Specific characteristics of the Department of Physics at the WWU are an interdisciplinary orientation, the participation in various third-party programs and the initiation of important centers within the scope of research focuses.

Furthermore, with its 3100 students the Department of Physics at the WWU is one of the largest Physics Departments in Germany.

In the Winter semester 2013/14 alone, more than 1100 new students have begun their study courses in physics as main or minor subject.

The HIS-survey among students at the WWU led to an exceedingly positive result concerning study conditions in physics.

New Bachelor and Master programs

The Bachelor programs in physics, physics with specialisation “Scientific Instrumentation” and geophysics are completed with the Bachelor of Science (BSc).

The Master of Science (MSc) can be acquired in physics and also in geophysics.

In physics a dual degree with the University of Sevilla is possible as well.

The formation of future teachers in the subject physics is carried out in graded Bachelor/Master studies.

Information about studying physics can be found here.

Materials concerning individual courses can be found here.

A lot of useful information for application and enrolment for foreign students can be found here .