Wegner Group: Nanoscale Magnetism & Electronics


We are a condensed matter research team within the Scanning Probe Microscopy (SPM) group (headed by Prof. Alex Khajetoorians) at the Institute for Molecules and Materials of Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands. We focus on the study of electronic and magnetic properties of surfaces and nanoscopic materials down to single molecules and atoms using scanning probe techniques. Our laboratories can be found in the NanoLab.

We kindly acknowledge funding by the DFG (Germany) through the Emmy Noether program as well as by FOM (Netherlands). More information on our research activities and publications can be found here:


Last Update: 25 Jan. 2016


18 Dec. 2015

25 Nov. 2015

01 June 2015

10 Nov. 2014

24 Oct. 2014

10 Oct. 2014

09 Oct. 2014

01 Aug. 2014

29 May 2014

26 May 2014

21 May 2014

29 April 2014

08 April 2014

21 Dec. 2013

02 Dec. 2013

01 Oct. 2013

20 Aug. 2013

11 July 2013

28 June 2013

8 June 2013

30 May 2013

21 May 2013

20 May 2013

20 Feb. 2013

15 Feb. 2013

02 Nov. 2012

29 Oct. 2012

28 Sept. 2012

22 May 2012

01 May 2012

03 March 2012

28 Feb. 2012

13 Jan. 2012

01 Dec. 2011

04 Oct. 2011

15 Sept. 2011

01 Sept. 2011

25 Aug. 2011

20 May 2011

03 Dec. 2010

01 Oct. 2010

01 July 2010

06 April 2010

01 April 2010

01 March 2010

We have received a „Projectruimte“ grant by the Dutch funding organization FOM for a new project: Toward bottom-up construction of an 'Aggregate-OLED’

New article accepted in JPCC:
J. Donner et al., Deposition and Self-Assembly of Large Magnetic Molecules, J. Phys. Chem. C 119, 28660 (2015).

Pascal Ewen won the Poster award of this year‘s IMM symposium (sIMMposium). Congratulations!

Today we surprised the Faculty Board with a small taste of what LT-STM is capable of. See our new image to the right and the IMM news site.

New article accepted in an open access source:
P. Ewen et al., Spectroscopic mapping and selective electronic tuning of molecular orbitals in phosphorescent organometallic complexes – a new strategy for OLED materials, Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. 5, 2248 (2014).

New article accepted in Angewandte Chemie:
J. Sanning et al., Scanning-Tunneling-Spectroscopy-Directed Design of Tailored Deep-Blue Emitters,
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 54, 786 (2015).

Nadine Hauptmann was awarded a Feodor Lynen fellowshipof the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. Congratulations!

Nadine Hauptmann has joined the SPM group. Being Alex‘ first postdoc, she will start working with us on the Createc system. Welcome!

Pascal Ewen won a poster award at the E-MRS 2014 Spring Meeting in Lille, France. Congratulations!

Our LT-STM is up and running with beautiful atomic resolution images!

Judith Niedenführ won the poster award at the 563rd Heraeus Seminar „Functional Molecules at Surfaces“ in Bonn. Congratulations!

The lab was successfully moved to the NanoLab in Nijmegen. Now we need to reassemble everything.

Daniel Wegner has signed a contract to become a tenured Assistant Professor at Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands. We will move the group and lab by May.

New article published:
T. Deilmann et al., Adsorption and STM imaging of TCNE on Ag(001): An ab-inito study,
Phys Rev. B 89, 045405 (2014).

New article published:
P. Ewen et al., Unraveling Orbital Hybridization of Triplet Emitters at the Metal-Organic Interface,
Phys Rev. Lett. 111, 267401 (2013).

Judith Niedenführ has received a PhD fellowship by the prestiguous Deutsche Studienstiftung. Congratulations!

Nils Rollfing has submitted his Bachelor thesis „Structural and electronic characterization of adamantyl ligands using STM and STS“.

The Emmy Noether group has just been evaluated positively, and we‘ll receive funding for a fifth year.

New article published:
M. Steinbrecher et al.,
Finding the Rashba-type spin-splitting from interband scattering in quasiparticle interference maps,
Phys. Rev. B 87, 245436 (2013).

During the CeNTech Open House day we gave a live presentation of STM manipulation, building some nice stuff with CO molecules. Check out this image and this image.

New article published:
D. Wegner et al., Adsorption site determination of a molecular monolayer via inelastic tunneling,
Nano Lett. 13, 2346 (2013).

We have updated our Image Gallery. Check it out!

New article published:
H. Harutyunyan et al.,
Hybridisation at the organic-metal interface: a surface-scientific analogue of Hückel’s rule?
Chem. Commun. 49, 5993 (2013).

Nils Rollfing joined the group as a Bachelor student.

Jointly with Cristian Strasserts group, we have hosted a highschool student, Ira Tegeder, in our lab for a compact research project within the „Jugend forscht“ competition. Today, Ira won the first prize in the regional contest!

Pascal Ewen has started his PhD thesis and will continue to work on our TRR 61 project.

Manuel Steinbrecher has submitted his Master thesis „Structural and electronic properties of bismuth surfaces on Cu(111)“.

Pascal Ewen has subnitted his Master thesis „Adsorption and electronic structure of phosphorescent platinum complexes on Au(111)“.

The German Research Foundation decided to extend funding the German-Chinese collaborative research project TRR 61 for a 2nd period (2012 - 2016). Our group will contribute with a new project in collaboration with Cristian A. Strassert‘s group.

Judith Niedenführ has joined the group as a PhD student.

The collaborative research consortium TRR 61 has been reviewed by an international panel. We have also applied for a project and are looking forward to the final decision.

Tatjana Walth has submitted her Diploma thesis.

Today CeNTech II was officially dedicated. Offering one of the first running laboratories, we had some prominent visitors and received appearance in public TV news (WDR Lokalzeit and wm.tv, German only).

We have just moved our lab to the new CeNTech II building. With a bit of luck, we‘ll be back in business before Christmas.

Manuel Steinbrecher joined the group as a Master student.

We are in the process of moving our website to the WWU webserver. Please update your link:

Pascal Ewen has started working on his Master thesis.

Tobias Allmers will leave the group by the end of the month. We wish him all the best for his new job at the Oberstufen-Kolleg of University of Bielefeld.

The DFG continues funding the Research Unit FOR 945 „Nanomagnets: from synthesis via interactions with surfaces to function“ at University of Bielefeld over the next three years. We have joined the FOR 945 as an associated group.

Daniel Wegner was nominated as “Junges Kolleg” member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts (cf. Academy’s press release, WWU press release).

Hasmik Harutyunyan joined the group as a PhD student.

Tobias Allmers joined the group as a postdoc.

The new Createc LT-STM was delivered today and will be installed and tested within the next couple of weeks.

Tatjana Walth joined the group as a Master student.

Pascal Ewen joined the group as a Bachelor student.