Prof. Dr. G. Wilde

Curriculum vitae

Personal Details:

  • Born 1966
  • Married, one child

Studies and Exam:

  • 1993 Diploma in Physics: “Untersuchungen zur spezifischen Wärme unterkühlter metallischer Schmelzen“, University of Cologne (Prof. G. Dietz)


  • 1997 PhD in Materials Science: “Makroskopische Eigenschaftsänderungen unterkühlter metallischer Schmelzen“, Technical University Berlin, Germany (Prof. H.-J. Fecht)

Scientific Career:

  • 1993 - 1994 Project Scientist within the Euro-Russian Space mission EUROMIR
  • 1994 - 1997 PhD studies in Materials Science at the Technical University Berlin, Germany (Prof. H.-J. Fecht)
  • 1997 - 1999 Feodor Lynen Fellowship, University of Wisconsin (Prof. J.H. Perepezko), Madison, USA
  • 1999 - 2001 Senior Researcher, Research Center Karlsruhe, Nanostructured Materials Group (Prof. H. Gleiter)
  • 2001 - 2004 Emmy Noether Fellowship of the DFG, Research Center Karlsruhe and University of the Saarland
  • 2004 - 2006 Group leader, Research Center Karlsruhe and Full Professor (W2, temporary appointment) at Saarland University
  • Since 2006 University Professor (W3, permanent) at University of Münster; Director of the Institute of Materials Physics
  • Since 2007 Scientific Member of the “Center of Nanotechnology, (CeNTech)”, Münster
  • Since 2012 Member of the Board of Reviewers of DAAD
  • Since 2013 Member of the Rectorat’s Commission on Internationalization
  • Since 2016 Senior PI and member of the board of directors of the Herbert-Gleiter Institute at Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Nanjing, China
  • Since 2016 Vice-Dean of the Department of Physics, University of Münster

Awards and Honors:

  • 1997 Feodor Lynen Fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • 2001 Emmy Noether Fellowship of the DFG
  • 2001 Founding Member of the “Center for Functional Nanostructures, (CFN)”, Karlsruhe
  • 2003 Fellowship within the “Excellent Young Leaders” - program of the Research Center Karlsruhe
  • 2004 Fellowship of the President’s fonds of Helmholtz society
  • Since 2007 “Overseas” - Professor, Anna University, Chennai, India
  • 2009 Guest Professor, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • 2009 Guest Professor, CNRS and University of Rouen, Rouen, France
  • 2010 CSIR-Humboldt Research Award 2010 for lifetime scientific achievements
  • 2011 - 2016 Honorary Professor, University of Hyderabad, India
  • 2013 - 2018 Honorary Professor, North-Eastern University, Shenyang, China
  • 2014 - 2016 Shanghai Qian Ren (Thousand Talents) Program
  • Since 2016 Elected speaker of the “Materials and Metals Physics” division of the German Physical Society
  • Since 2016 Senior PI, Head of a research group and member of the board of directors at the Herbert Gleiter Institute at Nanjing University of Science and Technology
  • 2017 Guest Professor, SIMAP-CNRS und Université Grenoble Alpes, France
  • Several instances “Outstanding reviewer of the year” - Award of Scripta Materialia and Acta Materialia