Procet E-LYTE INNOVATIONS – A spin-off company of the MEET Battery Research Center

Project team E-Lyte (from left): Dr. Stephan Röser, Sebastian Staiger, Dr. Kolja Beltrop and Dr. Ralf Wagner
© WWU/MEET

What is E-LYTE INNOVATIONS?

As part of the funding program EXIST-Forschungstransfer (duration 01.03.2019 to 31.08.2020), E-Lyte Innovations develops and produces pioneering electrolytes for modern energy storage technologies with regards to specific requirements. The portfolio includes:

  1. Production and distribution of customized electrolytes and specific electrolyte components for application-specific requirements of electrochemical energy storages (“Ready-to-use” electrolytes and electrolyte components)
  2. Optimization and production of electrolytes tailored to specific customer needs.
  3. Service measurements and consulting in the area of electrolytes and energy storage, especially in the field of lithium-ion technologies.
  4. Sub-licensing of IP

The goal of the funding program is to use the portfolio and all tasks related thereto as an economic bases for a spin-off company, namely E-Lyte Innovations GmbH.

Why is the business model economically interesting?

Safe, high-performance and efficient storage technologies are the prerequisite for all (auto-)mobile and portable electronic applications. In this regard super capacitors and batteries, especially lithium-ion batteries (LIB), are the most promising storage technology. Electrolytes are an essential component of batteries and super capacitors. Only the right electrolytes made the success of lithium-ion technologies in many applications possible. For the use of higher-energy lithium-based electrode material, new cell chemistries and energy storages in applications with increased requirements regarding the temperature window, power density and safety, new and often complex and finely tuned electrolytes are needed. This is where the team from E-Lyte comes in.

Who is in the team and why?

The team consists of the economic chemist/ industrial chemist Dr. Ralf Wagner, the chemist Dr. Stephan Röser, the chemist Dr. Kolja Beltrop and the economic chemist Sebastian Staiger. The material scientist Prof. Prof. h.c. mult. Dr. Martin Winter guides the project as a mentor. The project members all possess extensive and excellent academic and technological expertise in the field of battery and electrolyte research, technology consulting, distribution, project management, marketing and are inventors of numerous start-up relevant patented technologies.

What is the EXIST-Forschungstransfer?

The EXIST-Forschungstransfer is a funding program of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), that is co-financed by the European Social Fund (ESF). The funding program provides financial support to outstanding research-based start-up projects, that entail elaborate and high-risk development work.
Further information on the funding program EXIST-Forschungstransfer: Click here


You are interested in E-Lyte Innovations and the funding program EXIST and want to learn more? Do not hesitate to contact us via email: contact@e-lyte-innovations.de

Projekt E-LYTE-INNOVATIONS - Ein Spin-Off des MEET Batterieforschungszentrums

Projektteam E-Lyte (von links): Dr. Stephan Röser, Sebastian Staiger, Dr. Kolja Beltrop und Dr. Ralf Wagner
© WWU/MEET

Was steckt hinter E-LYTE INNOVATIONS?

Im Rahmen des Förderprojektes EXIST-Forschungstransfer (Laufzeit 01.03.2019 bis 31.08.2020) entwickelt und produziert E-Lyte Innovations zukunftsweisende Elektrolyte für moderne Energiespeicher Technologien mit Hinsicht auf spezifische Anforderungen. Das Portfolio umfasst:

  1. Produktion und Vertrieb von maßgeschneiderten Elektrolyten und spezifischen Elektrolytkomponenten, für anwendungsspezifische Anforderungen von elektrochemischen Energiespeichern. („Ready-to-use“ Elektrolyte und Elektrolytkomponenten)
  2. Optimierung und Produktion von Elektrolyten, speziell nach Kundenbedürfnissen.
  3. Servicemessungen und Beratung im Bereich Elektrolyte und Energiespeicher, speziell im Bereich der Lithium-Ionen-Technologie
  4. Unterlizensierung von IP

Die Zielsetzung des Förderprojektes ist es, dass Portfolio und alle damit zusammenhängenden Aufgaben als wirtschaftliche Grundlage eines ausgegründeten Unternehmens zu verwenden, namentlich für die E-Lyte Innovations GmbH.

Warum ist das Geschäftsmodell wirtschaftlich interessant?

Sichere, hochperformante und effiziente Speichertechnologien sind Voraussetzung für alle (auto-)mobilen und portablen elektronischen Anwendungen. Hierbei stellen Superkondensatoren und Batterien, vor allem Lithium-Ionen-Batterien (LIB) die vielversprechendsten Speichertechnologien dar. Elektrolyte sind essentieller Bestandteil aller Batterien und Superkondensatoren. Erst die richtigen Elektrolyte haben den Siegeszug der Lithium-Ionen-Technologie in vielen Anwendungen möglich gemacht. Für den Einsatz energiereicherer Lithium-basierter Elektrodenmaterialien, neuer Zellchemien, sowie Energiespeicher in Anwendungen mit gestiegenen Anforderungen in Hinsicht auf das Temperaturfenster, die Leistungsdichte und die Sicherheit darstellen, werden neue, oft komplex und fein abgestimmt formulierte Elektrolyte gebraucht. Hier setzt das E-lyte Team an.

Wer ist im Team und warum?

Das Team besteht aus dem Wirtschaftschemiker Dr. Ralf Wagner, dem Chemiker Dr. Stephan Röser, dem Chemiker Dr. Kolja Beltrop und dem Wirtschaftschemiker Sebastian Staiger. Der Materialwissenschaftler Prof. Prof. h.c. mult. Dr. Martin Winter betreut das Projekt als Mentor. Die Projektmitglieder besitzen langjährige exzellente wissenschaftliche und technologische Expertise im Bereich der Batterie- und Elektrolytforschung, der Technologieberatung, dem Vertrieb, dem Projektmanagement, dem Marketing und sind Erfinder zahlreicher gründungsrelevanter patentierter Technologien.

Was beinhaltet der EXIST-Forschungstransfer?

Der EXIST-Forschungstransfer ist ein Förderprogramm des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie, das durch den Europäischen Sozialfonds co-finanziert wird. Innerhalb dieses Förderprogramms werden herausragende forschungsbasierte Gründungsvorhaben, die mit aufwändigen und risikoreichen Entwicklungsarbeiten verbunden sind, finanziell unterstützt.
Nähere Informationen zum Förderprogramm EXIST-Forschungstransfer gibt es hier.

Sie interessieren sich für E-Lyte Innvovations und das geförderte EXIST Projekt oder möchten mehr erfahren? Kontaktieren sie uns gerne per E-Mail: contact@e-lyte-innovations.de