Lena Adam M.Sc., Felix Brinkschulte M.A., Dr. Lena Frischlich
© IfK

Democratic resilience in times of online-propaganda, fake news, fear- and hate speech (DemoRESILdigital)

Junior research group

About the research group

The digital society offers – besides new possibilities for democratic participation – also increased options for disseminating manipulative content. Strategic agents are abusing the easy access to digitally generated publics to spread online propaganda, fake news, fear and hate speech.
In order to support media recipients in dealing with such manipulative attempts via online-media, an in-depth understanding of the actors, target groups and impacts of the aforementioned phenomena is necessary.
In the DemoRESILdigital team, junior researchers from communication science, economic data science and media psychology work closely together in order to examine these topics using methods from social science, IT, data science and experimental media effects research.

The project is supported by the Digital Society research program funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the German State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

Find further information and news here: https://www.demoresildigital.uni-muenster.de

Lena Adam M.Sc., Felix Brinkschulte M.A., Dr. Lena Frischlich
© IfK

Demokratische Resilienz in Zeiten von Online-Propaganda, Fake news, Fear- und Hate speech (DemoRESILdigital)

Nachwuchsforschergruppe

Über die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe

Die digitale Gesellschaft bietet neben neuen Chancen für demokratischer Partizipation auch neue Möglichkeiten für die Verbreitung manipulativer Inhalten im Netz. Strategisch handelnde Akteure missbrauchen die erleichterten Zugänge zu digital hergestellten Öffentlichkeiten für die Verbreitung von Online-Propaganda, Fake news, Fear- und Hate speech.

Um Mediennutzer*innen in der Auseinandersetzung mit solchen Manipulationsversuchen im Netz zu unterstützen, ist ein vertieftes Verständnis der Akteure, Zielgruppen und Wirkungsweisen der o.g. Phänomene notwendig.

In DemoRESILdigital arbeiten Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen aus der Kommunikationswissenschaft, der Wirtschaftsinformatik und der Medienpsychologie Hand in Hand, um diese Themen mit Hilfe von Methoden der Sozialwissenschaften, Informatik, Datenwissenschaft und experimentellen Medienwirkungsforschung zu beleuchten.

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des Verbundprojekts Digitale Gesellschaft durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert.

Mehr Informationen und Neuigkeiten unter https://www.demoresildigital.uni-muenster.de