© Kersting



Since April 2011, the Chair of Local and Regional Government is run by Prof. Dr. Norbert Kersting, who was director of the Willy Brandt chair on Transformation and Regional Integration at the Department of Political Science, University of Stellenbosch in South Africa prior to this. Before, Norbert Kersting worked at different universities in leading positions, suchs as the University of Marburg, Kassel and Koblenz-Landau.

Norbert Kersting is supported by his research fellow Jan Philipp Thomeczek and the student assistent Jannis Haendke.



Prof. Dr. Norbert Kersting


Wissenschaftliche MitarbeiterInnen

Aaron Jeuther

Jan Philipp Thomeczek


Studentische Hilfskräfte


Jannis Haendke

Julian David Müller

Carlos Apel

Julius Hinderfeld

Paul Jacobsen


Jetzige DoktorandInnen und ehemalige MitarbeiterInnen/DoktorandInnen

Sophie Almers

Marc Schutz

Matthias Rusche

Katharina Kullmann

Mara Ramalho Mendes

Blessmore Nhikiti

Jessica Voigt

Jan Philipp Thomeczek

Aaron Gebler

Kekeli Tenge

Indra Smith

Janina Blome

David Graubner

Phillip Hocks

Christine Dietz (prom. 2022)

Sylwia Patron (prom. 2021)

Johannes Bauser (prom. 2020)

Jan-Niclas Gesenhuis (prom. 2019)

Andrew Masiko (prom. 2019)

Yimei Zhu (prom. 2019)

Abel Reiberg (prom. 2018)

Sebastian Schneider (prom. 2017)

Deodatus Shayo (prom. 2017)

Emmy Chepkirui (prom. 2017)

Tobias Zimmermann (prom. 2016)

Jürgen Langhans (prom. 2014)