Forscher stellen das „Sinking in“ von Partikeln in Zellen in Frage

Bildung eines „phagocytic cup“ in einer Maus-Makrophage während der Aufnahme von Komplement C3b-opsonisierten humanen Blutzellen.
© Hanley, Liashkovich

Projekttitel: Cells Eating: is there a distinct complement-mediated sinking-in mode of phagocytosis?
Projektleitung: Peter J. Hanley, Ivan Liashkovich
Projektlaufzeit: 07/2016 - 10/2018
Projektkennziffer: FF-2016-05

Die Phagozytose ist ein Rezeptor-vermittelter Prozess, bei dem Immunzellen Partikel wie Bakterien aufnehmen. Im Jahr 1977 hat der norwegische Wissenschaftler Gilla Kaplan zwei Wege der Phagozytose beschrieben. Grundsätzlich unterscheidet man zwei Arten der Aufnahme: die durch Fcγ-Rezeptoren initiierte „Reaching up“- und die durch Komplement-Rezeptoren vermittelte „Sinking in“-Phagozytose. In diesem CiM-Projekt untersuchen Forscher, ob ein distinktes, Komplement-Rezeptor vermitteltes „Sinking in“ tatsächlich existiert.

Bei der „Reaching up“-Phagozytose bildet sich ein „phagocytic cup“, eine Ausstülpung der Zellmembran entlang des Partikels. Im Gegensatz dazu wird ein Partikel bei der „Sinking in“-Phagozytose ohne Ausformen eines solchen Cups internalisiert, der Partikel scheint in die Zelle einzusinken.

Der Mediziner und Biologe Dr. Peter Hanley und der Biophysiker Dr. Ivan Liashkovich gehen davon aus, dass – im Gegensatz zur gängigen Theorie – grundsätzlich keine unterschiedlichen Arten der Phagozytose existieren, sondern dass Komplement- und Fcγ-Rezeptoren gleichermaßen Cups ausbilden.

Die Forscher machen mit einem Spinning-Disk-Konfokal-Mikroskop hochauflösende 3D-Zeitraffer-Aufnahmen, um die genaue Ausprägung der Cup-Bildung während des „Reaching up“ und des vermeintlichen „Sinking in“ zu untersuchen. Zusätzlich werden, mittels Atomic Force Mikroskopie (AFM), die Adhäsionskräfte zwischen Rezeptor und Partikel gemessen.

In ihren Experimenten bringen sie menschliche rote Blutzellen (Erythrozyten) mit Fresszellen (Makrophagen) der Maus zusammen. Wenn Blutzellen mit Maus-Antikörpern beschichtet (opsonisiert) sind, können die Forscher Fcγ-vermittelte „Reaching up“-Phagozytose beobachten. Im Vergleich dazu findet in Makrophagen von transgenen Mäusen, in denen Fcγ-Rezeptoren nicht funktionell sind, keine Phagozytose dieser Blutzellen statt. Werden dagegen die Erythrozyten mit dem Komplement C3b opsonisiert, ist auch in der Fcγ-Mutante eine Komplement-Rezeptor-vermittelte „Reaching up“-Phagozytose zu beobachten (siehe Abbildung). In weiteren Experimenten wollen die Forscher zeigen, dass „Reaching up“-Phagozytose in beiden Fällen Syk Kinase benötigt.

Researchers question whether particles sink into cells

Formation of a phagocytic cup in a mouse macrophage during the uptake of human blood cells opsonised with complement C3b.
© Hanley, Liashkovich

Project titel: Cells Eating: is there a distinct complement-mediated sinking-in mode of phagocytosis?
Principal investigators: Peter J. Hanley, Ivan Liashkovich
Project time: 07/2016 - 10/2018
Project code: FF-2016-05

Phagocytosis is a receptor-mediated process in which immune cells internalize particles such as bacteria. In 1977, Gilla Kaplan identified two distinct pathways of phagocytosis: “reaching up”, initiated by Fcγ receptors, and “sinking in”-phagocytosis, mediated by complement receptors. In this CiM project, researchers are looking into whether a distinct “sinking in” process, mediated by complement receptors, actually exists.

In the case of “reaching up”-phagocytosis, a so-called phagocytic cup – a protrusion of the cell membrane along the particle – is formed. In the case of sinking in”-phagocytosis, in contrast, a particle is internalized without a cup being formed and appears to sink into the cell.

Dr. Peter Hanley, a physician and biologist, and Dr. Ivan Liashkovich, a biophysicist, are assuming that – in contrast to the conventional theory – both complement and Fcγ receptors can induce phagocytic cup formation.

Using spinning-disk confocal microscopy, the researchers generate high-resolution, time-lapse images in 3D in order to be able to examine the exact characteristics of the cup formed during the Fcγ receptor and complement receptor-mediated processes. In addition, the adhesive forces between receptor and particle are being measured by means of atomic force microscopy (AFM).

In their experiments, the researchers bring human red blood cells (erythrocytes) into contact with scavenger cells (macrophages) from a mouse. When blood cells are pre-coated (opsonised) with antibodies from a mouse, the researchers can observe Fcγ-receptor-mediated “reaching up”-phagocytosis. In comparison, no phagocytosis of these blood cells takes place in macrophages from transgenic mice in which Fcγ receptors are not functional. If, however, the erythrocytes are opsonised with the complement C3b, complement receptor-mediated “reaching up” phagocytosis can also be observed in the Fcγ mutant (see figure). The researchers want to carry out further experiments to show that, in both cases, “reaching up”-phagocytosis requires Syk-kinase.