Dr. Jacob Olley

Research associate

Fields of interest

  • history of Ottoman and Turkish music
  • music and the Armenian transnation
  • musics of the Middle East
  • music, cosmopolitanism and nationalism
  • music and global history.


Other Links:

Academia.edu profile: https://uni-m.academia.edu/JacobOlley

  • Vita

    I joined Corpus Musicae Ottomanicae as a research associate in October 2015. I previously studied ethnomusicology at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) in London (2007–2011). I am currently completing my PhD, which is funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), at King’s College London. My thesis is entitled “Writing Music in Early Nineteenth-Century Istanbul: Ottoman Armenians and the Invention of Hampartsum Notation”. On the CMO project, I am focusing on collections of Hampartsum notation written in Armeno-Turkish. I have studied modern and Ottoman Turkish in London and Istanbul, and Western Armenian at the Programme for Armenian Studies in London. Between 2010 and 2015 I spent several extended periods in Istanbul, where I carried out archival and field research and studied the ney (reed flute). I have taught ethnomusicology at King’s College London and ney at the Yunus Emre Turkish Cultural Centre in London.

  • Publikationen/Publications/Yayınlar



    • In Zusammenarbeit mit Zeynep Helvacı and Ralf Martin Jäger: Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East (=Istanbuler Texte und Studien, hrsg. vom Orient-Institut Istanbuld), Würzburg 2016.

    Weitere Publikationen (Aufsätze, Lexikaartikel etc.)

    • Modal Diversity in Early Ottoman Music: The Case of Makâm Sabâ, Near Eastern Musicology Online 1 (2012): 39–54.
    • Rhythmic Augmentation and the Transformation of the Ottoman Peşrev, 18th–19th Centuries, in: Rhythmic Cycles and Structures in the Art Music of the Middle East, hrsg. von Zeynep Helvacı, Ralf Martin Jäger und Jacob Olley, Würzburg 2016. (im Druck)
    • Maqām, in: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Music and Culture, hrsg. von Janet L. Sturman, Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications. (erscheint 2016)