Mitarbeiter im Fachbereich Biologie

Stradal, Theresia, Prof. Dr.

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Institut für Molekulare Zellbiologie
Schlossplatz 5
D- 48149 Münster

Tel: + 49 - 251 - 83 2 1560
Fax: + 49 - 251 83 2 4723
E-mail: theresia.stradal
wissenschaftlicher Werdegang
1987-1993- Studies in Biology, University of Salzburg, Austria
1997-2000- PhD thesis at the Institute for Molecular Biology, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Salzburg, Austria
2001-2005- Postdoc with Prof. Dr. Jürgen Wehland, German Research Centre for Biotechnology (now HZI), Braunschweig, Germany
2005-2009- Independent group leader, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research (HZI), Braunschweig, Germany
2006- FEBS Letters Young Scientist Award
Since 11.2009- Professor for molecular cell biology, University of Münster
Actin cytoskeleton and cell shape
Biochemistry of signal transduction
Reorganisation of the actin cytoskeleton
Cell migration
Bacterial virulence mechanisms 
ausgewählte Projekte
Novel activators of Arp2/3 complex, JMY and WHDC1
Role of the WAVE-complex in the haematopoietic System
Bacterial virulence factors that affect actin dynamics and actin regulatory signalling
ausgewählte Publikationen
Steffen, A., Rottner, K., Ehinger, J., Innocenti, M., Scita, G., Wehland, J. & Stradal, T.E. (2004) Sra-1 and Nap1 link Rac to actin assembly driving lamellipodia formation. Embo J 23, 749-759.

Innocenti, M., Gerboth, S., Rottner, K., Lai, F.P., Hertzog, M., Stradal, T.E., Frittoli, E., Didry, D., Polo, S., Disanza, A., Benesch, S., Di Fiore, P.P., Carlier, M.F. & Scita, G. (2005) Abi1 regulates the activity of N-WASP and WAVE in distinct actin-based processes. Nat Cell Biol 7, 969-976.

Jenzora, A., Behrendt, B., Small, J.V., Wehland, J. & Stradal, T.E. (2005) PREL1 provides a link from Ras signalling to the actin cytoskeleton via Ena/VASP proteins. FEBS Lett 579, 455-463.

Disanza, A., Mantoani, S., Hertzog, M., Gerboth, S., Frittoli, E., Steffen, A., Berhoerster, K., Kreienkamp, H.J., Milanesi, F., Di Fiore, P.P., Ciliberto, A., Stradal, T.E. & Scita, G. (2006) Regulation of cell shape by Cdc42 is mediated by the synergic actin-bundling activity of the Eps8-IRSp53 complex. Nat Cell Biol 8, 1337-1347.

Steffen, A., Faix, J., Resch, G.P., Linkner, J., Wehland, J., Small, J.V., Rottner, K. & Stradal, T.E. (2006) Filopodia formation in the absence of functional WAVE- and Arp2/3-complexes. Mol Biol Cell 17, 2581-2591.

Stradal, T.E. & Scita, G. (2006) Protein complexes regulating Arp2/3-mediated actin assembly. Curr Opin Cell Biol 18, 4-10.

Menasche, G., Kliche, S., Chen, E.J., Stradal, T.E., Schraven, B. & Koretzky, G. (2007) RIAM links the ADAP/SKAP-55 signaling module to Rap1, facilitating T-cell-receptor-mediated integrin activation. Mol Cell Biol 27, 4070-4081.

Giuliani, C., Troglio, F., Bai, Z., Patel, F.B., Zucconi, A., Malabarba, M.G., Disanza, A., Stradal, T.B., Cassata, G., Confalonieri, S., Hardin, J.D., Soto, M.C., Grant, B.D. & Scita, G. (2009) Requirements for F-BAR proteins TOCA-1 and TOCA-2 in actin dynamics and membrane trafficking during Caenorhabditis elegans oocyte growth and embryonic epidermal morphogenesis. PLoS genetics 5, e1000675.

Weiss, S.M., Ladwein, M., Schmidt, D., Ehinger, J., Lommel, S., Stading, K., Beutling, U., Disanza, A., Frank, R., Jansch, L., Scita, G., Gunzer, F., Rottner, K. & Stradal, T.E. (2009) IRSp53 links the enterohemorrhagic E. coli effectors Tir and EspFU for actin pedestal formation. Cell Host Microbe 5, 244-258.

Hanisch, J., Ehinger, J., Ladwein, M., Rohde, M., Derivery, E., Bosse, T., Steffen, A., Bumann, D., Misselwitz, B., Hardt, W.D., Gautreau, A., Stradal, T.E. & Rottner, K. (2010) Molecular dissection of Salmonella-induced membrane ruffling versus invasion. Cell Microbiol 12, 84-98.

ausgewählte Kooperationen
Giorgio Scita, FIRC Institute for Molecular Oncology , Milan Italy
Alexis Gautreau, CNRS Cytosquelette et morphogénèse cellulaire Gif-sur-Yvette, Cedex, France
Leszek Kotula ; New York Blood Center (NYBC), New York, USA
Klemens Rottner, Institut für Genetik Universität Bonn
Cord Brakebusch, Biotech Research & Innovation centre (BRIC) University of Copenhagen, Danmark
Michael Sixt, Institute of Science & Technology Austria (ISTA) Maria Gugging, Austria