Reducing your cost of living

Housing allowance

The housing allowance is a public subsidy which offsets the cost of accommodation. Housing allowances are granted either as a rental subsidy to tenants of a flat or room, or residents of an institutional home. Students are generally not entitled to housing allowances. However, there are exceptions which the Housing Authority of the City of Münster describes in detail.

More information on housing allowances

Student discounts

Students in Münster are eligible for numerous rebates and discounts at restaurants, cafés, libraries, museums and cinemas. Going out with friends and having a good time doesn't necessarily mean that you have to spend a lot of money. For example, students frequently receive discounts on:

  • Admission fees to museums, theatres and cinemas, as well as organisations near the University (also in combination with the cultural semester ticket, included in the semester fee)
  • Hair dressers
  • Fitness studios
  • Newspaper and magazine subscriptions
  • Opening bank accounts
  • Mobile phone contracts

Not only do these discounts depend on your student status, but occasionally on your age as well. Some organisations offer discounts to students under the age of 25 to 30.
It almost always pays off to have your student ID with you wherever you go. If you don't see any mention of a student discount at a ticket counter, it never hurts to ask if they offer one. And another tip: At the weekly market on the Domplatz, you can purchase fruit, vegetables and flowers at reduced prices shortly before closing time (Wednesdays and Saturdays from 2 pm to 2:30 pm).

Reduzierung der Lebenshaltungskosten

Wohngeld

Wohngeld ist ein staatlicher Zuschuss zu den Kosten für Wohnraum. Wohngeld gibt es unter anderem als Mietzuschuss für Mieter einer Wohnung oder eines Zimmers oder für Bewohner eines Heims. Studierende haben in der Regel keinen Anspruch auf Wohngeld. Es gibt allerdings einige Ausnahmen, über die das Amt für Wohnungswesen informiert.

Information zum Thema Wohngeld

Studierendenrabatte

In Münster gibt es viele Rabatte oder Ermäßigungen in Restaurants, Cafés, Bibliotheken, Museen oder Kinos für Studierende: Wer viel unterwegs ist und gerne ausgeht, muss nicht unbedingt viel Geld ausgeben. Studierende bekommen zum Beispiel häufig Rabatte

  • bei Eintrittspreisen in Museen, Theater und Kinos, in Geschäften in der Nähe der Universität (auch im Rahmen des Kultursemestertickets, das Teil ihres Semesterbeitrags ist)
  • bei Frisören
  • in Fitnessstudios
  • bei Zeitungs- und Magazinabonnements
  • bei Kontoeröffnungen
  • bei Handyverträgen.

Die Rabatte sind häufig allerdings nicht nur an den Studentenstatus, sondern auch an das Alter gebunden. Die Altersgrenze liegt in der Regel bei 25 bis 30 Jahren.
Es lohnt sich fast immer, den Studierendenausweis dabei zu haben, egal wohin es geht. Selbst, wenn man auf den ersten Blick keine Studentenrabatte auf Preislisten sieht, lohnt es sich meistens nachzufragen. Und noch ein Tipp: Auf dem Wochenmarkt auf dem Domplatz gibt es kurz vor Schließung des Marktes (mittwochs und samstags von ca. 14:00 Uhr - 14:30 Uhr) viele Rabatte auf Obst, Gemüse und Blumen.