BAföG - Financial aid from the German government

Students, who are unable to finance their studies on their own, can apply for financial assistance from the German government (BAföG). The amount of BAföG financing is calculated on the basis of various criteria – particularly one's parents' income. Half of the amount is granted as a interest-free loan which must be paid back after graduation. The other half is a non-repayable student grant.

Non-German students may also be eligible to receive this type of financial aid under certain circumstances, e.g. students from EU countries and Switzerland. Furthermore, stateless individuals, members of certain refugee groups, persons entitled to political asylum and foreign spouses of German citizens are also entitled to BAföG support.

For detailed information on BAföG, please visit the website of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Visit the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) [de]

For advice and assistance with completing the BAföG application, please contact the Training Assistance Office of the Studierendenwerk Münster:

Hotline

The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Deutsches Studentenwerk operate a joint toll-free hotline for questions concerning BAföG. You can reach the operators from Monday to Friday between 8 am and 8 pm at +49 (0)800 2236341.

Information from the Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB)

The Student Advice and Counselling Centre (ZSB) provides additional information on BAföG on its website and offers social counselling sessions to inform students about individual funding opportunities.

Information on BAföG from the ZSB [de]

Information for refugees

Recognised refugees who wish to study at the University of Münster can also contact the International Office/"Die Brücke" for more information and assistance with applying for BAföG funding.

Visit the International Office / International Centre "Die Brücke"

BAföG - Studienunterstützung durch den deutschen Staat

Studierende, die ihr Studium nicht selbst finanzieren können, können in manchen Fällen eine staatliche Unterstützung (BAföG) beantragen. Die Höhe der BAföG-Förderung richtet sich nach verschiedenen Kriterien – insbesondere dem Einkommen der Eltern. Die Hälfte dieser Unterstützung ist ein zinsfreies Darlehen, das nach dem Studium zurückgezahlt werden muss. Die andere Hälfte bekommen Berechtigte als Zuschuss geschenkt.

Studierende, die nicht die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft besitzen, sind nur in bestimmten Fällen berechtigt, diese finanzielle Unterstützung zu bekommen. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen können Studierende aus EU-Ländern und der Schweiz BAföG beantragen. Ferner ist das BAföG auch für Heimatlose, Angehörige bestimmter Flüchtlingsgruppen, Asylberechtigte und Ehepartner von deutschen Staatsangehörigen vorgesehen.

Ausführliche Informationen zum BAföG erhalten Sie auf den Seiten des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung.

Zum Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Für Beratung und Antragstellung wenden Sie sich bitte an das Amt für Ausbildungsförderung beim Studentenwerk Münster:

Hotline

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung und das Deutsche Studentenwerk bieten eine gemeinsame gebührenfreie Hotline für Fragen zum BAföG an. Sie erreichen sie montags bis freitags zwischen 8 Uhr und 20 Uhr unter Tel: 0800-2236341.

Informationen der Zentralen Studienberatung

Die Zentrale Studienberatung der WWU bietet zusätzliche Informationen zum Thema BAföG auf ihren Webseiten an und berät Studierende im Rahmen der Sozialberatung über die individuellen Fördermöglichkeiten.

Informationen zum Thema BAföG der ZSB

Informationen für Flüchtlinge

Anerkannte Flüchtlinge, die an der WWU studieren, können sich zudem an das International Office/Die Brücke wenden, um weitere Informationen und Unterstützung bei der Antragstellung von BAföG zu bekommen.

Zum International Office / Internationale Zentrum „Die Brücke“