WWU international

globe
© bIO-54o / Photocase.com

Around 700 visiting academics from all over the world undertake research and teaching at the University of Münster. Over 550 partnership agreements with universities and academic and scientific institutions – from neighbouring Enschede in the Netherlands to Beijing in China – show the University’s international strategy and the way it networks. The focal points of its international cooperation are in Latin America, South-East Asia and Europe. Münster University’s Brazil Centre has an office in São Paulo.

Internationalisation strategy

In 2012 Münster University enacted an internationalisation programme. It is an integral part of the University’s overall strategy and touches on all areas of University life: teaching, research and services. The aim is to continue strengthening the University’s international alignment and visibility at all levels, as well as to promote the intercultural competence of everyone at the University, from students to academics.

Internationalisation Strategy

International networks

The University of Münster is engaged in numerous international partnerships and maintains offices in Brussels and São Paulo. Around 700 visiting academics from all over the world are involved in research and teaching at the University, which also uses transnational research cooperation as an important contribution towards improving the quality of its own research.

The importance of exchanges

At Münster University, there are exchanges in both directions. Eight percent of students at the University come from abroad, and their numbers are rising. Conversely, every year around 1,300 Münster students make use of the Erasmus Programme and of other exchange opportunities. According to the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service), Münster is one of the top three universities in Germany which send students abroad. And, through the Erasmus Staff Mobility Programme, University staff also have the opportunity to meet colleagues at other European universities.

Globus
© bIO-54o / Photocase.com

WWU international

Rund 700 Gastwissenschaftler aus aller Welt forschen und lehren an der WWU. Mehr als 550 Partnerschaftsabkommen mit Hochschulen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen vom benachbarten Enschede in den Niederlanden bis nach Beijing in China zeigen die internationale Ausrichtung und Vernetzung der Universität. Ihre internationalen Kooperations-Schwerpunkte liegen in Lateinamerika, Südostasien und Europa. In São Paulo unterhält das Brasilienzentrum der WWU ein Außenbüro.

Internationalisierungsstrategie

Die WWU hat 2012 eine Internationalisierungsstrategie verabschiedet. Sie ist fest in der Gesamtstrategie verankert und betrifft alle Hochschulbereiche: Lehre, Forschung und Services. Ziel ist es, die internationale Ausrichtung und Sichtbarkeit der Universität auf allen Ebenen weiter zu stärken sowie die interkulturelle Kompetenz aller Universitätsangehörigen von den Studierenden bis zu den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu fördern.

Internationale Netzwerke

Die Universität Münster pflegt zahlreiche internationale Partnerschaften und unterhält Außenbüros in Brüssel und São Paulo. Rund 700 Gastwissenschaftler aus aller Welt forschen und lehren an der WWU. Sie nutzt gezielt transnationale Forschungskooperationen als wichtigen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der eigenen Forschungsqualität.

Austausch großgeschrieben

Austausch funktioniert an der WWU in alle Richtungen. Acht Prozent der Studierenden an der WWU kommen aus dem Ausland – Tendenz steigend. Umgekehrt nutzen etwa 1.300 WWU-Studierende jährlich das Erasmus-Programm und weitere weltweite Austauschmöglichkeiten. Die WWU gehört laut DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) bundesweit zu den drei wichtigsten Entsende-Universitäten. Und über das Erasmus-Programm zur Personalmobilität bekommen die Beschäftigten selbst ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, sich mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen europäischer Universitäten auszutauschen.