Research strengths

The University of Münster promotes internationally renowned cutting-edge research in numerous scientific and academic fields, e.g. the interdisciplinary study of the relationship between religion and politics, evolutionary science, chemistry, physics and mathematics. Ten Leibniz Prize winners currently work in Münster. The University's outstanding research profile is further emphasised by 17 ERC grants (Starting, Consolidator and Advanced) and six Max Planck Research Award winners. The University of Münster is a host university to seven DFG Collaborative Research Centres. In addition to other DFG-funded research promotion projects, the University is home to a growing number of research programmes, financed through federal and EU funding programmes, and private foundations.

Excellence Strategy

The Excellence Strategy at the University of Münster

In December 2016, the University of Münster submitted four draft proposals for Excellence Clusters in accordance with the "Excellence Strategy" of the German federal and state governments. The proposals aim to secure continued funding for the University's existing clusters "Religion and Politics" and "Cells in Motion", as well as lay the groundwork for a joint research project between the Faculties of Physics and Chemistry, and another in the Faculty of Mathematics.

Junior researchers in dialogue
© Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ - Wilfried Gerharz

Excellence Cluster "Religion and Politics"

Some 200 humanities scholars in 20 disciplines are currently exploring the relationship between religion and politics throughout history and across cultures. The spectrum ranges from the ancient world of mythical gods, to Judaism, Christianity and Islam in the Middle Ages and early modernity, to the present situation in Europe, North and South America, Asia and Africa.

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, Faculty of Educational and Social Science
Participating disciplines: History, Law, Political Studies, Sociology of Religion, Religious Studies, Catholic, Protestant, Orthodox and Islamic Theology, Classical and Modern Philology and Philosophy, Art History, Arabic Studies, Ethnology, Ancient Middle Eastern Studies, Archaeology, Egyptology, Jewish Studies, Byzantine Studies, Musicology and Book Studies of the University of Münster

Excellence Cluster "Religion and Politics"

Laboratory situation
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Excellence Cluster "Cells in Motion"

More than 90 research groups are using cutting-edge imaging technology to investigate the dynamic cellular behaviour in organisms. The ambitious programmes in this Excellence Cluster are helping to advance basic biomedical research, its clinical application in diagnostics and therapy, and the interaction between theory and practice.

Coordination team: Prof. PhD Lydia Sorokin (speaker), Prof. Dr. Volker Gerke and Prof. Dr. Michael Schäfers; all from the Faculty of Medicine
Participating faculties and non-university facilities:
Faculties of Medicine, Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacy, Mathematics and Computer Science, and Physics of the University of Münster; Max Planck Institute of Molecular Biomedicine

Excellence Cluster "Cells in Motion"

Forschungsstärken

Die WWU betreibt  in zahlreichen Forschungsfeldern international renommierte Spitzenforschung - etwa in der Verbundforschung in den Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften, in der Evolutionsforschung, in Chemie und Physik sowie in der Mathematik. Zehn Leibniz-Preisträgerinnen und -Preisträger arbeiten aktuell in Münster. 17 Grants des Europäischen Forschungsrats (ERC - Starting, Consolidator und Advanced) und sechs Max-Planck-Forschungspreise für Wissenschaftler der WWU unterstreichen das Niveau der Forschung. Die WWU ist Sprecheruniversität in sieben DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichen. Neben weiteren Förderprojekten mit DFG-Finanzierung wächst der Anteil an Programmen, die aus Bundes- und EU-Mitteln oder über Stiftungen gefördert werden.

WWU Exzellenzstrategie

Die WWU in der Exzellenzstrategie

Vier Antragsskizzen für Exzellenzcluster hat die WWU für die "Exzellenzstrategie" des Bundes und der Länder im Dezember 2016 eingereicht. Zum einen bewirbt sich die WWU um eine Neuauflage der bestehenden Cluster "Religion und Politik" sowie "Cells in Motion". Zusätzlich bereitet sie Anträge für ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt der Fachbereiche Physik und Chemie sowie für ein Projekt in der Mathematik vor.

Nachwuchswissenschaftler im Gespräch
© Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ - Wilfried Gerharz

Exzellenzcluster "Religion und Politik"

Rund 200 Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftler aus 20 Fächern beschäftigen sich mit dem Verhältnis von Religion und Politik quer durch die Epochen und Kulturen. Das Spektrum reicht von der antiken Götterwelt über Judentum, Christentum und Islam in Mittelalter und früher Neuzeit bis hin zur heutigen Situation in Europa, Amerika, Asien und Afrika.

Sprecher:
Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Sozialwissenschaften
Beteiligte Disziplinen: Geschichts-, Rechts- und Politikwissenschaft, Religionssoziologie und Religionswissenschaft, katholische, evangelische, orthodoxe und islamische Theologie, klassische und moderne Philologie sowie Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte, Arabistik, Ethnologie, Altorientalistik, Archäologie, Ägyptologie, Judaistik, Byzantinistik, Musik- und Buchwissenschaft der Universität Münster

Exzellenzcluster "Religion und Politik"

Laborsituation
© WWU - Peter Leßmann

Exzellenzcluster "Cells in Motion"

Mehr als 90 Forschergruppen untersuchen mit bildgebenden Verfahren das dynamische Verhalten von Zellen in Organismen. Der Exzellenzcluster bringt die biomedizinische Grundlagenforschung, die klinische Anwendung in Diagnostik und Therapie sowie die Interaktion zwischen Theorie und Praxis mit ehrgeizigen Programmen voran.

Koordinatoren-Team: Prof. PhD Lydia Sorokin (Sprecherin), Prof. Dr. Volker Gerke und Prof. Dr. Michael Schäfers; alle Medizinische Fakultät
Beteiligte Fakultäten und außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen:
Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Münster; Fachbereiche Biologie, Chemie und Pharmazie, Mathematik und Informatik, Physik der Universität Münster; Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin

Exzellenzcluster "Cells in Motion"