Münster University through to the next round with three applications

Excellence Strategy

On 29 September 2017, the German Research Foundation and the German Council of Science and Humanities asked Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) to elaborate its draft proposals

to full proposals and to submit them by 21 February 2018.

Background Information on the Excellence Strategy

Cells-in-Motion. Multiscale Imaging to Understand Dynamic Cell Behaviour in Organisms (CiM)

© CiM - Jean-Marie Tronquet

The “go-ahead” for the Cells-in-Motion Cluster of Excellence, announced in 2012, was a milestone for Münster researchers working in the fields of life and natural sciences. CiM funding has made their goal to interconnect different disciplines to comprehensively understand cellular behaviour in organisms a reality. More than 90 research groups from five faculties at Münster University, as well as from the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Biomedicine in Münster, are involved in the Cluster of Excellence. Researchers from the fields of medicine, biology, physics, chemistry and pharmacy as well as mathematics and computer science undertake interdisciplinary work in more than 80 CiM-funded projects. They use a broad range of imaging technologies and aim to further augment the imaging infrastructure at the University of Münster.

In its first five years, CiM has set up eight new professorships and three new junior research groups, as well as establishing the CiM-IMPRS Graduate School and introducing the masters course in Experimental Medicine. The German Research Foundation has now invited the Cluster of Excellence to submit a full proposal for a new period of funding starting 2019. “We are delighted to be among the 45 percent. It’s a wonderful recognition of all the hard work of all the cluster members. We are over the first hurdle, but there is a lot more work ahead of us,” says Prof. Lydia Sorokin, spokesperson of the Cells-in-Motion Cluster of Excellence.

Coordination team: Prof. Dr. Lydia Sorokin (speaker), Prof. Dr. Volker Gerke and Prof. Dr. Michael Schäfers; all from the Faculty of Medicine
Participating faculties and non-university facilities:
Faculties of Medicine, Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacy, Mathematics and Computer Science, and Physics of the University of Münster; Max Planck Institute of Molecular Biomedicine

Excellence Cluster "Cells in Motion"

Mathematics Münster. Dynamics – Geometry – Structure

Mathematics Münster. Dynamics – Geometry – Structure

Mathematics is a key technology for scientific and economic progress. New discoveries in mathematics are not only interesting in themselves, but they often lead to unexpected breakthroughs in other sciences as well.

The proposal focuses on fundamental mathematical research. The research of Münster University's mathematicians is unified by two major guiding principles. These are the geometric viewpoint on structures and the study of the relevant dynamics of group or semi-group actions. Both principles have a long tradition and their importance for mathematics has been ever growing.

"The success in the first evaluation round of the Excellence Strategy is a nice confirmation of our past mathematical achievements and strategic objectives at WWU Münster. At the same time it is also stimulating new structural developments and further cutting-edge research projects in mathematics", says Prof. Mario Ohlberger, spokesperson of the initiative.

Spokespersons: Prof. Dr. Christopher Deninger, Prof. Dr. Mario Ohlberger
Participating Institutes: Institute for Analysis and Numerics, Institute for Mathematical Stochastics, Institute for Mathematical Logic and Foundations of Mathematics, Mathematical Institute

Religion and Politics. Dynamics of Tradition and Innovation

© wikipedia/Vilallonga

In the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics” of the University of Münster (WWU), some 200 academics from 14 countries deal with the relationship of religion and politics across epochs and cultures. The research programme, started in 2007, draws on the expertise from around 20 subjects in the humanities and social sciences of WWU. The projects range from antiquity until the present day: from the world of ancient gods and Judaism, Christianity and Islam in the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Period to the current situation in Europe, America, Asia and Africa. The German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG) now invited the Cluster of Excellence to submit a full proposal for a new funding period starting in 2019. The speaker of the Cluster of Excellence “Religion and Politics”, sociologist of religion Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, stated:

“We are pleased that, in the months ahead, we may elaborate the new research programme that we have developed in our draft proposal under the title ‘Religion and Politics. Dynamics of Tradition and Innovation’. At the beginning of the millennium, we are experiencing political and social upheavals all over the world in which religion plays a key role. Given the confusing situation, it is controversial what exactly its role is. It is all the more necessary to avoid simplifying cause definitions and to develop a reflexive distance. Only if we analyse the current conflicts from a historically sharpened and interdisciplinarily open perspective will we, as scientists, be able to provide societally relevant orientation knowledge. In a competition, we have already selected project ideas from seven faculties of WWU, which implement the planned research fields and questions and make them empirically concrete.

The aim is to make Münster the most distinguished centre of interdisciplinary religious research in Germany. The Cluster of Excellence has already created permanent structures to strengthen religious research at WWU: new professorships focusing on religion and politics have emerged, for example in political science, sociology, Jewish studies and Islamic studies, and so have new centres such as the Center for Religion and Modernity (Centrum für Religion und Moderne – CRM) and the Centre for Islamic Theology (Zentrum für Islamische Theologie – ZIT). The' Campus of Religions' will be added in the next years, which will bring together old and new institutional structures. The Campus is intended to strengthen both interdisciplinary cooperation and interreligious understanding. We will thus exceed the field of purely academic work: the dialogue with politics, religions and the public sphere through intensive research communication will remain an important aspect of our endeavour also in future.”

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, Faculty of Educational and Social Science; Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger, Faculty of History and Philosophy
Participating disciplines: History, Law, Political Studies, Sociology of Religion, Religious Studies, Catholic, Protestant, Orthodox and Islamic Theology, Psychology, Classical and Modern Philology and Philosophy, Art History, Arabic Studies, Ethnology, Ancient Middle Eastern Studies, Archaeology, Egyptology, Jewish Studies, Byzantine Studies, Musicology and Book Studies of the University of Münster

Excellence Cluster "Religion and Politics"

Die WWU Münster ist mit drei Anträgen in der nächsten Runde

Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft und der Wissenschaftsrat haben die WWU Münster am 29. September 2017 im Rahmen der "Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder" aufgefordert, ihre Antragsskizzen

zu Vollanträgen auszuarbeiten und diese zum 21. Februar 2018 einzureichen.

Hintergrundinformationen zur Exzellenzstrategie

Cells in Motion. Visualisierung und Verstehen zellulären Verhaltens in lebenden Organismen (CiM)

© CiM - Jean-Marie Tronquet

Es war ein Meilenstein für münstersche Lebens- und Naturwissenschaftler, als 2012 der Exzellenzcluster „Cells in Motion“ bewilligt wurde. Das Ziel der Forscherinnen und Forscher: Sie wollen das Zusammenspiel von Zellen in Organismen verstehen. Mehr als 90 Forschungsgruppen aus fünf Fakultäten der Universität und aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin in Münster sind in den Exzellenzcluster involviert. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus der Medizin, Biologie, Physik, Chemie und Pharmazie sowie Mathematik und Informatik untersuchen in mehr als 80 CiM-geförderten Projekten interdisziplinäre Fragestellungen. Sie nutzen eine große Bandbreite an Bildgebungstechnologien und arbeiten daran, die Bildgebungsinfrastruktur an der Universität Münster weiter auszubauen.

In fünf Jahren hat CiM bereits acht neue Professuren und drei neue Nachwuchsgruppen rekrutiert, die Graduiertenschule CiM-IMPRs gegründet und den Masterstudiengang „Experimentelle Medizin“ aufgebaut. Nun hat die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft den Exzellenzcluster aufgefordert, sich für eine neue Förderperiode ab 2019 zu bewerben. „Wir freuen uns sehr, zu den 45 Prozent zu gehören. Das ist eine schöne Bestätigung unserer bisherigen Arbeit. Der erste Schritt ist geschafft, nun müssen wir weiterarbeiten“, sagt Prof. Dr. Lydia Sorokin, Sprecherin des Exzellenzclusters „Cells in Motion“.

Koordinatoren-Team: Prof. Dr. Lydia Sorokin (Sprecherin), Prof. Dr. Volker Gerke und Prof. Dr. Michael Schäfers; alle Medizinische Fakultät
Beteiligte Fakultäten und außeruniversitäre Einrichtungen:
Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Münster; Fachbereiche Biologie, Chemie und Pharmazie, Mathematik und Informatik, Physik der Universität Münster; Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin

Exzellenzcluster "Cells in Motion"

Mathematik Münster. Dynamik - Geometrie - Struktur

Mathematik Münster. Dynamik - Geometrie - Struktur

Mathematik ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie für wissenschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt. Neue Erkenntnisse in der Mathematik stehen nicht nur für sich selbst, sondern eröffnen oft unvorhergesehene Durchbrüche in anderen Wissenschaften.

Die positiv begutachtete Antragsskizze der WWU-Mathematiker stellt die mathematische Grundlagenforschung in den Mittelpunkt. In der Forschung der Mathematiker spielen zwei Leitmotive eine große Rolle. Zum einen ist dies die geometrische Betrachtung von Strukturen, zum anderen die Untersuchung der relevanten Dynamik von Gruppen- und Halbgruppen-Aktionen. Beide Motive haben eine lange Tradition, und ihre Bedeutung für die Mathematik wächst zunehmend.

"Der Erfolg in der ersten Begutachtungsrunde der Exzellenzstrategie ist eine schöne Bestätigung der bisherigen mathematischen Forschung und Schwerpunktsetzung an der WWU Münster. Er ist aber auch Ansporn und Motivation für strukturelle Maßnahmen und weitere mathematische Spitzenforschung", freut sich Prof. Dr. Mario Ohlberger.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Christopher Deninger, Prof. Dr. Mario Ohlberger
Beteiligte Institute: Institut für Analysis und Numerik, Institut für Mathematische Stochastik, Institut für Mathematische Logik und Grundlagenforschung, Mathematisches Institut

Religion und Politik. Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation

© wikipedia/Vilallonga

Am Exzellenzcluster „Religion und Politik“ an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) untersuchen rund 200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus 14 Nationen das Verhältnis von Religion und Politik quer durch die Epochen und Kulturen. In das Forschungsprogramm fließt seit 2007 die Expertise aus rund 20 Fächern der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften der WWU ein. Das Spektrum der Projekte reicht vom Altertum bis zur Gegenwart: von der antiken Götterwelt über Judentum, Christentum und Islam in Mittelalter und früher Neuzeit bis zur heutigen Situation in Europa, Amerika, Asien und Afrika. Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) hat den Verbund nun aufgefordert, sich für eine neue Förderphase ab 2019 zu bewerben. Der Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „Religion und Politik“, der Religionssoziologe Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, erklärte:

„Wir freuen uns, dass wir in den kommenden Monaten das neue Forschungsprogramm ausarbeiten können, das wir in unserer Antragsskizze unter dem Titel ‚Religion und Politik. Dynamiken von Tradition und Innovation’ entwickelt haben. Zu Beginn des Jahrtausends erleben wir weltweit politische und soziale Umbruchprozesse, in denen Religionen eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Worin ihre Rolle besteht, ist angesichts der unübersichtlichen Lage umstritten. Umso nötiger ist es, vereinfachende Ursachenbenennungen zu vermeiden und eine reflexive Distanz aufzubauen. Nur wenn wir die gegenwärtigen Konflikte aus einer historisch geschärften und interdisziplinär geöffneten Perspektive analysieren, werden wir als Wissenschaftler in der Lage sein, gesellschaftlich relevantes Orientierungswissen bereitzustellen. In einem Wettbewerb haben wir bereits Projektideen aus sieben Fachbereichen der WWU ausgewählt, die die geplanten Forschungsfelder und Fragestellungen umsetzen und empirisch konkretisieren."

Ziel ist es, Münster zu dem profiliertesten Zentrum interdisziplinärer Religionsforschung in Deutschland zu machen. Schon jetzt hat der Exzellenzcluster bleibende Strukturen zur Stärkung der Religionsforschung an der WWU geschaffen: Es sind neue Professuren mit dem Schwerpunkt Religion und Politik entstanden, etwa in der Politikwissenschaft, der Soziologie, Judaistik und Islamwissenschaft, sowie neue Centren wie das Centrum für Religion und Moderne (CRM) und das Zentrum für Islamische Theologie (ZIT). Hinzu kommt in den nächsten Jahren der ‚Campus der Religionen‘, der alte und neue institutionelle Strukturen zusammenführen wird. Er soll die interdisziplinäre Kooperation ebenso stärken wie die interreligiöse Verständigung. Damit überschreitet der Cluster das Feld der rein wissenschaftlichen Arbeit: Wie in der Vergangenheit wird der Verbund auch weiterhin den Dialog mit Politik, Religionen und Öffentlichkeit durch eine intensiv betriebene Wissenschaftskommunikation führen.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Detlef Pollack, Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Sozialwissenschaften; Prof. Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger, Fachbereich Geschichte und Philosophie
Beteiligte Disziplinen: Geschichts-, Rechts- und Politikwissenschaft, Religionssoziologie und Religionswissenschaft, katholische, evangelische, orthodoxe und islamische Theologie, Psychologie, klassische und moderne Philologie sowie Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte, Arabistik, Ethnologie, Altorientalistik, Archäologie, Ägyptologie, Judaistik, Byzantinistik, Musik- und Buchwissenschaft der Universität Münster

Exzellenzcluster "Religion und Politik"