© WWU - Angelika Klauser

Child Care

Good childcare - allows student parents to focus on their studies

In order to achieve academic success, childcare services are vitally important to students with children.

Now more than ever, due to current academic reforms and the need to earn extra money with part-time jobs, students rely on well-functioning and flexible childcare. That is why it is essential that student parents have access to flexible daycare services in the vicinity of the University.


The Studierendenwerk Münster (Student Support Services) manages three daycare centres, at which student parents can apply to have their child cared for while they attend courses at university. Places are allocated – as for all other childcare facilities in Münster – via the Kita Navigator.


We recommend applying to several centres at once, as this increases the chances of actually receiving a place for your child.

Childcare facilities operated by the Studierendenwerk: The childcare facilities “Zwergenstübchen”, “Tausendfüßler”, “Chamäleon” and the large daycare centre on Boeselagerstraße are open to children of student parents. More information on childcare services from the Studierendenwerk.

Kita Navigator and the Family Office of the City of Münster:
Childcare places are allocated via the

Kita-Navigator

of the city of Münster.

The childcare facilities operated by the Studierendenwerk are obliged to list their places online as well. If you have any questions regarding the Kita Navigator or the application process, please contact the

Family Office of the city of Münster


Information from the Equal Opportunity Office:
For additional childcare services (including municipal services), please consult the brochure “Zwischen Vorlesung und Kinderbetreuung” by the Equal Opportunity Office.

The asta.ms offers support with babysitting as back-up:

Babysitterbörse

Zwei Kinder mit Trinkflasche
© WWU - Angelika Klauser

Kinderbetreuung

Gute Kinderbetreuung - Entlastung im Studium

Für das Gelingen eines Studiums mit Kind ist die Betreuung des studentischen Nachwuchses von zentraler Bedeutung.

Stärker denn je, sind Studierende durch die aktuelle Studienreform, wie durch die Notwendigkeit zu jobben, auf eine gut funktionierende und flexible Kinderbetreuung angewiesen. Eine uninahe und zeitlich flexible Betreuung ist daher wesentliche Voraussetzung für ein erfolgreiches Studium.

Das Studierendenwerk Münster bietet studentischen Eltern die Möglichkeit, in drei Kindertageseinrichtungen einen Platz für den studentischen Nachwuchs zu beantragen. Die Vergabe hierfür erfolgt - wie bei allen anderen Einrichtungen auch - über den Kita-Navigator.

Grundsätzlich empfiehlt es sich, mehrere Instutionen auszuwählen, da die Chancen tatsächlich einen Platz zu erhalten, hierdurch steigen.

Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen des Studierendenwerks: Das Zwergenstübchen, die Kita Tausendfüßler, die Kita Chamäleon und die Großtagespflege Boeselagerstraße stehen für die Kinder der Studierenden zur Verfügung. Infos des Studierendenwerks zur Kinderbetreuung.

Kita-Navigator und Familienbüro der Stadt Münster: Die Platzvergabe erfolgt über den

Kita-Navigator

der Stadt Münster. Auch die Plätze für die Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen des Studierendenwerks müssen hier online vorgemerkt werden. Bei Fragen rund um den Kita-Navigator und das Anmeldeverfahren, kann man sich an das

Familienbüro der Stadt Münster

wenden.

Infos des Büros für Gleichstellung: In der Broschüre "Zwischen Vorlesung und Kinderbetreuung" zeigt das Büro für Gleichstellung weitere Kinderbetreuungsangebote auf, wie z.B. die Angebote der Stadt Münster oder den Babyclub für Studis.